We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise on earth”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cactuspad

Hammocks on the decking - a great way to relax and watch the changing colours at dawn and dusk!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hammocks on the decking - a great way to relax and watch the changing colours at dawn and dusk!
The Great Room - heart of the house! The Master Bedroom, with it's private balcony and upstairs terrace!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Hammocks on the decking - a great way to relax and watch the changing colours at dawn and dusk!
The Great Room - heart of the house!
The Master Bedroom, with it's private balcony and upstairs terrace!
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom's private balcony
Upstairs hallway!
Children's bedroom #1
Children's bedroom #1
Childrens room with stairs to loft bed
Childrens room with stairs to loft bed
Childrens room with stairs to loft bed
Loft bed
Upstairs bathroom
Upstairs bathroom
Upstairs bathroom
Downstairs guest room with double bed
Downstairs toilet/bathroom
Downstairs toilet/bathroom
Main central stairwell
The Great Room
The Great Room
The Great Room
Great Room
The custom made kitchen
Dining area in the kitchen
Fresh water and dry cupboard
Microwave and other appliances
Outdoor dining area
Outdoor dining area
Barbeque
The decking for hammocks.
View from the terrace!
The Cactuspad within Puerto Ayora!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
pocketjen
airmont, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We can't say enough wonderful things about our stay at The Cactuspad while on Santa Cruz. Why stay in a hotel when you can have a whole house to yourself and still feel like you don't have to lift a finger? While the house was more than we needed for just the two of us, it was beautifully kept, relaxing, and a short walk from the main part of town. Paul the owner took care of most of our tour arrangements during our stay, and made sure we had everything we could possibly need. I could not recommend The Cactuspad enough to anyone looking to spend time in the Galapagos - it only made our trip of a lifetime even better!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Reviewed 11 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kali75
St. Pete, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Affordable, comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 2 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in the Galapagos, in large part due to the fact that we stayed at this property. It was a short walk to town, so everything was accessible. The house was tucked away for peaceful downtime between tours with all of the comforts of home - and hammocks, too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: private, quiet location
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHtrailrn...
Wolfeboro, NH
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great option for staying in the Galapagos”
Reviewed 28 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011
5
people found this review helpful

I am so very pleased we chose to stay here. Firstly, the house is larger than it appears in the photos. It is in a residential neighborhood about a 5 minute walk to Ave. Charles Darwin, but it is nice to be away from the noise and crowds. If you don't like to walk, taxis are everywhere and cheap. I can't imagine ever having to wait more than 60 seconds to grab a cab within this town. The house has all the needed comforts of home, except for air conditioning and laundry. In addition to 3 comfortable bedrooms, was a kitchen and dining area and a spacious living room. A couple of outdoor porches were a treat, and the surrounding wall and gardens lent a definite air of privacy and security. We were able to walk everywhere in town from this location, yet were far enough away from the hustle and bustle. The staff cleans the house on a daily basis, and is available for laundry and shopping should you desire (there may be an extra charge) . We were able to arrange day trips from here to all of the usual sites, and we found this far preferable to staying on a cruise boat for our vacation. The vacation exceeded all of our expectations.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morningst...
Laguna Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet location”
Reviewed 1 March 2011 for a stay in January 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the Cactus Pad with my family for 5 days. Our plane was delayed but Maria, the caretaker still met us at the house upon our arrival. The home was clean and quiet. We were about a 10 minute walk to town and close to the Darwin Center. I have vacation rentals of my own and am particular when staying in others as not all owners keep their homes clean and in good repair. This home is well cared for. We had a great visit there and recommend this home to others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing