We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveller rating
267
329
185
57
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
329
185
57
41
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 879 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Fun place! My family wants to return! Had a nice beach, family entertainment, and pools. The restaurants were nice and the bars served good drinks. I love the all inclusive packages. It was definitely worth it. The only bad thing was it said the water was not potable, but they provided fresh drinking water in every room. Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bobby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Was here from may 17-20th. My husband, in laws, grandma, cousins, & my mom, a group of 13 in total. It was great. Very clean. Food was good too.

Side note: One night we all went to the club, it was empty but since we were a large group we had fun either way.
As a large family trip it's great, as a couples or singles spot I can see it being a different experience.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Tati A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Location is about 45 minutes from downtown Santa Marta and also far from Rodadero Beach. Rooms are comfortable larger than expected and clean. Rooms are maintained daily and bathrooms are always extremely clean. The hotel provides a large bottle of water every day. Rooms come without refrigerator, but you can request one if desired.

The food is good with lots of variety. There are several restaurants that you can choose from every day for dinner, but reservations have to be made in person at 6:30 am at the Lobby for that evening which is inconvenient. The best restaurant in my opinion was the Rococo with Seafood.

Decameron Galeon has entertainment nightly on the terrace and on the beach.... all very good. The gym is limited (mini gym) it is open from 8am until 5pm. A lot of people exercise before and after hours. Also no attendant is onsite, if one is to use the bathroom, you have to leave the gym and when you return you need to look for the attendant in one of the kiosks.

The unlimited beverages is someone limited.... after 2 drinks of wine (about 2 oz) at the restaurants at nights, there is no more availability. Also, the drinks in general
(4 oz) where the glass is half filled with ice, the drinks are watery and constantly requiring you to go back and wait for your turn. Good thing to order is the BEER!

The showers on the beach could be located near the ramp as you wash yourself and end up walking on the sand, therefore, carrying sand with you to the room.
Although Decameron Galeon is located on the beach, you need to walk approximately 2 blocks from your room to the water either by stairs or ramp.

The personnel are friendly and helpful... The hotel has a rating 3 and I believe is in general a good hotel for the price with these accommodations.

Wifi is not free and even when you pay, you can only use it by the Lobby area.

The Safe doesn't come with the room, you are charged Col$6,000 NOT US$6.00 as previously noted by someone.

Shuttle bus was great on the arrival and departure times.

We took a site trip to Tayrona Park arranged by Decameron. We had an excellent trip with our tour guide Carlos Alberto.. Very knowledgeable and interested in providing assistance to the whole group.

Overall, it was a good experience and recommend Carlos Alberto as your tour guide.

This concludes my review for a first time at Decameron Galeon, Santa Marta
Visited with a group of 11 from April 8th thru April 13th, 2015.

Room Tip: No need to pay for Wifi since its not available throughout, BUT please get the Safe!
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MyriamFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014 via mobile

It has all that is offered in the plan. Food, drinks, pool, beach... But the quality is not great. They are more interested in having a full hotel 24/7 than on making it great. It's an average hotel in which you can be ok but if you can afford a better option I highly recommend you to choose a better place to spend your vacations

Stayed: December 2014
2  Thank Juan Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2014

When my girlfriend and I got this "all inclusive" hotel, we discovered that it wasn't all inclusive at all. They charged us extra for the safe, a daily fee of $6.00, which I agree, is a low amount, but still felt ridiculous and inconvenient given their "All inclusive" advertisement. If we wanted internet service, that was another $6.00 for 30 min and it only worked at the lobby. When we got there it was already passed lunch time, we asked where we could get some food, we had been traveling from city to city that morning without any time to eat, we were told we had to wait until 8:30 pm for dinner, and this was around 3 pm. We had to carry our own bags up a little hill so the bellboy could put them in the elevator. The maintenance crew was working on one of the elevators every day during our stay there and the noise started really early every morning. The elevators were so small that only 5 people could fit, and even though we were on the 10th floor we still avoided them for being overcrowded every time. The room we stayed in was dirty as if no one had ever cleaned them since the hotel was built. There was sand and hair between the covers and the sheets were stained, no light in the bathroom and the water in the room looked like it was coming out of a puddle. There was no minifridge in the room and they wouldn't let us take any drinks from the restaurants, unless we bought them at the store in the lobby, something else not included. They didn't have 24 hours service even though this hotel is in the middle of nowhere and there is no other place you can go to get any service near by. The dinner reservations were made at the lobby, the girl was rude with extra sarcastic on the side, almost like every other girl at the front desk. When we showed up for dinner the first night, we were told we had to share our table with other guests since the girl making the reservations didn't put us down for a table for 2. After politely declining to share a dinner table with strangers, the host yelled at us, in an effort to make it clear for the other guests as well, that if we didn't like sharing, to then say so at the reservation desk next time. We did just that the following day at the reservation desk, and the girl said that there was nothing she could do, that we had to let the host know of our preferences. That night another guest went off at the host, the guy was just plain rude with everyone. The food was not good, lunch was buffet style but dinner was a la carte and in small portions, we were hungry every night. There were promoters chasing people down at every corner all day long, trying to sell packages for the next Decameron experience. It got to a point where they got annoying, they would interrupt conversations/dinner so just they could convince you into buying your next vacation. It was border line harassment and the hotel let them bother the guests, we had to hide from them and literally run away when they got close. We finally decided to end our suffering and pay an extra $200.00 to change our flights a day sooner. We didn't even try to get a refund for leaving early and every night was over $200.00. Nedless to say, we DO NOT recommend this hotel to anybody and won't ever come back to this hell whole. They should take the Decameron name down, they are making all other Decameron's look bad, specially Decameron Isleño in San Andres, Colombia, where they make you feel like you own the place.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank JuanFCorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews