We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel(Puerto Ayora)
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge(Puerto Ayora)
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ariana's Galapagos Hostal(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Casa Eden(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Blue House Galapagos(Puerto Ayora)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$384
US$371
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (952)
Filter reviews
952 results
Traveller rating
696
194
44
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
696
194
44
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taximetropolitan touringgarden vieweco hotelpublic beachla pintasanta cruzsea lionsthe general managerlas grietasrooms are smallevery eveningbeautiful poolsmall beachdaily toursamazing hotelthe hotel manager
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 952 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We stayed here for four nights and arranged 3 days tours through the resort. Rooms are small and basic but the resort facilities are superb. Breakfast was great and the pool area was brilliant after a day tour. It is is right on the public beach so you can either swim in the ocean or pool. Service from staff was fantastic especially Claudia at reception. The resort has its own yacht which makes day trips easier esp with kids. They trips are more expensive than what you can buy in town but the yacht is well maintained and small groups rather than being a sardine on town booked tours. You need to catch a water taxi into town but resort arranges and is free. Bartolome island day trip in particular was a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier G, Director General at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Greetings from the Galapagos Islands. We really appreciate your opinions regarding your last stay in our Finch Bay, firstly we thank you for choosing us as your Hotel to spend your vacations. We also thank you for your kind comments about the service from Claudia and the rest of our Staff, we deeply appreciate these special mentions.

We are glad to know that we were your choice to explore the wonders of the Islands, as you mention, we have our own private yacht to visit different destinations and meet the wildlife of Galapagos. Aboard our yacht you can meet a very professional and helpful Crew that provides the best quality of service to our guests, also our Naturalist Guides that guarantee a unique and enriching experience making it an unforgettable adventure.
If you decide to return to Puerto Ayora anytime, we will be delighted to assist you again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly to help you with any requirements in advance, you and your family are more than welcome!
Have a nice day.

Finch Bay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Our family of 4 stayed in a family suite with 2 double beds. The rooms are not very big but they are very clean and modern plus they have a nice balcony with a hammock. Do not expect to enjoy the beach here because it is funky and not a nice place to go in the water BUT the great pool and grounds of the hotel make up for the funky beach.

The breakfast buffet was great and had a wide variety of options, lunch was good, and dinner was delicious and there were good options for the kids too.

They do not have a spa here but they can call a masseuse on site and if there is an empty room they will have the masseuse give you a massage there. I enjoyed the massages I had.

The day trips are great so book them in advance with the hotel. We LOVED the yacht trip to Bartholome island and we snorkeled with penguins diving around us and many reef sharks. The snorkeling on this trip was some of the best we have ever seen (and we have been many places including Fiji and Maldives etc.). If you go on the Tortuga Bay day trip be aware there is a lot of walking so bring good shoes and you may want to bring snorkle gear with you because there is not much to do when you get to the destination.

All in all we loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank renee94903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier G, Director General at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Renee,

Thank you for taking the time to express your experience about your recent stay at our Finch Bay.
First of all we thank you for choosing us as your holiday hotel with your family, it was a real pleasure for us to be your hosts.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities, heated pool and comfort and amenities of the rooms. As you mentioned, the privileged location of our Property (in front of the beach) allows us to have an environment surrounded by the wonders of Galapagos, relaxation and quality rest.
We have shared your valuable comments about your dining experience to our Food & Beverage team, Executive Chef and all the staff that makes it possible, we thank you for your generous opinions.
Overall, we are very happy to hear that your adventure in the Enchanted Islands was wonderful, we prepared the daily tours aboard our own Sea Lion yacht with the best standard of Crew service and our Naturalist Guides.
Thanks again for your recommendations and we hope you will return soon! This is your home in Galapagos.

All the best,

Finch Bay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

-Beautiful setting, right on the beach.
-Staff extremely friendly and helpful!
-Good food! The chef did make an effort to make the food pretty too.
-Can be inconvenient: in order to go anywhere, you have to walk for ten minutes, then take the water taxi to town center.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank KimKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier G, Director General at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Kim,

Greetings from the Enchanted Islands! Thank you very much for your opinions, they are always important to us.
We want to thank you for highlighting our location in Puerto Ayora which is privileged being the only Hotel facing the beach "Playa Los Alemanes" that makes us surrounded by the wildlife of Galapagos, also we have available our own water taxi service for the comfort of our guests so they can explore the rest of the town.
Our Food & Beverage team appreciates your opinions about your dining experience, we are always prepared to offer the best and friendliest service to our guests.
If you decide to return anytime, do not hesitate to contact us for any request, it will be a pleasure to help you.
Have a great day!

Sincerely,

Finch Bay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed a night here after a cruise in the Galapagos. The resort is owned by the same company (Metropolitan Touring) that owned the yacht we sailed on for our cruise. I must say I am impressed. The La Pinta Yacht was a great way to cruise the Galapagos. But the resort may be even better. We had an ocean view room. There is a wonderful beach/bay in front of the resort that is great for swimming, snorkeling, walking through the water or just relaxing. The food was wonderful. This place is a real gem.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mitchell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier G, Director General at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Mitchell,

What a nice review! Thank you very much for considering us a Unique Boutique Logde.
Staying at the Finch Bay after a cruise is an excellent choice for rest and relaxation before returning home.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your excursions aboard La Pinta Yacht, the Company always offers the best options to explore the Enchanted Islands with impeccable service to create memorable experiences.
We appreciate your valuable comments, and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our facilities, our Finch Bay Suites facing the ocean and your dining experience.
We hope that the next time you can visit us for longer, we also have our own yacht for daily tours if you decide to stay on land.
Have a wonderful day!

Best regards,

Finch Bay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

My vocabulary isn't extensive enough to use all of the superlatives this hotel deserves! From the first email I sent the hotel months prior to our arrival to the last morning of our 5-day stay, the communication and level of service were first class. We booked the 5-day, 4-night Finch Bay Complete Programme in a Finch Bay Suite with a king bed and an ocean view.

GROUNDS
The hotel is in a convenient location positioned on the other side of the bay from Puerto Arroyo. It has a relatively secluded feel even though it is a 5-minute walk and 2-minute water taxi ride to the town. The beach that the hotel property joins to is a public beach; however, it is not a loud beach. The hotel landscaping provides some visual separation of the beach area from the pool, bar, and lobby areas, yet we could still see plenty of the beach and water when we wanted to. The pool is appropriately sized for the size of the hotel and the amount of people who use it. Remember, the vast majority of the time should be spent exploring the islands and waters between them!

The lobby is a beautiful open-air space that is simple, clean, and classy. It was well designed with two separate levels: the lower level is for relaxing in the numerous sofas and chairs and the upper level is the dining area. The hotel rooms are on both sides of the lobby. We found out during our stay that our building was one that was damaged (or destroyed) by a tsunami in 2011, so its rooms are relatively new compared to some of the others. While our room was in the building closest to the beach, I don't think we utilized it to its full potential. By the time we got back to the hotel after the day's activities and went to dinner, it was dark and we wanted to get sleep to be ready for the next day. As a result, we were only able to sit on the patio and enjoy the ocean view once. Nevertheless, the room was spacious and nicely appointed with the king bed, two sitting chairs, a remote-controlled air conditioner, and a functional bathroom. The only negative of the room was that the wall separating us from the adjoining room was very thin. We could often hear our neighbors and, while we tried to be quiet, we're sure they could hear us, too.

FOOD
The meals at Finch Bay were far beyond what we expected. We knew and appreciated the fact that the chef and kitchen staff use so many fresh ingredients including items from the hotel's own vegetable garden, but it was the quality of the flavors and the presentation of the dishes that made each course and each meal so special. The meals on board the hotel's yacht were also delicious and thoughtfully prepared.

EXCURSIONS
The Finch Bay would be worth staying at even if they didn't offer the excursion programs that they do. The fact that they do offer them with such variety, thoroughness, and duration options made the decision to stay here an obvious choice. Each of the guides who led our tours was present, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable of where they were leading us and what flora and fauna we were seeing. Since we were part of the Complete Programme, each of our day's activities were pre-arranged. We typically like to custom-select what we want to do on a given day; however, simply being told what time we needed to be at the lobby to start the day was a welcome change. We had two days of land-based activities and two days of yacht trips to other islands.

STAFF
The staff are what make Finch Bay what it is. Don't get me wrong, the location, accommodations, and eco-consciousness are all individually and collectively wonderful, but the staff take the experience to a whole new level. Soto and Fabian were excellent excursion guides: friendly, engaging, and knowledgeable. It makes a big difference when you enjoy spending the better part of the day with the guide. Irene and Vanessa were always smiling, giving a friendly greeting, and providing assistance to us whenever we needed, especially when we needed to get a hold of our airline to get information about potential delays on our flight home. Visiting Jorge at the bar was a bright spot of each day. Not only are his cocktails delicious, but he consistently asked us about our day, where we went, and what we liked. Inside the dining room was just as enjoyable as we had the privilege of visiting with Cesar during each of our dinners. Calling Cesar friendly would be an understatement; from the moment we saw him (whether we were sitting at our table or just walking by the dining room) he would start a conversation and let us know he had reserved a special table for us in the dining room. A completely unexpected surprise was when he reserved a table for us outside of the dining room. Our last night there, he and Jorge set up a private, candle-lit table on the pool deck next to the ocean. At Cesar's suggestion, we paid the extra amount to have the local lobster during which he serenaded us with an Ecuadorian love song. Then, to finish a perfect evening, Chef Emilio delivered the dessert and we took photos with him and Cesar.

My wife and I have a travel policy of not repeating destinations, but we have already talked about how we could make a partial exception and pair a return trip to Finch Bay and the Galapagos Islands with a new destination in South America.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank RMIgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews