We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
23
6
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
6
4
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The best place we found on our 3-month trip across Colombia, Ecuador and Peru - a true home away from home. We intended to stay there 3 nights and ended up staying 10 days thanks to the Green Saman's extremely friendly personnel who caters to their guests' every wish and makes one feel welcome. The Green Saman was opened shortly before we arrived, so every small detail wasn't quite ironed out yet (no hot water in our room on the first night but that was fixed by the end of our stay).
The room was very comfortable, roomy and nicely designed, and the accommodation in general was more than a good value. Not to mention the amazing suite next to our room, a taste of luxury suitable for a backpacker's budget (too bad for us it was already booked).
The food is, however, the highlight of the place: excellent, well prepared, fresh and healthy. Plus you can get a chance to learn how to prepare traditional paella. The chef also has a good selection of wines.
The hostel garden is very calm and perfect for relaxing: there are hammocks in the shade of a mango tree, a nice pool, a sauna, a Turkish bath and cute dogs. Even though the city of Cali may not offer great sightseeing opportunities, the hostel staff makes up for it by organising interesting excursions almost every day.
Highly recommended! A place not to be missed if you pass by Cali!

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ranskiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

travellers. please they visit this huge hostel, is a wonderful place are words no to describe this house. the food is so rich, so healthy. that you do not want to eat by outside. the people who work there are as if they were part of your family. Joseph. he is the best one, to fraser the best one in the bar and very amiable. all are incredible small thanks to take care of to me better than in my own house.
thanks Joseph thanks to fraser thanks mikhail Venus thanks thanks flower Venus and flower are the precious mascots

thanks staff

Room tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mishairrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I took a tour of South America last month and this is the best place I stayed the whole trip.

For the money, this place was about as good as it gets. I stayed in one of the private doubles which was about the same price as you would pay for a dorm bed in europe or back home. Very nice it was too. A large airy room with a 4 post bed.

The place has a great outdoor pool/bar/garden area. There are plenty of hammocks to swing about in with a cold beer and plenty of shady trees to keep the sun off. The food was pretty awesome too. Although this a new place they have plans for night time live music events. Unfortunately I was there just a couple of weeks too soon. Definitely something to look out for though.

The city of Cali is a thriving, bustling place and you can read plenty about it online but the stand out thing about this place was the spectacular countryside just a few minutes away. We spent a wonderful couple of days in the hills and jungle on guided walks arranged by the hostel. The staff are very helpful and would arrnange just about any activities you were interested in. This was great for me as a virtual non spanish speaker.

Overall, this place was fantastic. Great atmosphere, extremely helpful English speaking staff, beautiful location and all round nice place to be. If your travels take you to Cali, you won't be disappionted with this place.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews