We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
12
19
14
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
19
14
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketbus routesmain roadwifisupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2016

I had a great English breakfast at the Hostel. The hospitality and friendliness together with the authentic Western breakfast was the best and a welcome surprise. The place is run by a Westerner who does a good job of keeping things tidy.

Room Tip: The only foreign run and operated Hostel in Haikou
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

My wife and I stayed at Haikou Banana Hostel for four nights in April 2016. We had a private double room with ensuite bathroom. The room was large and bright with a big window. The room was clean. There were towels and shampoo/soap provided. The bed was quite hard which is pretty common in China. There are also a few common areas downstairs and they have a pool table so you can meet other travellers.
They have a laundry service for Y10 per load, washing powder included. They also sell cold drinks – Y6 for a large Tsingtao, Y2 for a small bottle of water.
They have bicycles for rent – Y30 per bike per day, including a D-lock.
The wifi is pretty good throughout the hostel.
The staff were friendly and spoke English reasonably well. They were happy to answer all our questions and look up information for us e.g. bus routes etc.
The location was good, just off a main road so it was reasonably quiet but a short walk to local restaurants and plenty of buses running up and down the main road. We caught bus 37 from the train station to the junction with Renmin Dadao then walked. Alternatively, there are buses running along Renmin Dadao if you don’t want to walk.
We really enjoyed our time at Haikou Banana Hostel and would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Edgar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

i am really sorry but this place is not good. We had a double room. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the room was dirty. The toilet was big, smelly and the shower sucked. a team of mosquito lived undercover in the room. Food was terrible.

Stayed: January 2016
2  Thank Matteo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I had a double room with my own bathroom here for four whole weeks and I must say that I enjoyed every day here. I am a 66 year old retired banker used to really comfortable hotels and you may ask why would I stay in the Banana Hostel. Well the reasons were abundantly clear to me just after a few days.
I have never stayed in a hotel where the owner, the staff and the other guests are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but if you live in any hotel for 1 month you will begin to hate the 4 walls no matter how posh the place...
This hostel has so much going for it. The staff and other guests share their time with you and make sure that you are comfortable and enjoying the surroundings. The hotel is quiet and the efficient air conditioning is not noisy and for which I paid a small 30€ for one month's electricity - it was on every day. It is near shops and restaurants. Taxis and buses stop just outside. It is on Renming street just a short 3km jog from Baisheman Park and the beach. It is near the University and hospital.
Peter, the owner, has employed active and friendly students to run the reception - they all speak excellent English and are professional and fun.
Can you imagine being asked to join other guests and the staff for dinner on 2nd Street food stalls when you are tired and hungry and need cheering up?
The rooms are kept clean by an auntie who works hard and always with a kind smile. It is the same with breakfast and dinner that they also serve in the hostel.
They have a comfortable sitting room and where you can talk and work with the other guests - WiFi is adequate in all parts of the building so WeChat and Skype can work well.
I give this place top marks and a strong recommendation for being outstanding and a really nice place to stay in Hainan at a very competitive price.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NicholasA1585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

We booked a double room with ensuite and have had some great experiences in China at a similar budget level, but this wasn't one of them. The room and bathroom were very basic. The bed covers were just a simple sheet and a cockroach was sitting on the bed when we arrived. Despite being technically a malaria zone, the windows were all open when we arrived. The towels were dirty and stained. The most surprising thing was the bed which was like a wooden board, making sleeping very uncomfortable.

They do provide soap, hot water and electric mosquito plugs, and our air con was working (albeit with the controller in Chinese).

Were just stayed overnight so didn't make use of any of the other facilities like food or bike hire. The receptionist was quite friendly, but overall we were surprised that it was recommended by the Lonely Planet (which normally doesn't let us down!) Look elsewhere!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank JamesTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haikou B, Manager at Haikou Banana Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

We are very sorry you didn't have a comfortable stay at Banana Hostel. We will look into all the problems you mentioned. If you find any problems with your room please tell reception and we will do our best to resolve the issue, for example provide extra bedding or change your room.

In regards to malaria, we have lived in Haikou for around 10 years and to the best of our knowledge malaria is not a problem in urban areas. Locals suggest you may consider medication if doing some kind of expedition deep in to the central jungle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews