We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy rooms, good view, friendly staff, and lots of amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfy rooms, good view, friendly staff, and lots of amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed here on a recent trip to Santa Cruz as part of a package deal. For that reason I can't discuss the price but I can discuss the hotel itself.

The positives:

I've stayed at several hotels on the islands and I found this one to be particularly nice. The rooms are comfortable with soft beds and nice pillows. There was a TV in our room as well as a large closet. We had a private bathroom with a hot shower (complete with good water pressure). The window didn't open but when we walked outside we had a view of the ocean and could hear the waves crashing at night (we were on the second floor).

The walk to town took about 2min - an ideal spot for easy access to shopping, the pier, and some nearby beaches. From the hotel it took about 25min (walking) to reach the Charles Darwin Research Station and 40min to reach Tortuga Bay.

The staff was very friendly and courteous. There was a pool in the lobby and an additional one around the side. Though I spent my time in the ocean I heard the water was nice. There was also an area with a pool table which helped to pass the evenings and well as chairs on the balcony where you could relax or read.

The negatives:

We did have a roach in our room. It didn't bother us too much and that's not entirely unexpected for the islands. I don't know of others had this problem but it wasn't a huge deal. The cleaning staff also seemed very thorough - we only saw it our first two nights of a four night stay.

The area right outside the hotel has a bit of an unpleasant smell. There are actually a few places on the island with this issue so again, not a huge deal.

Lastly, the internet is very slow. Early in the morning or late at night is best but you may need to go to an internet cafe (Galapagos Online just 3min away on the boardwalk worked great) if you need to download files, Skype, or sometimes even to check email.

Overall:

Really enjoyed my stay and would return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean if you don't mind hearing the waves. There aren't el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Limegreenpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    42
    58
    11
    15
See reviews for
28
42
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We didn't enjoy our stay at the hotel at all. Especially not for that price. The swimming pool was filthy as well as the rooms. The included breakfast was a joke and the staff was neither helpful nor friendly.
The only good thing about the hotel is its location and the view over the harbor. We checked out after three nights to move into another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfarolillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed four days in Galapagos islands. The Island itself is great, wow, amazing.

The hotel is located near the sea, which is great. you can go on the rocky beach and see a lots of craps and marine iguanas.

Cleanliness in the hotel is OK and the service is fine. We had a package deal with breakfast and dinners, but meals didn't have the value nor the taste... So after first day we went out for supper.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemmo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Very good location, terrible rooms, bad food, if you can spend 100usd more go to another hotel do not choose Lobo de Mar

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Liars and Thieves……I can’t stand them. I accidently forgot to take my charging cell phone when I left the room.
I went back for it and the front desk person told me it’s too late you already check out. I said it doesn’t matter it is still my phone.
I asked to go back to the room and look with the worker who cleaned the room. He said he didn’t see my phone.
The customer service was lousy, the food sucked and the rooms were awful, dirty, and overpriced.
The odor was terrible...it was a bad experience and don’t really want to think about it.
I would not recommend the hotel. Grand it was not! Never stay there.
Yuck!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gobengo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#10 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
12.6 km away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#11 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 km away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Castro
Hotel Castro
#19 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar

Property: Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar
Address: Galapagos Islands | 12 de Febrero y Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Puerto Ayora
Grand Hotel Lobo De Mar Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing