We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
149
289
68
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
289
68
11
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Officially, this hotel has 1525 rooms and, the weekend we stayed in it, it was packed to bursting. It claims to be a five-star hotel but really that's only because the management have cynically done just enough to get the right boxes ticked. Staying there is rather stressful - for starters it's very easy to lose track of where your room is, such is the scale of the place, and the staff haven't really understood the concept of customer service.
Breakfast is comically frenzied - quite simply, there were too many guests chasing too little food. Everytime a waiter put down a tray of something edible, about one-hundred people would descend on it! Whoever thought it was a clever idea to have one enormous eating hall instead of multiple, smaller earing areas, really needs to have a re-think. The room was okay but even though we were assured it was a designated non-smoking one, it was clear that the previous occupants had been heavy smokers.
My advice would be to go for a smaller hotel unless you are super-gregarious and relish a fight for a croissant at breakfast.

Room Tip: Treble-check that your room is really a non-smoking one, if you don't smoke. Consider getting breakfast outside the hotel unless you are a very early riser.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricky_Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We only stayed for 1 nite in this hotel, as it was just stop over, our flight arrive quite late, therefore our tour guide had pre-checked in for us at 8 pm and our arrival to hotel is 12 midnite. We booked a room with an additional bed ,but by the time we check in to the room at 12 midnite, the additional bed was not set up yet. I called up to check they told me cos too many rooms request for additional bed, therefore I need to wait. But that is already 4 hours ago, they notice of the additional bed setting. After half an hour with few calls to chase them, i gave up, i told them or they just give me a blanket, i will just sleep on the sofa. After 15 mins they send me a blanket (the staff can walk over to send blanket but not an additional bed). They gave me the comforter plus a cover which i need to sort it myself. As a 5 star rating hotel, that should not be the service. Dissapointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Nice rooms and breakfast in executive lounge was good , service in general was acceptable, but because it is such a big hotel there is no personal attention, room service food is served on plastic plates and glasses-McDonalds style!! Won’t stay their again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The hotel is by far the biggest hotel in xiamen with 1500 rooms. The lobby is huge & decorated with lots of plastic plants. The location is a bit off from tourist attractions like Gu Lang Yu island etc... The attendants are quite untrained, they don't speak english and don't have a translator to help foreign tourists who cannot speak mandarin. Buffet at Yum Yum Cha is not bad, but not excellent too. The waiters just stand on the corner chatting and do not care to clean up used plates on our tables; we have to call the waiters to clean up the plates on our table.

This hotel has a lot of potential if it were only built on a good location.e Also, some guests are unruly and keeps on smoking inside the hotel premises, I hope these guests would be more considerate with their actions.

Room Tip: For non smokers: try to ask the attendant to give you a room that's free of smoke smell. Otherwise, find another hotel or you'll die with 2nd hand smoke.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helbanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

It is a one of the biggest hotels in China - 1500 rooms, square-shaped, with huge openspace (more like a ballroom) in the centre - it looks quite impressive. Biggest problem of this hotel is a smoking policy - almost all hotel rooms and public spaces are smoking, 8 out of 9 floors are smoking floors and non-smoking floor is always booked. The staff is speaking very basic english, in most of the cases - not really understanding your complains and requests. Room was clean and spacious, with big LCD TV and bathroom. Quiet room - walls were thick enough, A/C - quiet and efficient. Breakfast was average but OK, just very crowded, poor coffee.

Room Tip: If you are not smoking - try to reserve a non-smoking room in advance
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZhivago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews