We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy mansion on a hillside overlooking Cali, nice pool and gourmet meals, perfect hostel for backpackers with money to spend on ”
Review of The Green Saman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Saman
Ranked #44 of 123 Cali B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A beautiful mansion on a hill in the Bellavista barrio of Cali. A few maintenance problems still need to be addressed because it is a new facility like the air conditioner unit that wasn't hooked up yet. But in Cali, the climate is very mild and air conditioning is not a high priority like in more hot and humid areas of the tropics. Mosquitoes are always a problem in the tropics, so don't forget to pack repellent. The Green Saman is named after the large shade tree in the front and is a very relaxing walled in secure environment with an excellent back yard patio and bar area with picnic tables for dining. Breakfeast is included in the room charge, the hot cheese bread called almohabanas (pillow puffs) with the fine Colombian coffee is really a very special treat. Dinner is prepared by the owner who is an excellent fourth generation chef from Barcelona, Spain trained in Switzerland. If you are into haute cuisine that is healthy and nutritious you will be pleasently surprized and satisfied with the dinner offerings at the Green Saman, definitely worth the price of the dinner meal. Wet and dry saunas in the back, a yoga room and swimming pool and sunbathing patio areas and hammocks under the mango fruit tree surrounded by tropical flowers with gentle background music make for a relaxed, safe, and secure location to enjoy companionship and comraderie with fellow travellers, mostly from Europe, and Australia. An above average accommodation that is a real gem for the more sophisticated and savvy, discerning traveler in Cali, Colombia. When you check in and meet the owner and chef, Miguel, please tell him you read my review and that he was highly recommended for his cooking from "su alteza" Felipe! It is an inside password that he will appreciate very much! Have fun kids!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Premanandaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

The best place we found on our 3-month trip across Colombia, Ecuador and Peru - a true home away from home. We intended to stay there 3 nights and ended up staying 10 days thanks to the Green Saman's extremely friendly personnel who caters to their guests' every wish and makes one feel welcome. The Green Saman was opened shortly before we arrived, so every small detail wasn't quite ironed out yet (no hot water in our room on the first night but that was fixed by the end of our stay).
The room was very comfortable, roomy and nicely designed, and the accommodation in general was more than a good value. Not to mention the amazing suite next to our room, a taste of luxury suitable for a backpacker's budget (too bad for us it was already booked).
The food is, however, the highlight of the place: excellent, well prepared, fresh and healthy. Plus you can get a chance to learn how to prepare traditional paella. The chef also has a good selection of wines.
The hostel garden is very calm and perfect for relaxing: there are hammocks in the shade of a mango tree, a nice pool, a sauna, a Turkish bath and cute dogs. Even though the city of Cali may not offer great sightseeing opportunities, the hostel staff makes up for it by organising interesting excursions almost every day.
Highly recommended! A place not to be missed if you pass by Cali!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ranskiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

travellers. please they visit this huge hostel, is a wonderful place are words no to describe this house. the food is so rich, so healthy. that you do not want to eat by outside. the people who work there are as if they were part of your family. Joseph. he is the best one, to fraser the best one in the bar and very amiable. all are incredible small thanks to take care of to me better than in my own house.
thanks Joseph thanks to fraser thanks mikhail Venus thanks thanks flower Venus and flower are the precious mascots

thanks staff

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mishairrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I took a tour of South America last month and this is the best place I stayed the whole trip.

For the money, this place was about as good as it gets. I stayed in one of the private doubles which was about the same price as you would pay for a dorm bed in europe or back home. Very nice it was too. A large airy room with a 4 post bed.

The place has a great outdoor pool/bar/garden area. There are plenty of hammocks to swing about in with a cold beer and plenty of shady trees to keep the sun off. The food was pretty awesome too. Although this a new place they have plans for night time live music events. Unfortunately I was there just a couple of weeks too soon. Definitely something to look out for though.

The city of Cali is a thriving, bustling place and you can read plenty about it online but the stand out thing about this place was the spectacular countryside just a few minutes away. We spent a wonderful couple of days in the hills and jungle on guided walks arranged by the hostel. The staff are very helpful and would arrnange just about any activities you were interested in. This was great for me as a virtual non spanish speaker.

Overall, this place was fantastic. Great atmosphere, extremely helpful English speaking staff, beautiful location and all round nice place to be. If your travels take you to Cali, you won't be disappionted with this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catalina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cali hotels
13.6 km away
Hotel Colours
Hotel Colours
#33 of 94 in Cali
56 reviews
18.5 km away
Hotel MS Estacion Superior
653.1 km away
Hotel San Antonio Plaza
Hotel San Antonio Plaza
#53 of 123 in Cali
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
La Pinta Boogaloo
La Pinta Boogaloo
#9 of 158 in Cali
164 reviews
14.8 km away
Hotel H21 Cali
Hotel H21 Cali
#77 of 94 in Cali
8 reviews
11.9 km away
Hotel Spiwak Chipichape Cali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Saman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Saman

Address: Carrera 3 Oeste 11-49, Cali, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Valle del Cauca Department > Cali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Cali
Price Range: €11 - €13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Saman - Colombian Gastronomic Sanctuary, Backpacker's Paradise, Yoga, Music and Cultural Centre. Cali's newest hostel, opened in October 2011, is located within a beautiful garden in the safe neighbourhood of Bellavista in the hills of the city of Cali. Although just a few minutes from the city centre and the bus terminal, our relaxing location is also the base for hikes to the mountains and the many forms of extreme sports available here in the Valle de Cauca. As backpackers or former backpackers ourselves we think we have everything here you would want from a hostel with our location and service making us one of the best hostels in South America. We will let you judge for yourself though, we can offer you; activities and extreme sports organized every say of the week (paragliding, horse riding, rafting, kite surfing, kite buggy, bungee jumping etc), swimming pool and outdoor bar, sauna, Turkish bath, a former Michelin star chef running our kitchen, free gourmet breakfast, terrace bar, indoor cafe, big screen sports, a beautiful garden setting (where we grow our own food to cook for you), hand-built brand new beds, HOT showers, en-suite rooms with Jacuzzi, free yoga, free salsa classes. And if there is anything you want not listed above, let us know and we will organize it for you. The Green Saman is bringing about a revolution in the South America backpacking experience, come and join us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing