We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”

Odenwalder Restaurant Bar
Ranked #3 of 1,525 Restaurants in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: German, Italian, Dutch, International
Description: ODENWALDER Xiamen is the ideal place to have a great traditional German meal in a cozy atmosphere. Our dishes are rustically plated to ensure you real food without unnecessary "upsmück". We are famous for our German pork knuckle and in-house made sausages. Dutch people know to find us for peanut sauce for the fries war, bitterballen, kibbeling and in-house made frikandellen. Our western chef William use the best fresh meat and vegetables to ensure authentic recipes with the best taste. Reservations are recommended. Just a drink? More than welcome at our well equipped bar with superb fresh local brewed German Gänstaller Keller and IPA beer and chatting with the ex-pats.
Restaurant details
Description: ODENWALDER Xiamen is the ideal place to have a great traditional German meal in a cozy atmosphere. Our dishes are rustically plated to ensure you real food without unnecessary "upsmück". We are famous for our German pork knuckle and in-house made sausages. Dutch people know to find us for peanut sauce for the fries war, bitterballen, kibbeling and in-house made frikandellen. Our western chef William use the best fresh meat and vegetables to ensure authentic recipes with the best taste. Reservations are recommended. Just a drink? More than welcome at our well equipped bar with superb fresh local brewed German Gänstaller Keller and IPA beer and chatting with the ex-pats.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good environment and great food. The best Schnitzel i had in a very long time. The staff was friendly and fun.

Thank Ezequiel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamBay1965, Owner at Odenwalder Restaurant Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Was really nice having you guys. Thanks a million for your lovely comments.

Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I came here and enjoyed it. Great lager beers and superb pork Weiner Schnitzel (non greasy and perfectly cooked) the owners were very welcoming and nice. I’d come back here again

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamBay1965, Owner at Odenwalder Restaurant Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Paul S,

It was our pleasure hosting you guys. Always happy to hear that people are so enthusiastic. That's what we all do it for. Remember that we will launch our new menu next week. Of course the Schnitzel remain but we'll put a vegetarian Schnitzel on it and we will have Zigeuner Sauce as well. Of course homemade as everything is.

Regards, Joost and Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

I visited odenwalder last Thursday. The apperative: 'fricandel speciaal' and main course: schitzel were really good.

After dinner we ended up at the bar discussing the world's problems with the barkeep/owner.

I can reccomend this restaurant to everyone who is missing the Dutch cuisine and/or are looking for nice evening of bar drinking.

Thank Jeroen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamBay1965, Owner at Odenwalder Restaurant Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Jeroen J,
It was a pleasure to have you guys visiting us. Happy to hear it was to your wish. Don't forget, within a week we introduce the new menu. Cheers. William and Joost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent food and very friendly staff. The food is typical German with some Dutch delicacies. The draft beers are highly recommended!

Thank mdekker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamBay1965, Owner at Odenwalder Restaurant Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi MDekker,
Highly appreciated the effort to post this great comment here. Hope to see you soon again when we will introduce our new menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

This kind of place you definitely don't expect in Xiamen China. The owners Joost and William are welcoming you personnaly when you enter the restaurant with a warm welcome and when you see the menu your appetite is thrilled.
Fortunately the expectations are more than met and it's clear that both Gentlemen are enjoying what they are doing. The choice on the menu is great and the pictures according what you get on your plate. German traditional food but definitely with Dutch ingredients to exceed traditional seasonings. The Portuguese choice of wine was matching the food and the prices are reasonable OK for what you get.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamBay1965, Owner at Odenwalder Restaurant Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear Jan T,
Great to see your review and we're happy to see you enjoyed your time. Hope to see you soon again and please note that we regularly update the menu. Currently we're busy with writing a new one so if you're around feel free to test it.
Rest us to thank you for making the effort of writing the review.

Cheers, Joost and William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Odenwalder Restaurant Bar also viewed

 

Been to Odenwalder Restaurant Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing