We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our breakfast with ocean views and a sea lion”
Review of Hotel Solymar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Solymar
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Can't say enough great things about this hotel. The front desk was great. Complimentary drink on arrival. The room was wonderful. We had a fantastic view facing the ocean. Loved it! I think I remember it being a few bucks more, but totally worth it to me. Loved the food in the restaurant and there are plenty of other options very nearby. They don't make a good bloody mary, but the Pina Coladas were awesome.
The pool butts up to the ocean as it shows in the pictures. There is a sea lion that hangs out by the pool so often they've named her Wendy. This place captures the Galapagos beauty and magic. Thanks for a wonderful stay! Wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear

Thank you for your comment, we are very happy to fill your expectations, our location makes everything flow in a harmonious harmony with nature as our staff is always ready to provide a quality service to each of our passengers.
We hope to have them back at a future opportunity.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017

We stayed at Solymar for four days and found it to be a very relaxing, convenient and welcoming hotel after days spent exploring. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel grounds were sunny, airy and spotless. A highlight was the back deck, right on the water, with pool and jacuzzi as well as bar/restaurant. We particularly enjoyed the daily visit to the deck by a sea lion, who liked to lounge in the sun. Another plus is that the hotel is close to restaurants and shops, but still very quiet and relaxing. Overall this was a great place to stay in the heart of Puerto Ayora. My only slight negative was that the breakfasts were fairly uninteresting and could be improved. In contrast, we had very good lunches and dinners at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear
Thank you for choosing us as your destination.
We appreciate your comments and above all we are pleased to know that they liked our hotel, every comment is very valuable and with them we can make improvements in small details.

We hope to have you back soon.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

The hotel is close to the city center and right on the water with great, friendly staff. it is walking distance from the harbor, numerous restaurants and shops and the National Park visitor center. It has a bar and restaurant on site. There is a hot tub and lap style pool. The hot tub was nice and warm and the pool was unheated. The pool deck is a nice place to watch some of the wildlife. A sea lion has adopted one end of the pool deck as a place to nap and enjoy the sun. There are several aquatic iguanas that enjoy the sun between the pool and the rocky shore below. There are several brown pelicans that stay on the wall near the restaurant and numerous small crabs on the rocky shore below the pool wall. We loved watching the animals during breakfast and the lunch we ate there. Breakfast was buffet style with enough variety to keep us happy. Even though there lots of them, the animals were not intrusive - just present.

The hotel provides refillable water bottles and access to unlimited hot and cold bottled water in the lobby. They recommend to brush teeth with the bottled water and to not drink the tap water. The AC worked well, there was plenty of hot water in the shower and the wifi was consistently operating - at a reasonable speed for a remote location.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ShadeyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Departamento de Ventas at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear

Thank you very much for preferring us and at the same time leave your valuable comment that will undoubtedly make more customers want to visit us.
We have a privileged location in the middle of nature and it is wonderful to see that birds and sea lions as well as iguanas also enjoy our attention.
We hope to have you back next time.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

This hotel has pelicans above the open air bar and seals visiting the pool.
It is in a lovely part of Santa Cruz close to the Darwin centre.
The staff are really kind and helpful.
We only stayed two nights but could have stayed much longer.
Many thanks to Jennifer from Explorer Ventures who recommended we stay here after our wonderful Liveaboard on the Humboldt Explorer.

Room Tip: All rooms look to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSolymar, Departamento de ventas at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear

Thank you very much for choosing us. It is our pleasure to serve you.

We like that you liked the facilities of our hotel.

Thank you for your visit.


Departamento de ventas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

This is the best hotel to visit in Puerto Ayora. Whether you are staying in their amazing rooms locations in the best possible place in Puerto Ayora (right on the water) or just visiting for food or drinks this place is a must. The staff is incredible and the views and wildlife interactions - amazing!!! Make sure to stop by the Hotel Solymar if visiting Santa Cruz and Puerto Ayora!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.3 km away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
673 reviews
0.7 km away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
356 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
446 reviews
1.1 km away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
891 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solymar

Address: Ave. Charles Darwin | Thomas de Berlanga, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: €208 - €289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in Hotel Solymar and our New Extension Isla Sol, located 10 steps from the entrance of Hotel Solymar. We are centrally located in Puerto Ayora’s mainstreet, with ocean access, and a beautiful patio for your guests to enjoy the nature that is Galapagos. Galapagos' only Galapagueño owned and operated first class hotel. Our father, a Galapagos tourism pioneer and legend, Jimmy Perez, opened the hotel in 1960 with eight rooms. It was later completely renovated in 2007 to bring the capacity to 17 rooms with ocean front views.In Hotel Solymar we have 17 rooms equipped with LED flat screen TVs, minibars, air conditioning, hot water, private balconies which allow our guests to appreciate a spectacular ocean view. Guests may enjoy a our jacuzzi, pool, and bar in our open air patio area or enjoy a more formal setting in our dining room, all while experiencing the service of our ultra attentive staff.August of this year, we inaugurated Isla Sol by Hotel Solymar; a new building with 14 modern rooms (6 exterior view – 8 interior view). Isla Sol with meeting space for up to 120 people, ideal for hosting any type of event in Galapagos.As former guides, we know our Islands intimately and can assist our guests with their travel plans, whether your desires be to kayak with sea lions or hike through the highlands to encounter the famous giant tortoises.Our staff speaks English, Spanish and Hebrew. We hail from Galapagos, Columbia, mainland Ecuador, Israel and United States. With our diverse international staff we are proud to provide a level of hospitality and guest service that keeps guests returning year after year.We look forward to welcoming you soon at Hotel Solymar - Galapagos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Solymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Solymar Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing