We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
6
8
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
8
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The Huanqi Hotel has some of the most luxurious rooms I have ever seen in China (12 years living, working & traveling in the Middle Kingdom). Tasteful décor in every way. Bathrooms well appointed. TV English language selections were adequate. Location in the City Centre near the Medical University.

Room Tip: Best luxury hotel in the city. Much better than any other Urumqi Int' branded hotels by far
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

It is a modernized western hotel within the city

The lobby is nicely decorated with a huge glass dome,with a ten foot gold color painting on the wall

The room is nicely decorated

Some of the guests told us their room is too hot and there is no air condition,they were told to open the windows(though there is none to open!!

We were lucky the AC works

The breakfast buffet have lots of selection

However most of the food though it was left on a heated tray which reads "100" but the food contents are Luke warm or cold

There is not enough staff to handle the huge volume of group tourists e.g.to fill up your coffee,clean the table etc

I order a noodle soup and watch the chef bring the noodle and dipped in the hot water bath for literally less than five seconds and told me it is ready

The concierge offers excellent service

The bed,pillows ,and bedding are very comfortable

They have two options Of taking baths....the traditional bathtub or the California shower heads

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan & Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel quite new, modern and clean. Big room, silent and well organised. The breakfast is for everybody: you can have Chinese, European or American food. Personnel prepared, even if not all of them speak English. Good trade off between quality and price.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank Luca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

This hotel is called the Universal Hotel Urumqi now. A grand hotel with a luxurious room, with floor to ceiling windows in both the bedroom and bathrooom. The room was very hot, the air conditioning didn’t work and the fan moved the hot air around. We left the windows open over night to cool the room with the cool outdoor air, but if anything the air was blowing out. In the morning I asked our guide to explain at the front desk that we wanted to move to a different room if they could not repair the air conditioning. Front desk staff assured him that a portable air conditioner would be installed in the room to cool it off during the day. The guide called during the day and confirmed that all was OK. When we got back very late to the room, the air conditioner had been delivered to the room, but never plugged in and the room was as hot as ever. The writing on the machine was Chinese and no English instructions were provided. We put the machine on a setting that seemed to be « fan » and never figured out how to get « cool ». The machine made a sound of small cartoon animals chatting that was muted when « fan » was on high. We slept on top of the bed on our second and last night. When our guide asked about the heat in the room we also got him to ask for instant coffee packets, as there was only tea. We were told that the coffee was very black and I said fine, we take the coffee black, no sugar, anyway. The coffee packets left in the room had powdered milk and sugar mixed in and the coffee was undrinkable. Our neighbours checked in late, let their three boys use the hallway as a shouting playground, until I told her that this was quite unreasonable after 11 p.m. There were a lot of strange-looking options at the dinner buffet – the red wine was included and generously topped up – while some staff shouted from the dining area, over our heads into the not-so-nearby kitchen. Not relaxing.

Room Tip: Make sure air conditioning works.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg_and_Claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

The hotel room is very fancy, good for the lovers. The room is clean and big. The breakfast is OK. There are several restuarants nearby. It is not located in the really busy area, not easy to get the taxi.

Room Tip: high floor
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dana925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews