We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
36
67
40
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
67
40
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews late check nice hotel darwin center highly recommend hotel continental breakfast beach towels main part the charles darwin research nice pool toilet paper in town wifi puerto galapagos cereal harbour land
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Let's begin with what's good about Fernandina: it's tucked away in a very quiet lane, but is a short walk away from the city centre, the restaurants and pubs. It is also walking distance from the Charles Darwin Research Center. The hotel itself is clean.

Now the concerns:
-- The WiFi was patchy.
-- The food was very disappointing, and no attempt was made to accommodate food preferences. The breakfast spread was spartan at best.
-- The rooms were startlingly small,with just enough space for the bed, and two bags!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dharinib2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The staff was lovely at this hotel and the room was fine. Our biggest complaint was that the food really wasn't too great. Breakfast was plain and then we would walk to a nearby restaurant for lunch and supper but the meals we could choose from really were not good. We ended up ordering from the menu and paying the difference to get good meals.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maryellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

The staff at the hotel was over the top friendly and helpful. I wasn't feeling well and they checked in on me. When our tour operator was MIA they helped, a lot. The room itself was basic. But clean, comfy bed and spacious. They, at least the days we were there, didn't have hot water for a shower. Wifi was ok, but mostly weak. Breakfast was below average but I found out that it's a standard Bkfst for most hotels in Galapagos.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Stayed here in room #15 for 2 nights during an organized tour. This hotel is in walking distance from the main shopping and restaurant street by the water and harbour. Our room was on the second floor. There are no elevators available. It offers an outdoor terrace with a few tables and chairs. Our room had a queen/king bed, A/C, safe but no TV, mini-fridge or clock radio. They offer a continental breakfast from 06:30 to 0900. Scrambled eggs, bread, yogurt, cheese, juice, etc. Water is available for your personal water bottle since tap water is not drinkable and should not be consumed not even to brush teeth. The hotel has another building across the street where there is a pool but we did not use it. Beach towels were available at reception. Free Wi-Fi was available. Our bed had a wooden frame and it was very noisy. Our only other complaint was the shampoo which seemed watered down. The staff was very friendly and most spoke English. It was really appreciated that we were approved for a late check-out since we were only being picked up at 1230 pm. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AMFMooseCreek_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Fernandina for 6 nights on our land based trip to the Galapagos. The hotel was in a quiet part of Puerto Ayora and a short walk to the Charles Darwin Research Center. We were able to walk anywhere in town from this location. The rooms were large and the beds were very comfortable. The free wifi was nice but downloads were long. Hot water in the shower also iffy. Luiz, at the front desk, was very attentive, helpful and friendly. He would greet us with cold faceclothes when we returned from our day trips! The hotel had towels for the pool and for our excursions. The fresh eggs at breakfast were especially good. We enjoyed sitting in the open area at night. A great hotel for our purpose. A friendly, quiet, convenient place to relax after a full day of exploring. Luiz made the difference in his attentiveness and friendly manner.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Memere6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews