We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casablanca is a place which is well worth visiting”
Review of Casablanca

Casablanca
Ranked #286 of 1,620 Restaurants in Medellin
Restaurant details
Reviewed 24 October 2018

Casablanca is a place which is well worth visiting. The service was great and the food was excellent.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018

I had the chicken breast and dessert. Both dishes were OK but nothing special. The restaurant has nice view.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Uliana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Nice restaurant with beautiful decoration. I like the picadillo appetizer. Steak was good but flavor could have been better. Not bad but not great. Live music.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank yeseniapisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I went with a group of four friends for steaks. The ride up the mountain had beautiful panoramic views of the valley below. The taxi ride cost around 19,000 pesos (7 dollars U.S.). The restaurant is above a large grocery store and has an interesting feature. In the middle is a large circular cut out over the supermarket.The middle of the cutout has a suspended floor with a large grand piano in the middle. I imagine that the shoppers can hear piano music when the piano is being played. The décor is casual and inviting. There is outdoor seating available. There is no heat, so bring a sweater or jacket if it is cool out. This restaurant is at a higher altitude than the city below and it may be cooler that you expect.
We decided on a delicious appetizer platter of mixed sliced Spanish cured ham, sliced sausages, salami, and cheeses. With fresh bread, some olive oil and balsamic vinegar dip for the bread, and a bottle of house wine the appetizer was good. Then, we ordered the carne mixta platter for four. It came with several cuts of beef, ribs, and little whole yellow potatoes common to the area. The steak cuts were cooked to perfection. We wanted medium rare, and the ordering method of 1/4 (rare), 1/2 (medium), and 3/4 (well done) didn't work. Rather than do the math and order the meat 3/8 we asked for 1/2 way between 1/4 and 1/2. It all came out perfect. The meat had great flavor and the chimichurri sauce made it even better. The whole meal for four with a bottle of wine cost us 197,000 pesos, or U.S. $69.00. Service was very good. We visited on a Sunday evening so the place was not crowded at all. There was no salad bar that night but we were not there for salad anyway. We were too full for desert. When we return to Medellin we will be back for more.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blindman20002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_carnescasablanca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias blindman20002000 por tu opinión. Nos alegra que hayan tenido esta agradable experiencia, y que hayan quedado satisfechos con nuestros espacios y nuestra comida. Nos gusta mucho conocer la opinión de nuestros clientes para seguir mejorando y prestarles el mejor servicio.
Los esperamos de nuevo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Casablanca is a great steak restaurant serving some of Medellin´s most affluent residents and sits up the hill near finca country. Its modern decor and great lighting adds to the ambiance. We tried the chicharron apetizer, a picada platter sharing two kinds of steak, ribs and pork, plus potatoes. The salad bar was excellent. A well priced bottle of a premium Malbec added to the occassion. I will return to try some of the other steaks on the menú. The service was impecable.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MedellinRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casablanca also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing