We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ariana's Galapagos Hostal(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay House(Puerto Ayora)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B & B La Peregrina(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue House Galapagos(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Capitan Max B&B(Puerto Ayora)
US$156
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Carliza Suites(Puerto Ayora)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
238
147
45
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
147
45
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea lionsfish marketpool areahot tubsanta cruzin townthe hotel staffblue footed boobiesclamsgalapagos islandslounge chairswould recommend this hotel to anyonetortuga bayincluded breakfastsmall balconyresearch centerdarwin center
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We stayed at Solymar for four days and found it to be a very relaxing, convenient and welcoming hotel after days spent exploring. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel grounds were sunny, airy and spotless. A highlight was the back deck, right on the water, with pool and jacuzzi as well as bar/restaurant. We particularly enjoyed the daily visit to the deck by a sea lion, who liked to lounge in the sun. Another plus is that the hotel is close to restaurants and shops, but still very quiet and relaxing. Overall this was a great place to stay in the heart of Puerto Ayora. My only slight negative was that the breakfasts were fairly uninteresting and could be improved. In contrast, we had very good lunches and dinners at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear
Thank you for choosing us as your destination.
We appreciate your comments and above all we are pleased to know that they liked our hotel, every comment is very valuable and with them we can make improvements in small details.

We hope to have you back soon.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

The hotel is close to the city center and right on the water with great, friendly staff. it is walking distance from the harbor, numerous restaurants and shops and the National Park visitor center. It has a bar and restaurant on site. There is a hot tub and lap style pool. The hot tub was nice and warm and the pool was unheated. The pool deck is a nice place to watch some of the wildlife. A sea lion has adopted one end of the pool deck as a place to nap and enjoy the sun. There are several aquatic iguanas that enjoy the sun between the pool and the rocky shore below. There are several brown pelicans that stay on the wall near the restaurant and numerous small crabs on the rocky shore below the pool wall. We loved watching the animals during breakfast and the lunch we ate there. Breakfast was buffet style with enough variety to keep us happy. Even though there lots of them, the animals were not intrusive - just present.

The hotel provides refillable water bottles and access to unlimited hot and cold bottled water in the lobby. They recommend to brush teeth with the bottled water and to not drink the tap water. The AC worked well, there was plenty of hot water in the shower and the wifi was consistently operating - at a reasonable speed for a remote location.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ShadeyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear

Thank you very much for preferring us and at the same time leave your valuable comment that will undoubtedly make more customers want to visit us.
We have a privileged location in the middle of nature and it is wonderful to see that birds and sea lions as well as iguanas also enjoy our attention.
We hope to have you back next time.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

This hotel has pelicans above the open air bar and seals visiting the pool.
It is in a lovely part of Santa Cruz close to the Darwin centre.
The staff are really kind and helpful.
We only stayed two nights but could have stayed much longer.
Many thanks to Jennifer from Explorer Ventures who recommended we stay here after our wonderful Liveaboard on the Humboldt Explorer.

Room Tip: All rooms look to the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Departamento de ventas at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear

Thank you very much for choosing us. It is our pleasure to serve you.

We like that you liked the facilities of our hotel.

Thank you for your visit.


Departamento de ventas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

This is the best hotel to visit in Puerto Ayora. Whether you are staying in their amazing rooms locations in the best possible place in Puerto Ayora (right on the water) or just visiting for food or drinks this place is a must. The staff is incredible and the views and wildlife interactions - amazing!!! Make sure to stop by the Hotel Solymar if visiting Santa Cruz and Puerto Ayora!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Nice central location, walking distance to restaurants, pier, sites including Charles Darwin centre.

Pool is visited by sea lions!
Basic breakfast provided, slow wi-fi (problem in all of Galapagos), friendly staff, clean room with good ocean views. Only Spanish TV channels available

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank goony51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews