We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall quite good”
Review of Hotel Solymar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Solymar
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This is a fairly modern hotel. The staff are indeed very helpful. The hotel is right in the middle of town, with one building facing the ocean and the other across the street. We had a room with an ocean view (although, to be accurate, it mainly looked out on the pool and restaurant/bar area). The room was not large, but certainly well appointed (we even had a fridge/mini bar). We ate one dinner at the hotel and it was very good. We barely ate breakfast, so I cannot really comment. There is a small pool (which we didn't try). It was fun to see a sea lion climb into the pool and have himself a quick swim. The hotel is about a block from the local fish market, which is a fun place to observe wildlife (pelicans, a pet sea lion that the fishermen feed, and lots of iguanas). There are souvenir stores up the street, and you are within walking distance of the Charles Darwin Research Station. We traveled with a group, so I cannot speak to the cost of the hotel, as this was included in the cost of the entire trip.

Room Tip: Probably nice to face the water.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiermontMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Solymar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2016

We left a smaller dungeon sized room booked for us by travel agents to stay here. With a view of the Pacific, restaurant, bar, pool and jacuzzi on premises. Even a little Library. One English-speaking TV channel. Pelicans were near our deck in the a.m., sea lions at the fish market, a small grocery store just beyond the lovely Catholic Church. Incredible view of fish in the harbor at night and much less $ for the Galapagos than the usual $5K per person. There are $25 per night hostels. $1 cab rides anywhere in town, though a catamaran cruise, full day, ,can cost $160 per person. Well worth it. Also $1 ferry ride from Baltras Airport (fly there from Quito, Ecuador) to Santa Cruz Island. See giant tortoises, sea lions, strange red CLINGY crabs, calm Pacific swimming COves.

Room Tip: Ask for room closer to pool view.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelineBeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

The room was great, the view was great, the staff were great (especially Alejandro), the amount of wildlife you see each days was awesome (we saw marine iguanas,blue heron, sea lions, rays, frigate birds and sally light foot crabs), the drinks were great, the food was great and it is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, the water taxis and the fish market where you can see the catch of the day and two sea lions and several pelicans mooching breakfast as the fish are being cleaned. Just a couple of negatives. The pool never really looked clean-it was always cloudy, the hot tub/spa was cold water-I don't think it was working and be prepared for animal excrement because of all the wildlife but the hotel is quick to clean it up.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the pool side. The view is the best from there.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Front desk staff was excellent. Great service. Breakfast was also excellent, attentive staff.
A few nagging problems that reduces it's rating.
Typical Ecuadorian inattention to detail with design/construction. Bathroom door would grind on the floor of the bathroom - a simple fix. Instructions for the in room safe were confusing. I had to ask for assistance and I have several advanced degrees - technical.
Bathroom fittings were all chrome with one exception - the hand towel holder was made of wood? Can't find/buy a chrome hand towel holder?
First floor room can be noisy due to lack of draperies / sound dampening material in the common area. All sounds bounced off the concrete and were amplified.
Mini fridge in room was very noisy. I had to disconnect it for peace and quiet.
Desk / work area in room lacked convenient outlets. Not hard to install these for customer convenience.
Typical Ecuadorian sloppy paint job. Ecuadorian painters just don't seem to clean up any mis-brush strokes that they make. Evidence of this in the room and the public hallways. Not a difficult fix but attention to detail would not let this happen in the first place.
Curtain design - Curtain not divided in the middle so that it call be pulled back from either side. Never saw this design before in my life. Curtain had several small holes in it too. Not acceptable in a higher quality hotel.
Hotel review document - errors in translation to English. Again not difficult to ask English speaking guests to proof read it before printing.

I stayed in room 107
Summary:
Staff were exemplary. Kudos to the hiring manager.
Small details need to be attended to. Does not deserve top star rating because of this.
I stayed Nov 7 and Nov 8 2016

Room Tip: Seems as if all rooms would be good. Each has it's own small balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Small hotel, great location. We walked everywhere. Rooms were clean and comfortable, restaurant was delicious. Fresh water was easily accessible. Breakfast was great, Bar even better. Views of the ocean from every room. The sea lions do lay by the pool. The pool and hot tub not great, but, we didn't use them. One of the biggest benefits to me was the next day laundry service- cheap!! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank soldbyshahla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.3 km away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
663 reviews
1.1 km away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
871 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
314 reviews
0.7 km away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
348 reviews
9.4 km away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solymar

Address: Ave. Charles Darwin | Thomas de Berlanga, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: €184 - €255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in Hotel Solymar and our New Extension Isla Sol, located 10 steps from the entrance of Hotel Solymar. We are centrally located in Puerto Ayora’s mainstreet, with ocean access, and a beautiful patio for your guests to enjoy the nature that is Galapagos. Galapagos' only Galapagueño owned and operated first class hotel. Our father, a Galapagos tourism pioneer and legend, Jimmy Perez, opened the hotel in 1960 with eight rooms. It was later completely renovated in 2007 to bring the capacity to 17 rooms with ocean front views.In Hotel Solymar we have 17 rooms equipped with LED flat screen TVs, minibars, air conditioning, hot water, private balconies which allow our guests to appreciate a spectacular ocean view. Guests may enjoy a our jacuzzi, pool, and bar in our open air patio area or enjoy a more formal setting in our dining room, all while experiencing the service of our ultra attentive staff.August of this year, we inaugurated Isla Sol by Hotel Solymar; a new building with 14 modern rooms (6 exterior view – 8 interior view). Isla Sol with meeting space for up to 120 people, ideal for hosting any type of event in Galapagos.As former guides, we know our Islands intimately and can assist our guests with their travel plans, whether your desires be to kayak with sea lions or hike through the highlands to encounter the famous giant tortoises.Our staff speaks English, Spanish and Hebrew. We hail from Galapagos, Columbia, mainland Ecuador, Israel and United States. With our diverse international staff we are proud to provide a level of hospitality and guest service that keeps guests returning year after year.We look forward to welcoming you soon at Hotel Solymar - Galapagos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Solymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Solymar Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing