We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
  
Ways to Experience Abu Simbel Temple Complex
from US$51.29
More Info
from US$36.16
More Info
from US$100.00
More Info
from US$120.00
More Info
Reviews (3,451)
Filter reviews
3,451 results
Traveller rating
3,064
317
48
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,064
317
48
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ramses ii lake nasser long drive abu simbel temple nile cruise early start early morning take photos awe inspiring ancient egypt worth the trip mind blowing original location hour drive higher ground his wife original site
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 3,451 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2018

This has been on my "bucket list" for years but I was wary about going back to Egypt. So glad I did. The size of this is breathtaking. Long trip to get there and not really there for long enough considering the time of the journey but so worth it. Very impressive. Went over the Christmas period so wasn't too busy. Wouldn't like to be there when it is. Would have given 5 stars but the shop keepers / market traders were very over powering on the way back to the coach. Spoiled it a little.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank SalMar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Abu Simbel is a "must see"; one of the most awe inspiring wonders of the ancient world where an entire mountain was carved with pinpoint accuracy to create the temples of Ramesses II and his beloved wife Nefertari. The scale has to be seen to be appreciated. The modern miracle of UNESCO combining the world's resources in creating an artificial "mountain" (hollow dome) to house the reconstructed temple in order to save it from being submerged under Lake Nasser was also incredible. Even Ramesses would have been proud.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

This place is definitely worth visiting. It's a bit of a hassle to get to, but it's worth it. Trains don't go there, but you can fly from Cairo or Aswan, or take a taxi/minibus from Aswan. The drive takes 3 hours or so.

You need around 2 hours to tour the place. I recommend getting there early, to see the sunrise and avoid the tourist groups as much as possible. (That means you have to leave from Aswan by 4:15 am if you are driving).

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

This was an additional "add-on" to a tour I took with Intrepid in November. Our entire group opted in and we were all glad we did. It's an early start from Aswan, but don't let that put you off. The drive through the Sahara Desert to Abu Simbel was such a big part of the experience. Watching the sunrise over the desert was stunning. There is a pricier option to take a plane from Aswan, but there is no need. You would miss the journey to get there!

Everything about this place was awe-inspiring. The history, the sheer size, the meticulous attention to detail as with every ancient Egyptian site.

It's an incredible location and site and as with everything in Egypt - Pictures don't do it justice. You really just need to go (and go with a group if you can). Having the added bonus of an informed guide explain the history and answer your questions, really makes the experience even more enjoyable than if you were to just wander about on your own (which I usually prefer doing).

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank leswrote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Aside from the pyramids in Cairo this temple is a fabulous sight to see. It is so impressive and amazing. You cannot go to Egypt and not see this. It’s a must see.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank MRM1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews