We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent, value for bucks, city hotel”
Review of Botero Plaza Hotel

Botero Plaza Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Botero Plaza Hotel
Ranked #95 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

This is a bit of an old fashioned City hotel. A 10 story highrise with about 80 rooms, large lobby and reception area, adjacent to Botero square in dead center of Medellin.
Rooms come with own bathroom (hot and cold water), large flatscreen TV, wifi, telephone, airco and yep, even a fridge.
People at the reception are helpful so, all in all, great value for money!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Guido B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2016

This place is right next to the Plaza Botero which is rather downtown but very buzzy. The buses to the airport leave right next door to the hotel. It was simple, clean and good value. We were there twice over our visit

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank foxontherox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived by Autobus from Rio Negro airport in the late afternoon, about USD 5.00, only to find a VERY crowded neighborhood teeming with street vendors of cheap imports, dodgy looking characters, many downtrodden homeless, and minimally attired prostitutes (During The Afternoon!). The Autobus dropped us about 50 feet from the entrance of the hotel and we walked inside to be greeted by the nicest staff. Other reviewers are quite correct in that the hotel IS in need of an overall renovation although they are doing it piecemeal as they can. The room was clean and air conditioned (a blessing), but when we went out to walk around, we definitely got the idea that we were on observation. As a retired LEO, my Spidey-sense was tingling, and we spent what was left of daylight trying to look unobtrusive. Upon our return, we made plans to move to a less "crowded" location (more about that later). This hotel was about USD 50.00 per day, very fair except for the location. Breakfast was modest, but tasty and we set out just afterwards to another location. Again, great staff, but better for a younger crowd.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor, but the street noise still penetrated the closed windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NY-Hormiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The whole hotel's staff is really great and helped me a lot in everything I needed. A good location in the middle of Medellin's downtown, near of Plaza Botero, Palacio de la Cultura Rafael Uribe Uribe, and Museo de Antioquia. Moreover, you can go to a lot of interesting places by taxi paying about USD 7,00 or on foot walking only 15-20 minutes.
The hotel is really old, but if you are looking for saving money, enjoying the city, and think about staying in the hotel only to sleep, it's a good option.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Located very close to city center, Botero, muzeums and subway.
Looby is nice, but the rooms are old and needs restorations many years.
Price is good. Breakfast is very limited and the guy, responsible for it, is very greedy. You never get an extra coffee or extra juice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
4.4 km away
Hotel Conquistadores
Hotel Conquistadores
#56 of 111 in Medellin
48 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#80 of 111 in Medellin
1 reviews
5.7 km away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#6 of 111 in Medellin
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hotel 47 Medellin Street
Hotel 47 Medellin Street
#75 of 111 in Medellin
75 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Manzanares
Hotel Manzanares
#109 of 111 in Medellin
7 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel Gallery
Hotel Gallery
#101 of 111 in Medellin
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botero Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botero Plaza Hotel

Address: Carrera 50 # 53-45, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: €20 - €27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Botero Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Botero Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing