We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,079)
Filter reviews
4,079 results
Traveller rating
2,574
1,001
304
127
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,574
1,001
304
127
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool jenya boy animation team thai restaurant mega fun main restaurant health club kids club special thanks sea view shuttle bus water polo downtown area tuk tuk amazing holiday half board main pool
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 4,079 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We found a gecko in our room, the house keeping arrived after 30 minuets and kept us in the room for another 30 minuets to find it, we asked to leave the hotel and get our money back and we were told that will be arranged the next day morning with the hotel manager, when we met Mr khaled he didn’t seem to be bothered at all with our problem in fact he was sarcastic and disrespectful telling me that it’s normal in such place to find a geckos or whatever in a resort rooms, we mentioned also to him all the harassment by he’s staff at the beach trying to sell us the hotel services we couldn’t have a moment of peace he said it our fault as we didn’t use the don’t disturb card that was never to us In the first place, we asked for a refund or at least a refund for our last night so when can leave he refused and said we don’t do that here, when we didn’t like the tone he used with us he stared yelling making it a big show in the hotel lobby, before we know it he approached my friend too closely in a very aggressive way tow of the hotel staff had to stand in between to stop him from touching her, minutes later another manager came to talk to us and offered us a free dinner as a compensation which we refused, he told us we can escalate the issue they way we won’t we are not getting our money back.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank ShaimaaYoussef4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickElGouna, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest, ShaimaaYoussef4,

We are very concerned about your feedback and regret, that your stay was overshadowed by some negative experiences. On behalf of the management I would like to sincerely apologize once again for the inconveniences you had to endure.

Although we undertake all required action and possible measures to ensure that our accommodation units are free from any insects or geckos, the nature in warm climate areas as ours does not always grant us full control over the situation. We are truly sorry for this and in order to make your remaining stay as enjoyable as possible, we have offered you various hospitality services such as change of Suite, a complimentary dinner, late check out. But it seems, that all our gestures of apology did not meet your approval for which we are deeply sorry.

At the same time, I would like to assure you, that our management team did their best to handle the situation in a courteous and guest service oriented way and we regret to read now, that their efforts have been perceived by you differently. Rest assured, that it was never in our intention to treat you disrespectful or with lack of understanding and courtesy.

The safety and personal wellbeing of our guests has our highest priority and we are sparing no efforts to ensure, that every guest is leaving our hotel with a positive impression.

In this regard, we sincerely hope to regain your trust and to be able to welcome you back once again in El Gouna or any Movenpick Hotels& Resorts all over the world, assuring you, that your next stay with us will be flawless and most enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Brigitte Gobran
Marketing Communications Manager
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Not 5 star as advertised.Not an attractive lobby at all.They need some interior designer help.
We upgraded to a suite and may have just stayed in a normal room...furniture was uncomfortable and basic.no pictures on the walls.All in an unattractive 1960 red.
Bed was good and clean. Bathroom is nice...no water pressure though and water not hot enough.
Coffee facilities are very basic too.
The grounds and location is beautiful.
Staff at dive center are excellent.
The Thai restaurant has no atmosphere.
Bright lights on all the time,the waiters here are useless,the food is good though.
The breakfast is very good and lots of variety...only had frozen strawberries once.
Italian restaurant is good too.
Pool attendants and bar staff are all excellent.
Shower drain blocked on our first shower but was fixed quickly.
Spa is a disaster,masseuse was disinterested and nearly scrubbed off all my skin,I stopped midtreatment and left and insisted to have my money back.Messed up my last days as my skin burned from the sea water.
Huge resort but expect 3 star facilities.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johannesvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickElGouna, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest, johannesvd
We thank you for your visit, but regret to know, that we some aspects of your stay were not able to live up to your expectations. We are very concerned about your comments and sincerely apologize, if these flaws have overshadowed your stay. As a matter of fact, we are planning to renovate the hotel lobby in the last quarter of this year and are confident, that the new look will be a much added value. We have also plans to renovate the Thai restaurant among other dining outlets, which will receive a revamp.
Your comments regarding the Service at Future Spa has been forwarded the provided, who will ensure, that all treatments will be conducted in a professional way, as one would expect.
We appreciate you have taken the time to share your feedback in details. Rest assured, that your comments will be taken very seriously, as we always strive to improve our services and facilities. In this regards, we would be grateful to regain your trust and be able to welcome you back once again at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, to show you we can do better than this.

Yours sincerely
Brigitte Gobran
Markting Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Not Bad
Not a bad hotel, not the best to stay.
It was so crowded, service was too slow due the fully booked situation.
You may wait for like forever to get served on the pool. You will even have to go to bring a waiter to come to your table.

Breakfast was nice.
Other food were really bad.
Food on the pool and beach was really bad.

Reception guys wasn’t much helpful.
Location is amazing
Water activities are good there for those who are looking for KiteSurf

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Ramez_adel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickElGouna, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Ramez_adel,
We are very concerned with the review you left for our property. On behalf of the entire management, I would like to apologise for not delivering the services you expected from us .Nevertheless, we thankyou for sharing these constructive comments and we will take them as a learning experience to improve our services.

It is clear from your feedback, that we failed to deliver an outstanding holiday experience. A clear message of ensuring quality and proper service standards is delivered to the team and well-received by everyone. We will definatley be more focused to ensure the consistance and level of of service our hotel as well as our international brand is known for.


Please be sure, that all we want is to make our guests happy and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to welcome youback and provide you with a better service as you deserve.

With best regards
Brigitte Gobran
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The hotel is nice and clean with a very good location. We enjoyed our meals along with the pool & Gym.
Employees are friendly and service is good however the main point when booking online is to assure what to expect fm what has been paid as to avoid discussion with employees at reception as to avoid any kind of bargining for extra payments.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahmoudr441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickElGouna, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Mahmoud R
Thank you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday destination. We are pleased to know, that you’ve enjoyed your visit and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences on this site. Hoping to be able to welcome you back very soon at the Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna.
With best regards
Brigitte Gobran
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We all really LOVED the hotel from the first hour :)
The WELCOME was warm from the reception and staff. The hotel has great amenities and services. The beach and lagoons are lovely. The food is very tasty. The night shows are suitable for families.
Location is Perfect.
Thank you Movenpick. Thank you Mr. Mohsen from the Reservation!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalidTayel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickElGouna, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Walid Tayel,
hank you for choosing Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna and for posting on this tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you found our location, rooms and food excellent, and the the service provided by our team members was creating an exceptional experience.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back very soon in El Gouna.
With best regards
Brigitte Gobran
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews