We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
98
58
17
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
58
17
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small breakfast is served walking distance arepas jorge fan cereal hammocks laundry carrera cop spanish
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We arrived with a big group and were originally told by phone that we would be put in three rooms but upon arrival were told we would have to pay extra unless we all shared their large room which we did. The hotel is centrally located but the street is dark and scarry at night and appeared to have many working girls down the street. The price of the hotel is significantly higher than the Lonely Planet quoted although I was using a 2006 edition. After two nights stay we were hit for approximately $60 more because we were told we had two more people than originally counted. In short, not worth the price especially if traveling with a larger group.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ddh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed with the very friendly, effective and strong team at the Hotel NG. It was extremely well maintained, nicely proportioned rooms, very clean, great breakfast, had two cups of coffee. The relaxed and focused efficiency of our concierge Jorge was to 5-star standards at a 1-star price!

Room Tip: A/C is worth it in very very humid and hot Santa M
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Hotel Nueva Granada is the perfect place to stay in Santa Marta if you are looking for relaxation. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It is close to the beaches, restaurants and shopping. It is an old building with an inside garden,that gives you a nice feeling every morning when you wake up with the sounds of the birds. Breakfast is included and served in the garden. Javier and Jorge are a wealth of information about Santa Marta its surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genesis005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

The Nueva Granada was a great place to stay. It has professional staff, excellent standards in the hotel and the breakfast was very tasty. In a place where the humidity can soar up to 99%, the little plunge pool was a welcome relief.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justmovingthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

In a city like Santa Marta with lot of poverty and dirt, we found that we needed a good, clean base to come 'home' to. Hotel Nueva Granada met our needs. Clean, quiet, free internet (3 quite fast computers), good breakfast and most of all: very friendly staff and owner. We felt very very welcome. Gracias y atentamente a Nueva Granada!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank AnaMaria76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews