We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
469
131
36
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
131
36
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstayrona parklost cityair connice poolhuge supermarkettv areaon site restaurantbig kitchengreat atmospherebig lockersbed dormsouth americaexito supermarketciudad perdidaprivate rooms arecommon areasrecommend this place
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here a total of 3 nights between our trek to the Lost City. It's hot so book an air conditioned room. The pool is so lovely, the bar has a happy hour between 6-9pm where you can get 2 for 1 cocktails and the beer is well priced. There are a few bars and restaurants nearby but honestly everything you need is at the Dreamer - breakfast $11,000 pesos and free coffee all day. The restaurant for lunch/dinner is top notch, excellent food. Local huge supermarket is a 5 minute walk.

It's not located in Santa Marta central, a taxi to centre should cost about $7,000COP but ideal for a Base yo explore the area.

They kept our bags while we trekked for free.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hannahbanana_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, General Manager at The Dreamer Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Hannah, we're happy you enjoyed your stay here in Santa Marta! We love being a base-camp for travelers on the Lost City Trek. Some say it's better than Machu Pichu.. we clearly have our opinions :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Unless you really want to go out in Santa Marta without having to take the taxi, this place is for you. Really good vibe and like the best staff of hostel ever. The pool is nice and the facilities are good but what steal the show: THE FOOD.

This place is owned by Italian and the pastas/pizzas are incredible. More expensive from what you can get closer to the hostel but the price is really decent VS the quality food. Didn't remember when was the last time I had good pastas like this!

Room Tip: Choose one with AC
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HuguesLavergne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, General Manager at The Dreamer Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Hugues, delighted to hear you enjoyed our kitchen!! We take a lot of pride in the menu, especially the Italian options!! Our Italian owners bring the recipes directly from their homeland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and went to Tayrona for two nights. They let us leave our big bags here for 3 days at no charge and remembered us when we got back.

Stayed in their sister hostel in Palomino. Make sure you bring cash. Can’t get it anywhere

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, General Manager at The Dreamer Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Hey Tom, hope the rest of your travels through Colombia were great! We appreciate the review here :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the dreamer hostel of Santa Marta and at their other hostel in Palomino. Each hostel 2 night. A lot of facilities and great help when we needed it. We Would absolutely recommend it to anyone Who Would ask us!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank chriswolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, General Manager at The Dreamer Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Chris, thanks for your recommendation! We're delighted you were able to stay at both the Dreamer properties. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

I stayed for a night at The Dreamer and it was fun. Having been travelling through Colombia I have to say that this is the only party hostel I've stayed at. It is a bit far from the centre of Santa Marta, but if you're going to Tayrona or the Northeast coast it will save you time in the city's traffic. The rooms are country/football themed and the dorm I stayed at had everything needed. The hostel has a chef preparing food, a pool and activities - there was Karaoke the night I stayed. They also organize trips to Tayrona and a pub crawl. It was a bit pricey for Colombia, but I guess the target audience aren't Colombians... I did, however, enjoy the pool!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank André S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, General Manager at The Dreamer Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

André, we're delighted you were able to visit us in Santa Marta! On another trip to the coast, we would love to show you our sister hostel in Palomino. If you visit, please write to us beforehand and we'll prepare a special gift. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews