We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel if you're just looking for somewhere to sleep after a night of partying, close to the boardwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This small hotel serves its purpose if you're looking for somewhere to lay your head after a night of partying. It's walking distance to the Tropicana. The parking lot is across the street right next to a sketchy motel that looks like a relic from the late 70's it's called The Fox Motel ., but it could pass for The Bates Motel , from the Alfred Hitchcock series. EVERYONE and EVERYTHING you can muster IS hanging outside. As far as the actual hotel ., VERY friendly staff , however is NOT clean ., and its dated. The breakfast was mediocre(at best)., but the coffee, juices , teas, waffle maker and yogurt are ok.,they have knock off English muffins you should drink water when eating them. The staff came to my room to clean and make my bed., and the sheets they replaced the old ones with were sketchy because they were dirty . I spoke with the staff about it and she said it was nail polish., on the newer/cleaner sheets .., I maintained that I wanted a newer/ cleaner set without what ever stain that was. Then about 30 minutes later another staff member changed my sheets to clean ones. As another reviewer stated there are flying gnats or little flies there as well. Again , this place serves its purpose as somewhere to lay after hanging up past 4:00am in Tropicana .

Room Tip: Any room is good if you were out partying.., it's a small hotel. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sivonne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

Small rooms, need updates, but you are paying for the location. However, NOT clean. They did not wipe anything down before we arrives. There were even rings of sugar on the dresser from the previous coffee drinkers...or maybe the ones before them. We cleaned ourselves, but they didn't wipe anything down our second day either. An extra person was an additional $20 which in itself is fine, but our friend couldn't put it on her credit card? It's a WYNDHAM hotel and the front desk says cash only for that and parking? hmm... Totally sketchy. The waffles are good, but be careful selecting your breakfast table. We could not believe how badly stained all the chairs are. Rent a steam cleaner for Pete's sake. The location cannot be beat, but we will walk a few more blocks next year and stay somewhere else for sure. All-in-all, we were quite surprised the Wyndham name is on the building.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrancineM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Location : The Tryp is located right next the Trop and the Boardwalk.
Room : spacious enough, fridge, microwave, flatscreen TV and a bathroom. The room was maintaned well and clean. WiFi availabe for free but shakey at best.
Breakfast : free and not even that bad, french toast, fruit, yoghurts etc.
Parking : 10$ a day, not that big of a deal. If you want a place where you to park for free, you need to get a place away from the boardwalk ( The Nugget for example )
Pricing : half of the Trop rooms..

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Costiaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank G1837MXjoannes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I decided to go to AC last minute and didn't want to pay in gold bars. TRYP by Wyndham was able to give us the bear essentials of what we need for the one night we stayed. Clean room. Quick and painless check in. Right next to Tropicana and the boardwalk. What more can you ask for.

The property aesthetic was average, nothing fancy but we weren't looking for that. Pretty much just a decent place to stay one night without spending too much money.

If you're in the same situation I would recommend this place!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JustinSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.4 km away
Showboat Hotel
Showboat Hotel
#14 of 49 in Atlantic City
285 reviews
1.1 km away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center Hotel
1.7 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
#16 of 49 in Atlantic City
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
1.9 km away
Courtyard Atlantic City
Courtyard Atlantic City
#10 of 49 in Atlantic City
785 reviews
1.1 km away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#6 of 49 in Atlantic City
9,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City

Address: 101 S Iowa Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6403 (Formerly Ascot Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range: €38 - €245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Motel Atlantic City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing