We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
  
Ways to Experience Abu Simbel Temple Complex
from US$51.29
More Info
from US$35.83
More Info
from US$100.00
More Info
from US$120.00
More Info
Reviews (3,452)
Filter reviews
3,452 results
Traveller rating
3,065
317
48
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,065
317
48
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ramses ii lake nasser long drive abu simbel temple nile cruise early start early morning take photos awe inspiring ancient egypt worth the trip mind blowing original location hour drive higher ground his wife original site
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 3,452 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2019

It was worth travelling a total of six hours to see the two temples.
Obviously the Ramses 2 temple was the most impressive of the two.
Build next to a very large dam in the Nile.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank hlambrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2019 via mobile

Amazing to see in person. The temple/statues are bigger than expected. Photos don't do it justice. The drawings and carvings are so well preserved for how old it is. It's a must see. We went in the evening and there weren't many people, so we got some great photos without many tourists. Bugs were really bad, bring bug spray if you have it. The vendors outside can be a bit pushy and they will haggle with you, so don't pay the initial price. Necklace started at 900 LE and he went down to 250 LE when I walked away.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Jtthjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2019

we visited the 2 temples and we were very happy to get up early in the morning ( about 5 am ) just to see these masterpieces that were built thousands of years ago, i don't know why they are not considered as one of the wonders of the world ?! our tour guide was the best , the organization by Grand Utopia travel online was perfect, thank you all.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank Mariana12587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2019

This temple was originally found by Swiss travelers with most of it buried under the sand. In 1817 and Italian clown, Belzoni, uncovered the temple. He is also noted for stealing lots of artifacts and selling them. Abu means "father of" Simbel. Temple dates from 1300 BC. Work on the Aswan High Dam started in 1960 and by 1964 this temple was close to being flooded. Built a coffer dam around the temple and moved it 180 meters to it's new location. The two temples did not open to the public until 1968. Baboons equal sun worshipers as they make a lot of noise at sunup. The second statue of Ramses II was severely damaged by the 27 AD earthquake. Ra, the Sun God is shown over the door.
Look for the following inside the temple: To the right: Ramses II in action with his bow, fighting with two men, heading home in chariot, victory over Hittites, worshiping gods, priests carrying two boats from N & S showing them joining In the inner sanctum of the gods: L>R Peter, God of Darkness, Amun, Ramses & Ra. On Oct 21 and Feb 21 the sun shines into the inter sanctum and shines on Ra, God of the Sun first, then Ramses and Amun. It never shines on Peter, the God of Darkness.
On Nefertiti's temple, which was also rescued from the lake, are four statues of Ramses and two of Nefertiti. She was the wife of Ra, Sun God, but she never ruled Egypt. Statues are 10 meters tall. Inside Nefertiti on each of the columns with Hathol, God of Gold. Beautiful, well maintained complex.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2019 via mobile

I visited the Abu Simbel as part of a tour by Memphis Tours. It involved a three hour bus drive to Abu Simbel and a three hour ride back to the Aswan airport. We needed to leave the cruise ship at about 4 am. I went with the bus because it was $500 USD if you did this excursion by plane.

The site itself is amazing as it contains two temples that needed to be relocated before Lake Aswan was created. The temples are very impressive. This site was worth the effort to get there.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank 2torontotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews