We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Fernandina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fernandina
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night because our Latham flight was canceled. The room had three beds and was very nice. Unfortunately, at 11 PM, the electricity went out in the entire hotel and possibly in the area. This is a common occurrence in Galapagos. The breakfast was fairly good with cheese, watermelon, cantaloupe, hot cereal, toast, tea and coffee as well as vegetarian scrambled eggs.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Let's begin with what's good about Fernandina: it's tucked away in a very quiet lane, but is a short walk away from the city centre, the restaurants and pubs. It is also walking distance from the Charles Darwin Research Center. The hotel itself is clean.

Now the concerns:
-- The WiFi was patchy.
-- The food was very disappointing, and no attempt was made to accommodate food preferences. The breakfast spread was spartan at best.
-- The rooms were startlingly small,with just enough space for the bed, and two bags!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dharini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The staff was lovely at this hotel and the room was fine. Our biggest complaint was that the food really wasn't too great. Breakfast was plain and then we would walk to a nearby restaurant for lunch and supper but the meals we could choose from really were not good. We ended up ordering from the menu and paying the difference to get good meals.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maryellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

The staff at the hotel was over the top friendly and helpful. I wasn't feeling well and they checked in on me. When our tour operator was MIA they helped, a lot. The room itself was basic. But clean, comfy bed and spacious. They, at least the days we were there, didn't have hot water for a shower. Wifi was ok, but mostly weak. Breakfast was below average but I found out that it's a standard Bkfst for most hotels in Galapagos.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Stayed here in room #15 for 2 nights during an organized tour. This hotel is in walking distance from the main shopping and restaurant street by the water and harbour. Our room was on the second floor. There are no elevators available. It offers an outdoor terrace with a few tables and chairs. Our room had a queen/king bed, A/C, safe but no TV, mini-fridge or clock radio. They offer a continental breakfast from 06:30 to 0900. Scrambled eggs, bread, yogurt, cheese, juice, etc. Water is available for your personal water bottle since tap water is not drinkable and should not be consumed not even to brush teeth. The hotel has another building across the street where there is a pool but we did not use it. Beach towels were available at reception. Free Wi-Fi was available. Our bed had a wooden frame and it was very noisy. Our only other complaint was the shampoo which seemed watered down. The staff was very friendly and most spoke English. It was really appreciated that we were approved for a late check-out since we were only being picked up at 1230 pm. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AMFMooseCreek_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#12 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
99 reviews
6.3 km away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
82 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
681 reviews
3.6 km away
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
#16 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
13 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fernandina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fernandina

Address: Av. 12 Noviembre y Piqueros, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: €155 - €230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Fernandina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Fernandina is a warm and welcoming place where you can stay either alone, with family or friends and enjoy your visit to the Galapagos Islands, allowing us to provide you an excellent service as you deserve. We offer 22 rooms with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and WiFi. We are located in a very quiet residential area just 10 minutes from the Charles Darwin Station and few minutes from the main attractions of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fernandina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandina Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Fernandina Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing