We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Firstly I think it's important to realise this hotel is not a Hilton or a Sheraton.
This hotel is an eco hotel in the Galapagos Islands.
The rooms are simply furnished and elegant but definitely not plush luxury. I think they suit their location extremely well. The bathrooms are supplied with L'occitane products and have the best water pressure of any hotel I've ever stayed in.
The hotel comes with sea-lions, red crabs and marine iguanas on their own deck (suitably separated from the paying guests by a low fence). They are noisy at times and smell a bit, but it's the Galapagos, that's what you're there for.
It is built in a mangrove forest at the edge of town so it's quiet and there is an element of earthiness to the place.
This is a most interesting and unique hotel.
It has recently changed ownership and looking back at reviews over the last few years it has clearly come a very long way in the last 6 months.
I loved it.
The wildlife on the deck is an unending source of fascination.
The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful (and patient with my poor, at best, knowledge of Spanish).
The hotel had arranged a series of day tours as part of my package and the reception staff were careful to find me each day and ensure that breakfast was timed for my pick-up next morning.
The restaurant is excellent, and attracts a large local crowd - almost every night of my 8 day stay it was pretty full - which makes it a bit less intimate for guests. But the food is very good.
If you are heading to the Galapagos and thinking of staying in Puerto Ayora put this place on your list.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We opted to stay here as opposed to Finch Bay as it came across in pictures as more of our kind of place. We were not disappointed at all!
The welcome was friendly and all the staff were lovely and very helpful.
We were lucky enough to stay in the suite overlooking the water front and it was a beautiful room. The bed was comfortable and shower was really nice (we even had L'Occitaine toiletries!).
The associated restaurant was very good and we enjoyed sitting by the water watching all the wildlife.

The town itself is sweet and quiet and perfect for a couple of days relaxation.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophiederonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Gerente at Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for sharing your review. We are honored to have received such praise from you.

The hotel has gone under a huge transformation and we hope to continue improving our services!

Thanks again, we are so happy you enjoyed your time in the Galapagos and at Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

This is a relatively pricy hotel (given hotel condition, size, location, services offered or should I say lack of services offered, etc) and they grossly mis-advertise their rooms. We booked a Suite, which according to their photos is a spacious room with a separate living area, wooden floors, walls, nice furniture, a lot of windows, etc. When we checked in, they put us in their Standard Double Room with One Queen Bed. If you look at the photos that is the room built in Earthship style with concrete floors, white concrete walls, sitting area and base of the bed build out of concrete, no space at all, etc. When I went to front desk and showed them a photo of their Suite advertised and photo of Standard Double room, which was IDENTICAL to our room, they argued with me saying that our room is still a suite, just a "different" one. Needless to say, they never changed our room.
In addition to this I must say that staff at the hotel is not helpful at all. They were not necessarily rude, but they were very indifferent to any requests.
Breakfast was one of the worst I ever seen. All they offered fit on one little 2'x3' table, which was supposed to represent their buffet choices. There was nothing hot or fresh there.
Location is ok, but it is at the very end of the strip. There are definitely a better hotel locations on that island.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Gerente at Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Maria,

We hope you are doing well.

We are very sorry to hear about your disappointing review for Red Mangrove. We will be taking the appropriate actions necessary in order to make sure we can provide more options for any inconveniences our guests face when visiting.

We have just recently taken over the hotel a few short months ago, but many changes have been made and many more are coming soon. In the time the hotel has been in our hands we have completely renovated the restaurant, outside deck and lounge area, changed all bedding, chairs, desks, bathroom accessories, showers, room curtains, decorations and more.

We thank you for your contribution. Any and all feedback is very important to us and we will use the information you provided in order to improve our services.

Thanks again,
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The outside of the hotel looks a bit tired but the rooms are very updated and comfortable with an incredible view of the water. The sea lions and iguanas are everywhere and entertaining. The food and staff were excellent ; very welcoming and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CCallagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Owner at Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review!

We've just finished remodeling our restaurant and updating our accommodations. Glad you enjoyed the results!

Thanks again!

All the best,
Red Mangrove Eco Luxury Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I'm sad to see the prior reviews that seem to judge this hotel a little harshly.
We stayed 6 nights, and it was split, 2 , then went to another island for 2, then back for 4.
When we left, they safely stored our bags, so we travelled with less luggage.
Our teen kids couldn't wait to get back. They missed it, as did I.
Despite the inconvenience of renovations, you can see the quality of their bar updates, and new patio. They had no issue allowing us to enjoy it, while working on it, despite the " safety" factor other places may have been concerned with.
The hotel sits on the ocean and is walkable from the docks you leave/arrive at for tours.
The kindness of the staff, particularly their managers was so obvious. They were inviting and accommodating for our group of 9.They have wonderful suites upstairs, particularly on their 3rd floor, with stunning views. Occitane brand is used for toiletries in their room.

There was someone there 24/7, sleeping outside, should you need anything at the wee early hours. We left at 6am one day, our breakfast was packed for us.
Tours should be organized ahead, there are so many tourists in the Galapagos to expect any tour to be available at anytime. There are limited locals. I disagree the prior review about Santa Fe. The whole island is about nature, and the nesting/mating of their bird population. If you've no interest in this, then you shouldn't go.
People on the island work hard, one of our drivers asked if we minded if he used the back of his pickup to help some farmers. If he hadn't, they would've walked miles home,that's what they normally do.
We lost an iPhone 7S on one island. It was found by the locals, thanks to our guide (with Galapagos guide) inquiring. It was returned to us, and although we gave a reward, this was priceless to my daughter, who hadn't backed up her photos.
There is a local laundry nearby you can walk to.
All in all, I loved the Red Mangrove, and will lookup their sister property in the amazon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjetilhaugan, Gerente at Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear JJ,

Thank you very much for your sincere review, we greatly appreciate it. Galapagos is a beautiful place with beautiful people. We are very proud to be located where we are and work with the people we do.

Yes, we've just recently finished the remodeling in our restaurant/bar and deck. We are very anxious for our guests to finally enjoy the seaside views and the common sea lion and marine iguana visitors to keep them company!

Thank you so much for writing and feel free to write to us anytime, including our sister companies. They'll be more than happy to respond just as quick as they can.

All the best,
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.8 km away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
360 reviews
9.4 km away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
457 reviews
1.2 km away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
327 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
75 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel

Address: Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora 010110, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: €263 - €406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Red Mangrove is an oceanfront hotel with the best views of Academy Bay, located in Puerto Ayora. The hotel is the perfect place for Galapagos visitors to stay considering many activities like snorkeling, hiking, beaches, swimming, kayaking, and visiting the Charles Darwin Center are just minutes away. Why else is the Red Mangrove a good decision? For those who are prone to seasickness the hotel gives you a stay where you feel just like you're on the water with the option to choose different packages with the activities mentioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Aventura Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Red Mangrove Aventura
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing