We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 4* hotel, something else maybe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Holiday Hotel
Ranked #1,325 of 2,843 Hotels in Shenzhen
Reviewed 13 January 2014

During my business trip in Shenzhen i chose this hotel. If i haven't paid in advance i would not stay there.
The room was dirty but i think this is a problem with all the Chinese non 5* hotels. Maybe they have different way of thinking about cleaning.
The air condition is only for cold so the room was like a refrigerator, i didn't eat the breakfast because it was very bad, the windows of the room were sealed, and in order to get a proper shower you shouldn't be tall...
The worst thing was that some people of the stuff were promoting some kind of "masaz" in order of course to get a commission.

Room Tip: It is better to choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constantine_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

My company unbeknownst to me moved into the building next door, so I was placed in this hotel during a recent business trip. This is definitely not a 4-star hotel by any international standard. It byfar is the one of the worst stay in Shenzhen. I will go back there again even if it means I skip a stop in Shenzhen. There are plenty of hotels that are cheaper and offer better service and cleaner rooms.

Here are the plus and minus of the hotel:

Plus
- it has a gym.... i know, it only matters to people that a fitness crazed like myself. The equipment is dated but functional and since no one is guarding the fitness room, you can go and in at your own time. This is what earn this hotel two instead of one star.


Minus
- Room is very dirty - the room has light beige carpet and it looks like they haven't vacuumed it in months. There are dirt and debris all over the carpet. There are also nasty looking stains on the carpet and furniture that looks like past guests had way too much fun in there - I will let you to figure out what I am referring to.
- Bathroom is moldy - the bathroom show clear signs of molds both on the shower tile, floor, and sink. It was wiped with wet dirty towels, so you have that stale wet towels smell in the entire bathroom. There are heavy build up on the shower floor and no doubt a major foot fungus trap...
- The desk is made out of glass and had grease and finger prints from god knows how many people. The housekeeping staff clearly didn't bother to wipe it on a regular basis. The rubber foot of my laptop picked up the grease from just sitting on the desk. I had to wipe everything down before I put the computer back in the computer bag to avoid transferring all that gunk into the bag.
- I tried to open and close the blind and end up releasing a cloud of dust into the room - they probably haven't clean or vacuum the blinds in years.
- The room and bed were in such a dirty state, I actually slept in my clothes and drop bathroom towel on the shower and bathroom floor, so my skin is never in direct contact with anything there...
- The free breakfast was the most nasty looking thing there. It's very Chinese-themed but horribly prepared. Everything was fried and even stir fried veggie is sitting in a puddle of oil. I am an easy eater and I couldn't find enough items that appears healthy enough to eat. The fruit tray is not covered and basically had fruit flies buzzing around it during all 3 breakfasts I had there...The breakfasts were so bad, even the coffee tasted like it was something they used to wash the pot and cookware with. I can't imagine where there is a kitchen grease taste in the coffee.

To add insult to injury, I asked the hotel to charge my credit (USA issued) in RMB (native Chinese currency) during check out. I signed specifically the RMB amount and marked on receipt to decline the option to allow the hotel pre-convert the amount into USD at some insanely marked up conversion rate, but guess what? The hotel transmitted the charge in USD anyways, the marked up amount. Countless of phone calls to the hotel could not get this issue resolved. They play dumb and said they didn't select USD. I had stayed at 4 other hotels during this Asia trip and none of the other hotels force-convert the amount into USD against my wishes and against the terms and conditions on the credit charge slip. This hotel has very dishonest business practice.

Summary:
Being that I've traveled all over the world and had stayed in Shenzhen before, this is by far the worst hotel I have ever experienced. If you are a foreigner and not used to locally owned hotel, I suggest you stay with a well known international chain. If you are on a budget, I suggest stay somewhere as well. Most international chains have low-end brands in Shenzhen and they offer cleaner room, better breakfast and at lower prices than what this hotel charges. This place is a major let down and I guarantee I will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knowmyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This hotel in the middle of the Futian Business district is ideally placed for the Shenzhen exhibition centre (ten minutes walk) and close to the metro (5 minutes).Twenty minutes by Taxi from Either Lo Wu or Shenzhen Bay customs Upgraded to a suite on arrival. Comfortable room with old fashioned but functional bathroom.
Good value --- many similar hotels at this time were twice the price . Comfortable restaurant for breakfast but the food was very average . Seems that the front desk staff rota is set up to to include one good english speaker in each shift which was a real help.
Hotel is slightly set back from the busy road so getting a taxi is best accomplished by walking to the busstops on edge of road and flagging down one of the plentiful taxis

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I stayed in a queen superior room for two days during a business trip. The room is nice, good size but a little dated with a CRT(Tube) TV, cheap corner shower. Location is great. A 5 minute walk to the subway.

BUT if you need cold air conditioning in your room, don't stay here. When I arrived in the room, it was warm. A/C was off so I turned it on full blast (min temp), went for a walk, and when I returned 1.5hr later, the room was at 25DegC. I waited another 1/2hr, still no change in temp so I called reception. After 3 calls and nothing, I went down and asked about it. Their english was poor but I think they said it takes time to get cold. They were somewhat correct...after 4 hours it was down to 22 but then returned to 24 later and it never got below that even with the A/C on full blast for 2 days.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2stretch64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

good size, little tired rooms. perfect location. good value, food is ok...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midimidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenzhen hotels
Luohu Port
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
Shangri-la Hotel Shenzhen
#19 of 2,843 in Shenzhen
2,244 reviews
Dongmen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
Metropark Hotel Shenzhen
#48 of 2,843 in Shenzhen
296 reviews
Luohu Port
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark Shenzhen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Shenzhen, Dongmen
#16 of 2,843 in Shenzhen
321 reviews
Fuqiao Motel
#289 of 2,843 in Shenzhen
5 reviews
Hilton Shenzhen Shekou Nanhai
#14 of 2,843 in Shenzhen
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Holiday Hotel

Address: No.5022 Binhe Road, Futian District, Shenzhen 518026, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Shenzhen > Civic Center
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,325 of 2,843 Hotels in Shenzhen
Price Range: €63 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Holiday Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing