We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a top notch resort for sure. We went in the winter months, still topping out in the 20s, but we hit a cool patch, which made the pool a no go area, despite the main pool being heated (the pool was fine, like a warm bath, the day we arrived, but they must have turned off the heat because it got progressively colder the next 3 days and was unusable except for the brave. The pool was noticeably quieter as the temp wet down). For sun bathing it's crucial to find a spot in a windbreak which will make all the difference on sub-20 days. The staff (and Egyptians in general) are incredibly courteous and friendly. We went full board which was nice, to be able to grab a drink in the afternoon sun. Our kids (age 4 and 6) had an incredible time as well.

Here's my nit-picking issues: First, I don't know if we didn't request it, or if it's just not available, but there was no room with 2 doubles or something similar. We were in a suite, but furniture in the living area was simple (easier to clean when bringing the beach/desert into your room), so no sofa bed like we've had in other starwood hotel suites. In the end we had one rollaway and one sleep with us in the king bed. Not ideal, but fun family memory. And if we wanted to we could have gotten another rollaway. Second, as SPG members, frequently get upgrades, especially when traveling in the offseason. Hotel was certainly not at capacity, so I was hoping to get a better suite, given that we paid cash, have some sort of standing with SPG. However, I'm not sure what's available; they might shutter whole sections in the winter. Third, (this is total personal preference) neither my wife nor I can do restaurant/resort food for a week - and the Miramar had decent food, good for a massive resort. The two themed restaurants (Piscina and Oriental) are dark for certain days in the offseason, so just plan accordingly. We are foodies, so typically would go somewhere where we'd either self cater or be a little less touristy and have cool local restaurants (and we like breakfast in our jammies!). El Gouna's a bit pre-fab for westerners, so just be aware I'd say (But Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf at Abu Tig Marina is a legit coffee shop from LA!). Also on that note - alcohol has a 485% duty on it! The local wine is great for house stuff, very South of France style. But since spirits are painfully expensive, no G&Ts or a nice Chianti for us, which would have been nice. Just had to lower our expectations there. In the end my wife and I both said we weren't sure we could eat there more than the four nights we were there. It might be better

That's a lot of critical stuff, but all in all a great holiday. Our boys loved just hanging out in kids club, getting in the pool on the warmer days, playing at the beach/play area for kids., and just generally exploring. I recommend planning ahead with beds for families with kids our ages. Younger kids can do a cot and older can get their own room, I'd think. Also with the full board, just be prepared for drinking local booze and/or paying for mixed drinks. If we were to do it again, we'd go over Easter hols rather than half-term to ensure some blazing hot weather, which we really wanted and the resort is designed to enjoy, rather than the warm, comfortable weather we had.

Room Tip: Our suite was both ground floor and recessed so our balcony didn't get direct sunlight. Great w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Brad F,

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. We actually do have rooms with twin size beds however the suites are with only King size bed in the master bedroom and this is why you needed extra beds for your kids. Our standard rooms are big in size however it only can take 1 extra bed and 2 will make it very tide.

Our open buffet restaurant is providing 7 different themes a week with different kinds and types of food. Our Ala carte restaurants are providing Italian and oriental/Egyptian food. We also are providing special nights with extra reasonable charges in those 2 restaurants.

Well the imported alcoholic are expensive due to governmental taxes and not due to our pricing strategy however you still, as you stated, can enjoy the local wines and alcoholics. our guests are providing good feedback about its quality and taste.

I hope I clarified your concerns and the explanation is now more clear. I am happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcoming you again in Sheraton Miramar Resort.

Regards
Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,669
    576
    161
    48
    35
See reviews for
780
1,057
105
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel has everything going for it...
- the sheer size means that you have more space and quiet.
- the staff are very professional and take any concerns you have very seriously - a lukewarm shower was sorted out within 15 minutes, an ironing board provided within 5 minutes etc.
- the buffet breakfast is excellent.
-the orient restaurant serves fantastic moroccan food.
-the beach is clean and spacious and you are not unnecessarily disturbed.
-the pool is large and warm.
-the fitness centre is well maintained, with enough equipment.

The only quibble we have is that a hotel of this nature should not be charging for internet access in the business centre - a limitation on time, and a charge for printing perhaps, but surely, the internet does not cost £14 (egy) for 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Stayed in the first floor in the 8000 series, with a lagoon view - calm and quiet, and close enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnrnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear bnrnm,

Many thanks for your feedback. Our associates are provided with solid training program on regular basis. The Turnover is not that high and this why the stability of the day - to day performance is consistent maybe more than other hotels and resorts.

The hotel design itself is also different and allows our guests to enjoy privacy and relaxation.

We hope to see you soon again in our Resort.

Regards
Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My wife and I spent a week in this hotel (Jan 2012). It earns all of its five stars. To describe the hotel is a difficult task as it is not a typical hotel, it is a resort spread out over a large island with the tallest building being three story all set in a very well looked after desert garden. I paid the extra and stayed in a single level room. Large quiet and only yards from the very clean beach.

Food: We stayed B&B and the buffet style breakfast was plentyful and of an extremely good quality. The chef cooking eggs is a sight to behold, his skill is a joy.

To escape the hotel use the Took Tooks, 10le for a ride anywhere in El Gouna for two. There is a shuttle bus but that is very erractic and the bus that you want has always just left. Having said that its only 20le for a weeks ticket.

Eating out in Downtown or the Marina: You can find food from bar burgers to fine dining. Our first meal for two cost £7 with drinks, our last £50 both good in thier own ways.

As I diver I was happy to use this hotels dive shop TGI Diving, fair price and good trips. My only critisim of the 'El Gouna' experience is that my wife and I are very active, after a week of sitting about we had had enough.

If you like a beach life youll love it.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dune_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Dune_UK,

Thank you very much for your comments. The resort consists of 9 islands connected with wooden bridges and huge landscape of palms, trees and other plants. all of this is looking over the red sea. Each island has its own building / cluster. The resort is spread over 20000 square meter.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and already looking forward to welcoming you again.

Many thanks and regards
Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My husband & I stayed 3 nights at this marvelous hotel during our honeymoon vacation.. It was really so nice and we enjoyed the suite we got very much i still can remember the suite no. 2222 which was our lucky no. for happiness and romance.
Since this was our first visit to El Gouna but still i can say that Sheraton was awesome and the design of the hotel is really nice and different. Staff there was very nice and they were all helpfull specially Emad in the concierge desk who was the first and the last smile we met in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darkeyes0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Darkeyes0608,

I am very happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon and it became a memorable experience in our resort. Our 2222 suite is actually one of our best suites directly located at a fantastic beach front view.

We will be waiting for you again maybe to celebrate your 1st anniversary in the same suite.

Best regards
Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This was my second visit to the Sheraton Miramar Resort (the first two years earlier).

It's a spectacular hotel, laid out over a series of islands. The architecture is very colourful and distinctive, with no two buildings being exactly the same. We decided to splash out and stay in an "executive suite"; it was spread over two floors with its own internal spiral staircase, and with its own balcony. Maybe it was because we went in January, or maybe it's because tourism has been severely affected by political unrest, but we managed to get the suite for a very competitive rate.

The swimming pools were pleasantly heated and there are lots of beaches, so there is plenty of choice if you just want to sit in the sun.

The main restaurant offers a nightly buffet, which represents good value although the setting is a bit cavernous. Much better are the hotel's two other (smaller) restaurants, one oriental and one Italian. Here we enjoyed first-rate food, again at very reasonable prices.

One of the great strengths of this hotel is its location; it is a ten-minute walk from the marina. Here you'll find lots of other places to eat and a good selection of shops.

Negatives? On both my visits I found the wi-fi to be a bit unreliable. Plus a 5* hotel should (these days) offer this facility free-of-charge. Also there are people wandering around the hotel trying to sell you excursions on a "semi-submarine" to see fish, coral reefs, etc. This turned out to be a complete waste of time and money.

But I highly recommend this hotel, and I look forward to further visits in the future.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a suite -- they're bigger than most people's houses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Victor V,

Thank you very much for your feedback and detailed desribtion of the hotel, its service and the destination. Sheraton Miramar Resort is known to our guests as the hotel provides the best service stanadards possible. Our staff are provided with a solid training programs to keep them up to to the expectations.

Many thanks and hope to see you soon.

Regards
Islam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Gouna
0.3 km away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.8 km away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
758 reviews
0.9 km away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#10 of 18 in El Gouna
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Hurghada Marriott Beach Resort
1.2 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.6 km away
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna

Property: Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Address: Red Sea, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#5 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#8 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna is built on the most magnificent site, spread over 9 Red Sea islands and is designed by the world famous architect, Michael Graves. The award-winning architecture is inspired by ancient Egyptian designs. The unique seafront setting of the resort with the dramatic backdrop of desert mountains, crystalline lagoons, wooden bridges and lush gardens gives you the sensation of being in another world. Perfectly suits family holidays, romantic holidays, Weddings, honeymoons, meetings, seminars and incentives ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Miramar Hotel El Gouna
Sheraton El Gouna
Sheraton Miramar El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing