We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing oasis in the heart of the city”
Review of Casa Santa Ana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Santa Ana
Ranked #67 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The hotel is small and charming. Walking through the door you are greeted by the excellent, friendly staff as you enter a small hall opening onto an interior courtyard. It's your own little oasis in the middle of town. We were offered a drink and took the lemonade. Delicious! There is a sitting area and small restaurant on the first level where breakfast is served each morning. The food was terrific - a plentiful combination of fresh fruit and egg options that made for a perfect start before heading out touring. There is also a large room on the first floor in case you have a larger group or just want some extra space. Two smaller rooms are just up the stairs with a small rooftop pool and spa above them.
My family and I were in the larger room. It was spacious, but could get loud in the evening. The water pressure was poor, the internet signal was weak, and there was construction next door. All this said, though, our stay overall was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ward E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017

Clean, cool, well designed hotel right in the fun of Getsemeni - it's small pool area on the roof is perfect to avoid some mid day heat. Santa Ana is an ideal place to explore Cartagena and is only 10 mins walk from the Old City.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter and cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

We were so looking forward to staying at this hotel but on arrival we were told the hotel was full so we had to stay in the hotel next door which was 'the same standard'. We had no pre warning and the hotel was not the same standard yet we had to pay the same amount as Santa Ana. Management were rarely there so I couldn't discuss with anyone and despite an email privately since to express our disappointment, we've received no reply so I'm afraid it's a bad review from us. The hotel did seem lovely however in the lobby and location is great.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Maria and her staff made our stay exceptionally wonderful!!! Upon entering, we were greeted with delicious welcome drinks called Coco Lemonade. Quite, possibly the best drink I've ever had! We proceeded to our room, which was initially a queen size bed, although we requested twin size beds. The staff went out of their way to separate the mattresses to make twin beds. The facility was very modern, clean and intimate. All qualities I was looking for during my Cartagena stay. Every morning, we woke up to a delicious made to order breakfast! I enjoyed the various options, guests are offered. My only criticism of the my stay, is the rooftop pool not being as clean as it should. Perhaps, the hotel should clean it more often. In terms of hotel location, it was PERFECT! It's 10 minutes walk from the walled city and surrounded by a bunch of restaurants and bars. The popular Trinidad Plaza is a few steps away, where the neighborhood gathers to converse and listen to music. Overall, I would stay at Casa Santa Ana during my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

It is very small but the rooms were lovely. I saw 2 of the 5 rooms. Breakfast was excellent! The ladies helping during off hours speak little to no English and during the day Maria José took care of our needs. She helped us locate an eye doctor, found a guide for a city tour and helped us with transportation. Because our flight was delayed several hours they were unable to pick us up at the airport, however they provided the return to the airport instead. The location is, as other reviewers have mentioned, in Getsemani. Having 4 days in Cartagena, I might have selected a hotel closer to the historic center as we had to take cabs to return to our hotel at night. But cabs are very reasonable compared to those in the US.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 km away
Armeria Real Luxury Hotel & Spa
0 km away
Casa El Carretero
Casa El Carretero
#85 of 158 in Cartagena
308 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
#40 of 158 in Cartagena
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#17 of 158 in Cartagena
620 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#64 of 158 in Cartagena
503 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Santo Toribio
Hotel Santo Toribio
#98 of 158 in Cartagena
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Santa Ana

Address: EL Carretero | Calle 29 No. 10B-34, Cartagena 05, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#22 Spa Hotel in Cartagena
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range: €104 - €168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Santa Ana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Santa Ana is a tipical seventeenth century colonial house, located in the heart of getsemani, a central neighborhood of Cartagena de indias, every detail was restored preserving its original architecture, contrasting whit a contemporany decor convined whit handcrafted itemsand antiques. its a caribbean atmosphere where personal attention and confort will make you feel al home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santa Ana Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing