We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
8
30
29
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
8
30
29
11
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018

In the center of Datong, just across the street of the train station. Old state hotel, just a block of concrete. Nothing spectacular, just a place to sleep. Awful rooms, filthy bathroom and noises of traffic all through the night. But hey, after 6 hours by train you will sleep anywhere. Breakfast was average.

Room tip: Ask for a room at the back side, the traffic noise is awful.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 332karin1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel and were really impressed with what they had to offer us. We were given a room upgrade at check in which was greatly appreciated. The room we were given was excellent. The king bed was very comfortable. We had the choice of a shower or bath again both very good. The size of the room was a lot bigger then you would normally get for the price. The staff were great and went out of their way to make sure our stay was memorable. Most of the front reception staff can speak English with some capable of speaking very good English. This is a luxury for western travellers trying to bridge the language barrier. Overall our stay was great and we have no hesitation recommending this hotel to prospective visitors to Datong.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank russellt270
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2015

If you are on your way to the Yungang Grottoes or the Hanging Temple at Hengshan mountain and you need to stay in Datong, than the Hongqi Grand Hotel is very convenient. It is next to the train station and max an hour drive to either the grottoes or Hengshan mountain. It is comfortable, clean, has a reasonable sized room and a really nice restaurant. At the same time it is also unremarkable and impersonal and a hub for many tourists. CITS (China International Tourist Service) is just around the corner and they can book your trips if you don't feel like taking a bus - beware they don't overcharge you. Good value for money.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gertjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Wasn't impressed with this Hotel. The only thing it has going for it is it's close proximity to the station, which also happens to be what it has going against it: The station is very noisy and the racket starts very early in the morning. I can still hear the sound of the automated loudspeaker message which just endlessly repeats over and over again... Old furniture in the room and breakfast was only luke warm.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danpointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2015

This was the worse hotel we've stayed in, also the location was not great allthough on walking distance from the railwaystation which was convenient cause we arrived by train. The breakfast was okay, but still I wouldn't go there again.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbirdt-bird444
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews