We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
46
32
12
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
32
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews international channels shopping mall nice hotel rush hour room service english speaking staff western food pillows cinema hdmi wifi taxi tv china supermarket business city
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Overall, we were quite satisfied with our stay at the Grand Mercure Jinan Sunshine. Loyalty recognition (gold-level) was OK. We received our complimentary room upgrade at check-in (one category), though I had to confirm with the guest service agent that we had received it, as it was never expressly stated during the check-in process. Welcome drink vouchers were not given, until we asked for them.

We were upgraded to a Junior Suite on the 20th floor, however there was construction on the 22nd floor, so partway through our stay, we asked for a room move, which was granted. We received an unexpected upgrade to an Executive Suite.

THE ROOMS
The rooms are quite good and roomy. The beds are very comfortable with both feather and memory foam pillows. The hotel is celebrating its 7-year anniversary, and I think that the rooms have not yet been refurbished, as they are starting to show their age. The headboard in the Junior Suite was peeling, the paint in the showers were peeling. The shower drains in both rooms got a really bad "drain" smell following showering, which was quite unpleasant. The rooms have a large working desk, which was great (you can sit two people at it quite comfortably).
The Junior Suite has a TV in the middle of the room that swivels, so you can watch it from either the sofa or the bed, which is fantastic and convenient. As a result, it had easy access to the HDMI and USB ports. In the Executive Suite, the TVs are fixed to the wall, and inside a little cubby so it is impossible to access these ports, which was disappointing.
Soundproofing of the rooms leaves a lot to be desired, especially from the hallway. You can hear anything and everything from inside the room.
Though the Executive Suite has two bathrooms, hand towels were not placed in the smaller bathroom, which was a bit odd.

FOOD:
Food in the Oasis restaurant was good, without being stand out. The tenderloin was cooked very well, though the sauce was a bit "watery". The curry, though delicious, had chicken that was quite dry.
The burger and club sandwich for room service were very good, and a very reasonable price.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel during this trip.

OTHER
Late-checkout of 2pm was granted. We asked for 3pm, but the guest service agent said it would be a "half day fee", and when we said we were gold members (complimentary late check-out, if available), we were told this fee would stand if we wanted to stay until 3pm.

LOCATION
This hotel is not located in the city centre, which is both a good and bad thing. It is a bit of a quieter neighbourhood, though there is construction happening opposite to the hotel. There is a shopping mall adjacent to the hotel, which has a supermarket in it and well as other restaurants and a cinema. The Japanese restaurant is especially good! There is a larger shopping mall about 1.5km away, which has a Haidilao hotpot, 1836(?) Cantonese, Korean BBQ and other excellent restaurants.

Room tip: Try and get a room away from the elevators, as the rooms are not soundproof.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maelstrom38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand M, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Jinan Sunshine by ACCOR, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Dear guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Jinan Sunshine. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.I'm sorry that our staff did not offer you the welcome beverage coupon, we will well strengthen training for our employees, and let them very familiar with our member benefits. And for the room problems, we will also cooperate with ENG department to well maintenance of room facilities.It is also the priority job in the latest future. Also for all the restaruant suggestions your mentioned, I already passed to our F&B management team, to adjust the dishes according to guests' preference.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Coming to Jinan since many years, I believe I found my hotel in the city - Grand Mercure.
It counts a lot to feel at home when you have to stay from one to two weeks. Nice hotel, modern decoration, clean spacey rooms ( tried also a suit which is so cute, like apartment). English speaking staff is helpful and friendly, quick efficient service.
Exciting dinner menu, even coming every evening we found new dishes to discover.
Dinner is offered at discount price for hotel quests including soft drinks and Beer.
Rich breakfast, both for western and Chinese food. General manager Mr Shaller from Germany keeps an eye on the restaurant and lobby, ready to help at anytime.
Excellent quality bed, large and relaxing.

Room tip: All rooms are nice and large, maybe ask the River-view, more quiet if you need to open the window
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank France A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand M, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Jinan Sunshine by ACCOR, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Jinan Sunshine.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

They had a french cuisine Food festival week when I was there, excellent french buffett with Special Food and drinks, excellent breakfast buffett and nice quiet Rooms. English speaking staff at reception and restaurants. Fine Dining in the chinese restaurant best Shandong cooking I had in Jinan indeed. Not in city center but close to shopping centers and restaurants.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaBar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand M, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Jinan Sunshine by ACCOR, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear valued guest,We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Jinan Sunshine.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

On tour with a group of friend and the hotel was arranged by travel agency.

At a glance, the room looks ok. No cigarette smell, average size bathroom with bathing towel in poor condition, rain shower water not flowing downward but splashed across the ceiling, water seeping out from shower area.

Although there was a office desk but no light or desk lamp at all. There is no way you can make use of it to write or read anything.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EuropeExplorer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand M, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Jinan Sunshine by ACCOR, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Dear guest,thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Jinan Sunshine. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel is terrible dirty , never see that before , and Accord hotel ???????
The room are terrible smell and so dirty , never see that before it’s really something never see before ..................

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank jeromesh2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand M, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Jinan Sunshine by ACCOR, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Jinan Sunshine. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews