We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and quiet”
Review of Jinyan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jinyan Hotel
Ranked #26 of 1,274 Hotels in Xiamen
Reviewed 3 November 2014

the room was spacious and very clean personel friendly very polite and helpful.The breakfast lay out catered mainly to the chinese and korean customers who made up over 90% of the guests.The breakfast layout for westerners had all the basic items.English was no problem with the check in staff.The hotel was a bit far away of interesting sites but taxi fares were cheap only between 10 to max 20 yuan.To tzhe airport about 37 Yuan.I did not see any restaurant of intderest near by.Opposite is a tiny supermsrket for beer water snacks.A branch of the Bank of china near by.Cross the wooden pedestrian bridge turn to the right than left after about 50 meter is a backery walk to the next crossing then turn right and after about 70 meter the bank is on your right hand side.This is a good hotel for business people who are on a diet.

Room Tip: select a room with lake view
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Bernd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Jinyan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2014

This Hotel is also known as Xiamen Lakeside Hotel. It would appear to be managed/owned by Xiamen Airlines. Situated in a very nice location in the center of Xiamen.
The staff is very friendly and helpful but with limited english.
Another great plus was the free Wi-Fi throughout the property!! Breakfast was plentiful for Asian tastes but limited to western plates.

They are offering a complimentary shuttle bus to/from airport.
Rooms are very clean with complimentary coffee and tea.
I spend two weeks there and I really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sissy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This Hotel might also be known as Xiamen Lakeside Hotel and Lakeside Hotel, Xiamen? It would appear to be managed/owned by Xiamen Airlines.

We enjoyed four nights at this property.

Unfortunately, our visit to Xiamen and the Lakeside Hotel didn't start too well.

We were a tad curious/miffed that the Hotel had not replied to our emails requesting details of our options for transfers from the airport? Well we understand that sometimes the gremlins in China can work in mysterious ways? Matters didn't greatly improve when on arrival at the Hotel when we were assigned a "non smoking" room on an otherwise smoking floor. Our protests eventually resulted in a change to a room on a designated non smoking floor. The delay of about 30 minutes was acceptable.

Oh, and the swimming pool was not in operation due to repairs/maintenance!! At the time of review this factor is still not noted on the Hotels website or on the booking websites?? Even in China this is not good, guys??

Come next morning we were fully acquainted with the property.

It is well located to the central district, ferry terminals, etc. The property IS lakeside and if inclined provides guests with a great option for the morning constitutional walk/jog.

Our room on the 24th floor was a good size with a (smallish) king bed with good quality linen although it might be described as tired. The bathroom was a little tight but the bath/shower (shower curtain) was serviced by consistently quick hot water...a big plus!!

Another great plus was the free Wi-Fi throughout the property!!

Breakfast was plentiful for Asian tastes but limited to western palates? This isn't a criticism, simply fact. Personally, with juice, cereal (limited), fruit (limited), pastries, toast, tea and coffee and an "egg station" we were satisfied. Frankly, I suspect this is a better outcome for us than Asian tastes might experience in regional Oz??

But for us, although the property was adequate, and I confess to booking on price, the Hotel's mostly young enthusiastic staff carried the property!!

Most had some English, some more than others, but whether you were fully understood or not the staff would consult with each other in order to accommodate your needs.

In particular, this made travel by taxi very easy and without stress. On one day we were able to book a taxi by the hour through the staff. All fares are very affordable and metered, we never experienced any issues with drivers.

And, yes we took the complimentary bus transfer back to the airport.

Yes, we got what we paid for and (eventually) we enjoyed the experience.

Would we stay at the Xiamen Lakeside on another visit?? That would depend entirely on the offers available at the time??

But thanks again to ALL the great staff!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzandGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is my second time stay in this lovely hotel. My husband and I used it alomst 2 years ago, that time we have already fallen in love with the hotel. This time we upgrade into deluxe room with lake view. As it was 2 years ago, the room is super clean, smells well. Many choices in breakfast and dinning experince is comfortable. Sure next time we will still stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalfonso66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here January 24-27, 2014. We can't find anything to complain about. The breakfast buffet was delicious and has a variety if Western and Chinese breakfast options and is included in the price. Stayed high up with non-lake view. Service was great. I could get by almost completely in English.

Room clean and is a standard, basic hotel room you would see in a Sheraton.

Location is great. Looking over the lake and right by the heart of Xiamen.

Dinner is great. We had one of the VIP rooms for a night where the service is top notch along with the food.

It has a connection with Xiamen Airlines if that matters to anyone. Maybe you get a better price if you book flights with Xiamen Airlines or if you are part of their club or something. No idea.

One problem is their pool costs money even for guests to use. But considering breakfast buffet was including and for a lot of hotels in North America for the kind of Breakfast Buffet that this hotel was giving away would be around $20-$30 US. So it is hard to complain about paying I think $2.50 US for pool use.

Room Tip: Lakeview is more expensive. But I liked the downtown view because as a foreigner, looking at the hu...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theschuay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
1.0 km away
Marco Polo Xiamen
Marco Polo Xiamen
#4 of 1,274 in Xiamen
656 reviews
0.8 km away
Kempinski Hotel Xiamen
Kempinski Hotel Xiamen
#13 of 1,274 in Xiamen
166 reviews
0.8 km away
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
Pullman Xiamen Powerlong
#9 of 1,274 in Xiamen
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#5 of 1,274 in Xiamen
626 reviews
2.3 km away
Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen
2.6 km away
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
#15 of 1,274 in Xiamen
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinyan Hotel

Address: No.99 Hubin South Road, Siming District, Xiamen 361004, China
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
#18 Business Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range: €75 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 354
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jinyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinyan Hotel Xiamen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing