We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible home and garden”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Tortuga

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Patio Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Front of house
Patio
Dining Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining room and stairs to second floor
Hallway second floor
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Bathroom upstairs
Balcony - access from both bedrooms
Balcony with view to garden
Front of house
Location of house in the town (5 min walk from the center)
Location of house (within a walled complex with two other homes) - and a lot of garden space!
Garden and patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Travellin...
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible home and garden”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This home is a wonderful getaway, only four blocks from the center of town. My husband, son and I really enjoyed the outdoor seating/patio areas and the movies and DVD player. It feels very private in the garden, which is completely hidden from the roads. It is also close to the entrance for Tortuga Bay (see photos). María, the caretaker, was fantastic and made us feel at home immediately. We would have loved to stay here longer. I can't believe I didn't take any photos of the home while there -- I must have been too relaxed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael E...
1 review
“Galapagos accomodation”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Casa Tortuga is a delightful home for three on a visit to this amazing group of islands.THe house is well equipped, very clean and simple.. The owners live in the same walled compound and were welcoming and helpful. Easy access to all that we sought.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHICAGO, ILL. USA
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Unfortunately our home was not the right fit for this guest. We were sorry that she did not enjoy her stay and found the place unsuitable. She is correct to say there is no hair dryer (but we also do not advertise having on in the amenities).

This home is located in the Galapagos, near the ocean where things are affected by sea air and very strong sun. Regardless we do all that is possible to keep the home and its contents maintained as best as possible. We also cannot always control how our guests treat house items. I checked the items mentioned and found some heat stains on some of the pots and a small bleach stain on the towel - not nothing that would be a health hazard. And the house and contents are in good condition - but perhaps not good enough for this particular guests needs. I would have gladly replaced the towel, but the guest never asked for a new towel, she only sent a blurry photo which I could not entirely decipher. She also asked me to not send the cleaner in at all during her stay.

I spent months communicating with this guest trying to help her prepare for her trip to the islands and giving her suggestions for tours etc, I hope that the rest of her experience in the islands was a positive one.

All in all, we are sorry this went badly. But we also know that pretty much all our other guests have really enjoyed this home. We have taken note of her comments to make sure that the experience is better for our next guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
242jeremy...
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“like our own hacienda with gorgeous garden”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

casa tortuga exceeded our expectations and was a great value. it's an attractive, clean, comfortable, spacious, and functional vacation rental that would even pass for a honeymoon destination (unless you need ultra luxury). the building is a fairly new single-family home that's walled off from the street on the west edge of puerto ayora (i.e., not much traffic). it shares a huge, dense, flowering garden with two other houses on the property that's a little smaller than a u.s. city block. the other houses have their own gates far away and are basically out-of-mind-out-of-sight thanks to the large garden. we felt like we were on our own hacienda surrounded by nature.

tatjana was super responsive while i had to make last-minute reservations. she also responded right away w/ a couple questions while we were at the property and even arranged for a taxi to pick us up on our last day to take us to the airport.

the beds slept great – firm but soft. the master bedroom has what i think was a queen bed. the other bedroom has a raised, twin-size bed that's as good for a kid as well as a 6' adult. both bedrooms have lots of closet and storage space, extra bedding, ceiling fans, and access to a second-floor balcony w/ chairs and a hammock overlooking the garden.

the second floor bathroom is roomy and has a great shower, toilet, two sink areas, bath and beach towels, and plenty of shelving. the first floor's half bathroom has a toilet and sink.

the kitchen is adequately equipped, including a refrigerator, stove top (not oven), toaster oven, coffee maker, microwave, and water cooler w/ free, bottled water. free laundry machines are on side patio and work well.

the kitchen, dining area, and living room are three spaces but all open. the dining area table seats at least six, and a bar w/ stools separates the kitchen and dining area. the living room has a couch (that would be sleepable if needed), loveseat, and tv for watching dvds. wifi worked fine throughout but wasn't especially fast, as tatjana noted.

the ground-level patio off the living room is great for relaxing by the garden. it has another dining table w/ four chairs, lounge furniture, and a ceiling fan.

at first i was worried casa tortuga wasn't close enough to the center of puerto ayora, but it was just right while far enough away from the busier streets but still easily walkable (commerce, dock, and a great grocery store are about 500 meters away). tatjana's binder of info re: the property and puerto ayora (in english and spanish) was helpful.

i'm hard-pressed to think of anything critical to say about the property. if pressed, my only heads-up for super light sleepers is to consider bringing ear plugs since the building's roof is metal, which can make small things like rain or seeds and leaves blowing off the trees audible. that said, my light-sleeping wife had no issues once she had ear plugs in.

overall, we couldn't have been happier. thanks, tatjana!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you for your detailed review, I really appreciate you taking the time to write feedback and so happy to hear that you enjoyed the house and the gardens. All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylKai...
Albany, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property and very comfortable”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Tatjana was extremely accommodating and helpful. The property was clean and spacious and had very nice amenities -- like a king sized bed, big fridge, nice kitchen, washer/dryer, nice shower with hot water, and bottled water. It was very homey and we loved the welcome wagon -- which was a super friendly and sweet small flock of chickens in the yard. The porch overlooked a well-appointed garden and we were within walking distance of everything. We enjoyed the property so much that we gave contact information to another traveler we met while we were there so when they come back, they can stay. Thanks Tatjana! We had a wonderful week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot water in the shower, king size bed, bottled water in the kitchen, proximity to town
Liked least: there were quite a few ants in the house, but we are backed up to a park
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the homeliness of this house, that is something that we have been working towards. We want you to feel this is your home away from home :
Glad you met the resident flock of wild chickens - we still don't know how they arrived or came to call our yard their home :)
Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing