We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
33
61
23
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
61
23
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Not a bad stay at all. So here's the skinny:

This small hotel has only 7 rooms of all similar sizes so heavy foot traffic running through here is rare. I stayed in room 203. Rooms are ample size and well decorated. Hot/cold water with plenty of water pressure in the shower AC worked very well and was often welcome. Mattress is too soft and lacks support, but I got used to it. In-room safe and wifi router was right outside my door, so worked well. Fridge did the job in keeping drinks nice and cold.

TV channels are super weak, very little to offer. Breakfast is sorely lacking - cereal, arepa huevo, bread/toast. Lots to be desired there.

The building itself is functional and well located. Exito, restaurants and all sights are within easy walking distance. The terrace is kinda sad really. The "hot tub" was pretty scary, with a huge ball of black flies flying right above it. We skipped the whole terrace the entire week we were there.

Service was adequate. Eber the primary front desk guy, lacked much energy but was always willing to aid us and was nice and helpful. As far as the tours they offer, the people they work with outside of the hotel for tours are a joke. I would suggest that you look elsewhere when booking excursions. But that's just me and doesn't reflect directly against the hotel.

All in all I would stay here here again and suggest it to anybody.

Room Tip: RM 203 was good, away from foot traffic
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inspectorjavert70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2014

We went to Cartagena for a couple of days, the hotel is in the historic area of Cartagena, with many restaurants close by walking distance.
The rooms were clean and the staff was very kind. I'm vegan so breakfast was not that good, since most of the options included dairy, but still I would recommend it if you want to know the city and don't plan to stay all day in there. There's no pool or other attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dianalins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Great location. The best neighborhood in Cartagena (San Diego): near the center but not in the middle of the crowd. Near great restaurants and other good hotels.
Wifi only worked in the reception; no access available from bedroom. We had to go to the reception to connect. It would be great if the hotel had a swimming pool since the weather in Cartagena is too hot.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Casa abril is a nice and quiet place in El Centro Cartagena. It's close to bssicly everything in old town and you can walk anywhere. The inner yard is lovely and a good place to have breakfast.

The rooms are very clean, the bathroom is nothing special but spacious enough. The room has aircon, a fan, a safe and a tv.

If you dont speak spanish, dont go here. None of the personnel speaks any english and they dont even try to slow down their spanish so you can make an effort of communicating with them. Also if the breakfast wasnt free, it wasnt worth it.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Willem v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here 2 years ago and enjoyed it so much used same hotel for return visit. Now even better! Major refurbishment to the rooms with upgraded bathrooms, suoerb aircon, fridge with very reasonably priced minibar and cable TV. All rooms face into courtyard so very quiet with no traffic noise. Roof garden a fantastic place to go for a drink before dinner - take a bottle of excellent and very reasonably priced fizz from the minibar - enjoy the evening sea breeze that blows and soak up the fantastic views. Sunloungers and jacuzzi are available if you want to relax and bronze during the day. Staff are absolutely fantastic and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast is cereals, fruit and bread/rolls with either empanadas or cheese and meats - we found this perfect in the heat of the city, but don't expect bacon and eggs! Superbly situated with all the restaurants and bars right on your doorstep and a big supermarket 3 mins walk away. Prices in the minibar are virtually the same as buying in, so don't be afraid to use it. Best place to eat we found was El Bistro on Calle de Ayos - draught beer, superb food and excellent value. This hotel made out visit to the wonderful city of Cartegena - I could not have been more happy with it.

Room Tip: There are a couple on the ground floor which look straight into the courtyard where breakfast is served, so if you like lying in late you may be disturbed by other guests, but in our experience people who use this hotel are considerate of fellow travellers.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roobarbcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews