We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dull Hotel, Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Xianglu Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 1,317 Hotels in Xiamen
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This huge hotel is frequently used for very large conferences so you may find you can't get an elevator or the main restaurant is closed to other guests when a conference is on. The rooms are big and clean and the beds comfortable. Don't expect the staff to open the door, say "Hello", or even ask you what you'd like to drink at breakfast because they certainly haven't been trained in customer care. Perhaps the most disappointing aspect of this hotel however is it's extraordinary dullness. The rooms are a dull beige and all seem to feature the same 3 pictures (I've sadly stayed a few times because its handy for a customer) The lobby is unfocused and dull and the breakfast is, well dull.

Room Tip: Check with the airport which direction the planes are landing in ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thinbungee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

Officially, this hotel has 1525 rooms and, the weekend we stayed in it, it was packed to bursting. It claims to be a five-star hotel but really that's only because the management have cynically done just enough to get the right boxes ticked. Staying there is rather stressful - for starters it's very easy to lose track of where your room is, such is the scale of the place, and the staff haven't really understood the concept of customer service.
Breakfast is comically frenzied - quite simply, there were too many guests chasing too little food. Everytime a waiter put down a tray of something edible, about one-hundred people would descend on it! Whoever thought it was a clever idea to have one enormous eating hall instead of multiple, smaller earing areas, really needs to have a re-think. The room was okay but even though we were assured it was a designated non-smoking one, it was clear that the previous occupants had been heavy smokers.
My advice would be to go for a smaller hotel unless you are super-gregarious and relish a fight for a croissant at breakfast.

Room Tip: Treble-check that your room is really a non-smoking one, if you don't smoke. Consider getting br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricky_Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We only stayed for 1 nite in this hotel, as it was just stop over, our flight arrive quite late, therefore our tour guide had pre-checked in for us at 8 pm and our arrival to hotel is 12 midnite. We booked a room with an additional bed ,but by the time we check in to the room at 12 midnite, the additional bed was not set up yet. I called up to check they told me cos too many rooms request for additional bed, therefore I need to wait. But that is already 4 hours ago, they notice of the additional bed setting. After half an hour with few calls to chase them, i gave up, i told them or they just give me a blanket, i will just sleep on the sofa. After 15 mins they send me a blanket (the staff can walk over to send blanket but not an additional bed). They gave me the comforter plus a cover which i need to sort it myself. As a 5 star rating hotel, that should not be the service. Dissapointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Nice rooms and breakfast in executive lounge was good , service in general was acceptable, but because it is such a big hotel there is no personal attention, room service food is served on plastic plates and glasses-McDonalds style!! Won’t stay their again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The hotel is by far the biggest hotel in xiamen with 1500 rooms. The lobby is huge & decorated with lots of plastic plants. The location is a bit off from tourist attractions like Gu Lang Yu island etc... The attendants are quite untrained, they don't speak english and don't have a translator to help foreign tourists who cannot speak mandarin. Buffet at Yum Yum Cha is not bad, but not excellent too. The waiters just stand on the corner chatting and do not care to clean up used plates on our tables; we have to call the waiters to clean up the plates on our table.

This hotel has a lot of potential if it were only built on a good location.e Also, some guests are unruly and keeps on smoking inside the hotel premises, I hope these guests would be more considerate with their actions.

Room Tip: For non smokers: try to ask the attendant to give you a room that's free of smoke smell. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helbanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
#22 of 1,317 in Xiamen
86 reviews
Huli District
C&D Hotel Xiamen
C&D Hotel Xiamen
#20 of 1,317 in Xiamen
510 reviews
Minnan Hotel Xiamen
#39 of 1,317 in Xiamen
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
#13 of 1,317 in Xiamen
329 reviews
Railway Station
Seashine Hotel
Seashine Hotel
#34 of 1,317 in Xiamen
74 reviews
Lujiang Harborview Hotel
#24 of 1,317 in Xiamen
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xianglu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xianglu Grand Hotel

Address: No.18 Changhao Road, Huli District, Xiamen 361006, China
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,317 Hotels in Xiamen
Price Range: €39 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Xianglu Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xiamen's Xianglu Grand Hotel is located in the city's Huli District.This Xiamen hotel features guestrooms and suites equipped with fridges, safes, satellite TVs, IDD phones and Internet access.This hotel offers extensive conference and event facilities including two ballrooms which can accomodate up to 950 people and 26 function rooms equipped with audio-visual and lighting equipment as well as simultaneous interpreting facilities.In-house dining options include Chinese, Japanese and Taiwanese fare, while there's also a lounge bar and coffee house.Leisure facilities include a swimming pool, spa, sauna, massage and a chess room. On-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xianglu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing