We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than happy”
Review of Decameron Galeon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Decameron Galeon
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Well day 1 at the Decameron, very little is explained at the front desk about instructions of what to do, probably because it is so busy, employ more staff and have more than 2 people checking in the guests, long queues in 30 plus degrees is rather annoying and not pleasant, explain where to go for lunch and that there is more than just one place. You pay a lot of money for the Hotel, and to go to the restaurant which is jam packed , and then be told you have to share tables with people you have never met before, when all you want to do is have your privacy is not high class hotel style, its a holiday camp for kids.. There are not enough bell boys, and to have to wait 30 minutes on one in 30 degree plus heat to get your bags to the rooms is also a result of not enough staff and too many guests. When you pay for a hotel which boasts wifi , you actually expect it to work, which it does not, as they are quite well aware, also the signal for connection of phones is poor. The Rancho Steak House a restaurant within the complex would be the worst run I have been in in many years of travelling. We were first to enter the restaurant, first to order, but then watched 8 people beside the kitchen get served, and after the two nearest us got their meal, and we had been waiting 30 minutes, Steak and my wifes chicken are not a 30 minute cook job, I complained where was our meal, within 1 minute it turned up, LUKEWARM, it had been sitting getting cold in the kitchen, no apology was received , would have at least made up for the mistake. So we went to the beach, beautiful private beach, a real highlight, swam most of the day, by now we had the run of how things worked and where to go for breakfast lunch and supper, and so we go up to the room for a nice refreshing shower to have a few drinks before supper. No water. Call the front desk. One of the pipes have burst, give us 15 minutes and it will be fixed. 1 and a half hours later, and all the kids screaming Agua agua agua, And this is supposed to be a high class hotel resort. Not a great start huh. Thankfully we were introduced to the Italian Restaurant, the staff were magnificent there and were very couteous and very helpful. A word to the staff and management, you run a huge resort and to have a rule that men must dress for supper and should wear TShirt not a singlet or sleeveless shirt is sexist to say the least, I saw women allowed to enter the restaurant wearing the same over a bikini top , and 100 % of the women were wearing sleeveless tops or singlets. Not a good practice to insist men have to dress differently, change it, or you might receive more than 1 complaint Next day we went on an excursion which was from 1:00pm till 5:15 pm , on arrival back we realized there were no available snacks, past the time, and we were booked for 8.30 meal for supper. We asked several staff if there was anywhere we could get something to eat within the complex, they all told us no. Knowing what is in your resort complex should be elementary, and the fact that your souvenir shop, which we found out the very next day sold crisps, chocolate bars and ice creams to name a few, had food and we had to wait for 3 hours tilll supper really is unacceptable. I totally would not recommend this place if you want to go as a couple, the place was full of kids, not that it is a problem, but it certainly does not allow for much privacy, and the ones there were under little to no supervision, banging on doors of people at 4:00 am in the morning, considering they were under age minors what the helll were they up partying at that time. Did not enjoy the stay and will not be going back to the Decameron.

Room Tip: Dont go to the Decameron
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwipaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2015

Fun place! My family wants to return! Had a nice beach, family entertainment, and pools. The restaurants were nice and the bars served good drinks. I love the all inclusive packages. It was definitely worth it. The only bad thing was it said the water was not potable, but they provided fresh drinking water in every room. Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bobby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Was here from may 17-20th. My husband, in laws, grandma, cousins, & my mom, a group of 13 in total. It was great. Very clean. Food was good too.

Side note: One night we all went to the club, it was empty but since we were a large group we had fun either way.
As a large family trip it's great, as a couples or singles spot I can see it being a different experience.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Tati A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Location is about 45 minutes from downtown Santa Marta and also far from Rodadero Beach. Rooms are comfortable larger than expected and clean. Rooms are maintained daily and bathrooms are always extremely clean. The hotel provides a large bottle of water every day. Rooms come without refrigerator, but you can request one if desired.

The food is good with lots of variety. There are several restaurants that you can choose from every day for dinner, but reservations have to be made in person at 6:30 am at the Lobby for that evening which is inconvenient. The best restaurant in my opinion was the Rococo with Seafood.

Decameron Galeon has entertainment nightly on the terrace and on the beach.... all very good. The gym is limited (mini gym) it is open from 8am until 5pm. A lot of people exercise before and after hours. Also no attendant is onsite, if one is to use the bathroom, you have to leave the gym and when you return you need to look for the attendant in one of the kiosks.

The unlimited beverages is someone limited.... after 2 drinks of wine (about 2 oz) at the restaurants at nights, there is no more availability. Also, the drinks in general
(4 oz) where the glass is half filled with ice, the drinks are watery and constantly requiring you to go back and wait for your turn. Good thing to order is the BEER!

The showers on the beach could be located near the ramp as you wash yourself and end up walking on the sand, therefore, carrying sand with you to the room.
Although Decameron Galeon is located on the beach, you need to walk approximately 2 blocks from your room to the water either by stairs or ramp.

The personnel are friendly and helpful... The hotel has a rating 3 and I believe is in general a good hotel for the price with these accommodations.

Wifi is not free and even when you pay, you can only use it by the Lobby area.

The Safe doesn't come with the room, you are charged Col$6,000 NOT US$6.00 as previously noted by someone.

Shuttle bus was great on the arrival and departure times.

We took a site trip to Tayrona Park arranged by Decameron. We had an excellent trip with our tour guide Carlos Alberto.. Very knowledgeable and interested in providing assistance to the whole group.

Overall, it was a good experience and recommend Carlos Alberto as your tour guide.

This concludes my review for a first time at Decameron Galeon, Santa Marta
Visited with a group of 11 from April 8th thru April 13th, 2015.

Room Tip: No need to pay for Wifi since its not available throughout, BUT please get the Safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MyriamFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014 via mobile

It has all that is offered in the plan. Food, drinks, pool, beach... But the quality is not great. They are more interested in having a full hotel 24/7 than on making it great. It's an average hotel in which you can be ok but if you can afford a better option I highly recommend you to choose a better place to spend your vacations

Stayed: December 2014
2  Thank Juan Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
5.6 km away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#12 of 69 in Santa Marta
1,643 reviews
5.8 km away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#56 of 69 in Santa Marta
163 reviews
12.1 km away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#5 of 69 in Santa Marta
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#44 of 69 in Santa Marta
65 reviews
11.4 km away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#31 of 69 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
17.2 km away
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Hospederia Casa Familiar
#41 of 69 in Santa Marta
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Galeon

Address: Km 17 via a Cienaga, Santa Marta, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: €173 - €320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Galeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complete resort is located on the shores of one of the most tranquil beaches bordering the majestic Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta, with more than 200 meters of coastal property, villas, a convention center and an enormous tower with privileged views of the Caribbean Sea. The property is located 20 minutes from Santa Marta, one of the oldest cities of America, known as the ‘Most beautiful bay of the continent’, as a result of the exuberant post card that combines a coastal area and a mountain range 5,775 meters above sea level, making it the tallest mountainous littoral formation in the world. From our resort you will be able to visit this tourism area’s main attractions, such as the historic and cultural center of Santa Marta, the ‘Quinta de San Pedro Alejandrino’, final resting place of Simon Bolivar, and the Aquarium and Sea Museum that house diverse marine fauna specimens and host dolphin shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Decameron Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Galeon Santa Marta
Decameron Santa Marta
Decameron Galeon Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing