We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ribs in the world”
Review of Federal Ribs

Federal Ribs
Ranked #184 of 1,311 Restaurants in Medellin
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Federal Ribs is a dream, one that is born of the desire to provide our visitors Friends the best experience in terms of taste, atmosphere and service. Our dishes are inspired by the cuisine of the Southern United States and our specialty is ribs ... The important thing is not our secret recipe, unique sauces ... What matters is who we came from and what makes you happy Federal share. Federal believe in camaraderie. Believe on the experience and fraternity. Believe in the value of friendship and knows that happiness is only complete when shared.
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

If you want ribs......this is the place... just awesome. I like spicy so i order the Diablo.... its just awesome. The sides are great. And the best of all.... the attention. You will feel like home. Its in el lleras but not in the crouded side. You can spend a nice evening there. Its not too expensive. I ordered the complete rack and i couldnt finish it. I totally recommend it.

Thank camilo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hosting2014, Director General at Federal Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2015
Google Translation

Camilo, muchas gracias por tu opinión, bienvenido esta es tu casa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

This restaurant lives up to all the hype. I had the Ribs with the house Federal sauce. They were as authentic as any of the best rib houses in the US. They had 4 other sauce options. Will have to try when I go back. Each meal comes with 2 sides. I had the cole slaw which was very good as well and the fries. Great service and nice indoor/outdoor dining space. Don't miss this on your next visit to Medellin.

Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hosting2014, Propietario at Federal Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2015

Richard. thank you so much buddy. Best of luck and welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Even though it was a Monday and they're not on the Main Street (10B, not 10!), they had a few tables and a group of 15 locals coming in. We had a really nice chat with the friendly and very well English speaking waiter Alejandro, who we also asked for recommendations. The ribs were not that cheap but delicious and the sides were nice too! Definitely worth a visit.

Thank Ca87Ned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hosting2014, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Federal Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thanks for your review, We are glad to know you have enjoyed your visit. Best of luck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

if you are a homesick american like me, looking for a juicy bbq rack of ribs, this is the wrong place to go! i warn you, dont waiste your money.... the ribs are so dry and chewy they´re very hard to swallow, plus theres hardly any of that dry poorly seasoned meat on the bones, the cole slaw is just god awful and the mashed potatoes cannot be described in their horribleness, they used what they called a "BBQ de la casa" more like devil´s *ss juice if you ask me! if you want premium juicy meaty delicious ameracn food, Dogger Grill is your place to go! trust me i know what im saying its like a tgi Fridays, biig porcions good food and not as expensive as this place, you can get your moneys worth in dogger grill for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Genesis Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hosting2014, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Federal Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Hey buddy, we feel sorry for your experience, at this moment clients in Medellin love our ribs. We will continue working for giving a better service, best of luck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

My fourth visit. After trying their rum ribs decided to write this note. The Diablo ribs are deliciously spicy, the house ribs, the Federal is a good as it should be. Another choice laced with a coffee based sauce is a nice variation, but the rum ribs are the best. The drinks are good, the beer is cold and Juan gave us excellent service.
I'll be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hosting2014, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Federal Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

Hi Rafael, thanks for your review, We are glad to know you have enjoyed your visit. Best of luck and welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Federal Ribs also viewed

Itagui, Antioquia Department
Envigado, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to Federal Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing