We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Castro - Avoid”
Review of Hotel Castro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Castro
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Reviewed 22 May 2017

If you like having termite eggs above you bed, and wood chips falling on your face as you sleep, for the affordable cost of $150.00 a night, Hotel Castro is the place for you. With wasp nests, beetles, minimal wifi (none), no hot water, and ants in the rooms, this has been the WORST hotel experience I have ever had. The breakfast made me so sick that I threw up, and the broken toilets the wouldn't flush it down. The location is the ONLY benefit to this hotel, and if you speak Spainsh, perhaps the staff would be friendly. I moved my room THREE times because each room had something absolutely unsanitary about it. I would post picture of the bugs, but the Wifi is so awful here, I can't. DO NOT GO.

Room Tip: Unsanitary and expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2017

Hotel price was more than 100$ per night witch in my opinion is not normal for this hotel . We ordered romantic surprise , we never saw it . (paid 110$) and never got that money back. Room was horrible, big hole in wall next to A/C , dirty floor, dirty bathroom, to have warm water need to wait at least 10 minutes,On the wall was a spider web. They charge 10% of service - but to be honest there is no any service, because girl who sits in reception can speak only spanish, no one who can help you with bags. There is no room service or something similar. When we wanted to speak to hotel owner what solutions we can have - she answered really rude and didn't wanted to help at all. Right now (after trip to galapagos ) trying to contact owner to get money back about this romantic surprise and she never pick up the call. Anyways really disappointed .

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cv O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcastro2014, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Castro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Sir Dario,
Thank you for you feedback dear Sir. Whatever you paid was what you bought We adjusted the price for the room. Your reservation was for 10 days and you decided to leave before and We did not charge you for anything extra even tho the cancellation police was very clear .Very sorry to read your negative comments .We really work hard in our hotel. Best Regards.
Cancellation Policy
The guest will be charged 50% of the total price if they cancel after reservation and the total price if they cancel in the 30 days before arrival.
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

The hotel and the interior is very old fashioned. The technical stardards are not very good (open elecrical clamp boxes, holes in the wall at the A/C). The bed and the bath room was clean, but the floor was not. The personnel there is very friendly but not speaking english. The pool is ok, but does really not look like on the photos (as the rest of the hotel).

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario_BusinessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

we only needed to stay here for one night thankfully. For the price it is very very tired and dated. It appears to have been last decorated somewhere in the 1980's but that is only our guess. Even the AC unit came off the ark!

We had room 16 on the first floor and the wifi was hit and miss here

The room was clean and so was the bedding.

The beds were a little hard for my personal taste but i understand some people like them hard.

The bathroom was definitely a throw back from the 70's or 80's (think avocado suite) but the shower did have plenty of hot water.

The staff were lovely though and they really were the only redeeming feature of this hotel. They were very sweet and very helpful.

Breakfast was ok also with nice fresh bread but the dining room is a very depressing place to sit and eat.

If this hotel was updated it would be great as it is in the perfect location, as it stands I think it is very over priced and you could get better

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

This hotel is close to the harbour and the shops, a/c and hot water. But it is a very tired hotel and in desperate need of updating.

It's a quite area of town, and the staff are helpful and friendly.

There are plenty of other hotels for this price in the local area.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Bryan_Jody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
0 km away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#22 of 25 in Santa Cruz
43 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#13 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
98 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
Galapagos Tortuga Bay
#16 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
13 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#12 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
203 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Red Booby
Hotel Red Booby
#19 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castro

Address: Los Colonos Barrios Las Ninfas, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: €41 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castro 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castro Galapagos is located right in the center of Puerto Ayora - Santa Cruz Island most of our rooms have Bay view. Hotel Castro Galapagos offers 21 rooms for our guest. Single Rooms - Double Rooms - Twin Rooms - Triple Rooms - Quadruple Rooms or Family Rooms. Amenities : TV Cable, A/c, cold / hot water and WiFi. Swimming pool open all year round. Visit Galapagos Islands and OUR Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Castro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castro Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing