We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff but Interesting Location”
Review of Botero Plaza Hotel

Botero Plaza Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Botero Plaza Hotel
Ranked #99 of 112 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived by Autobus from Rio Negro airport in the late afternoon, about USD 5.00, only to find a VERY crowded neighborhood teeming with street vendors of cheap imports, dodgy looking characters, many downtrodden homeless, and minimally attired prostitutes (During The Afternoon!). The Autobus dropped us about 50 feet from the entrance of the hotel and we walked inside to be greeted by the nicest staff. Other reviewers are quite correct in that the hotel IS in need of an overall renovation although they are doing it piecemeal as they can. The room was clean and air conditioned (a blessing), but when we went out to walk around, we definitely got the idea that we were on observation. As a retired LEO, my Spidey-sense was tingling, and we spent what was left of daylight trying to look unobtrusive. Upon our return, we made plans to move to a less "crowded" location (more about that later). This hotel was about USD 50.00 per day, very fair except for the location. Breakfast was modest, but tasty and we set out just afterwards to another location. Again, great staff, but better for a younger crowd.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor, but the street noise still penetrated the closed windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NY-Hormiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

The whole hotel's staff is really great and helped me a lot in everything I needed. A good location in the middle of Medellin's downtown, near of Plaza Botero, Palacio de la Cultura Rafael Uribe Uribe, and Museo de Antioquia. Moreover, you can go to a lot of interesting places by taxi paying about USD 7,00 or on foot walking only 15-20 minutes.
The hotel is really old, but if you are looking for saving money, enjoying the city, and think about staying in the hotel only to sleep, it's a good option.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Located very close to city center, Botero, muzeums and subway.
Looby is nice, but the rooms are old and needs restorations many years.
Price is good. Breakfast is very limited and the guy, responsible for it, is very greedy. You never get an extra coffee or extra juice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This is an older hotel that has been renamed Botero Plaza and it looks like they are starting to renovate.
The best thing about the hotel is its location just behind the Nutibara Hotel and steps from the airport bus service (only about $7 to the airport). Its a 3 minute walk to the Botero Plaza and Museum in one direction and Plaza Bolivar/Cathedral/Pedestrian Shopping Street in the other. The street is rather quiet at night, but always felt safe.
The lobby is very large, comfortable and the front desk staff was excellent. Note that they do not speak much English or other languages - so if you know at least a little Spanish, you'll be fine.
Rooms are older, but bathrooms have been updated. Plenty of hot water. Biggest issue with this hotel is the bed. We were in a room with one double, one single bed and they were both hard as you can imagine. This is true of every hotel we stayed at in Colombia - extra firm seems to be the norm... but at the Botero Plaza, they were hard and thin - obviously in need of replacement. Hopefully, this will be fixed in the future and the hotel will be a great budget option. Prices here were about $100/night cheaper than in Poblano - so if you're an adventurous traveler and can deal with a hard bed this can be a great location. Walking on the streets felt secure even late. Lots of cultural activities - the Lido Theater has free events every day just a few blocks away. In general, we had a great stay... considering the cheap price, great location, nice staff and easy access to metro, museums and center city life. Not for timid tourists - but great for travelers. Note: Free internet only in lobby and second floor restaurant where they had great coffee every morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

This hotel is located in the center of Medeliin... within two blocks walking distance is the metro rail and you can use the Metro Rail to access other parts of the city and also both the bus stations... the hotel is great, the service is great, the restaurant is great. I do have to warn you that in this area there are a lot of people begging for money and you will see some poverty that you do not see in the United States. Spanish is VERY helpful here because no one speaks English here. If you know basic Spanish or you are fluent I would definitely recommend this hotel but if you do not know Spanish at all I would recommend staying in the Poblado section of Medellin... nicer but MORE MONEY... for the money, the location and easy transportation around the city I recommend this hotel Medellin is a great city.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FtLaudyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medellin hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Belen Plaza
Hotel Belen Plaza
#95 of 112 in Medellin
15 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel 47 Medellin Street
Hotel 47 Medellin Street
#78 of 112 in Medellin
77 reviews
1.1 km away
Portal del Rodeo Aparta Hotel
Portal del Rodeo Aparta Hotel
#63 of 112 in Medellin
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hotel Conquistadores
Hotel Conquistadores
#58 of 112 in Medellin
48 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel Gallery
Hotel Gallery
#89 of 112 in Medellin
22 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Manzanares
Hotel Manzanares
#109 of 112 in Medellin
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botero Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botero Plaza Hotel

Address: Carrera 50 # 53-45, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 112 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: €19 - €27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Botero Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Botero Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing