We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
59
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at La Bonita. The location (at a small river with waterfalls, between mango trees) feels like paradise. Also the fantastic food made by owner Gabriel is more than worth the trip! From Santa Marta you can take a 10 min taxi to Bonda, from there you take a 15 min ride with a mototaxi (very safe!)

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Silvan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

This place is truely wonderful - untouched nature. The fact that there is no wifi actually just suits the location and helps to unwind.

Amazing food and a very personal care by the owner, Gabriel.

Go there if you want to rellay relax and be away from tourists hustle & bustel.

To get there is not an easy busride but a moto taxi adventure. Drivers are very save though and it keeps the masses away.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank deMaxli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

We honestly cannot recommend this place highly enough! Everything about it was wonderful and it was certainly a major highlight of our trip to Colombia. The hosts, Aurélie & Gabriel, were fantastic! The grounds are incredibly gorgeous and well kept with a river running through them--there's no place better to unwind and be one with nature. There is so much to explore within walking distance nearby: organic cacao farm, waterfalls, not to mention all the beautiful jungle surroundings you can hike through. The meals were delicious feasts made with fresh & locally sourced ingredients. I only wish we could have stayed longer (big regret)!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank SKurth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

La Bonita Ecolodge is a lovely property located approximately 15km from Santa Marta in north-eastern Colombia, an easy and fun bus/taxi/moto ride.

Once arrived, you have entered the most beautiful ecolodge in the area.
La Bonita is set in a stunning natural surrounding, in a kind of jungle-forest (bamboo, caoba trees, flowers, and an orchard with wonderful tropical fruit. A river runs thru the property flowing downhill from the Sierra Nevada (at 5700m above sea level). This creates a fast-moving stream with waterfalls, pools for swimming or just cooling off and the greatest boulders for climbing. It is a truly remarkable and unique area.

I stayed at la Bonita for 6 days and was amazed by the number of guests who would arrive for a day and stay for 3-4. People just can’t leave an area so lovely and so relaxing.

The accommodations are comfortable and well-priced, the hammocks and areas to relax, enticing. Lovely pool for dipping.

La Bonita is the inspiration of Gabriel and his wife, Aurélie who are the most charming and welcoming hosts. Both are very knowledgeable about the area, including activities, treks and interesting sites to visit. They give freely of their time and ensure that all guests feel at home.

My meals were taken at Bonita. The keyword for the meals is fresh – all the juices fresh from their orchard, they bake their own bread and Gabriel (the owner) is a great cook, as able to do Colombian as International cuisine. He usually consults his guest on the menu to ensure that the culinary experience is memorable.

This was a highlight of my trip to Colombia and I cannot recommend a visit too highly.

P.S. And their daughter, Sameya, is a delight!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
3  Thank Pat067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015

this place is amazing. The food is 5 star and ranks with the best restaurants in the world. It is a quiet quaint oasis for rest and rejuvenation. The hosts Gabriel and Aurelie are very gracious and helpful. There are nice hikes in the area as well. I can't recommend La Bonita any higher. The best place to stay in Colombia.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews