We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view, quiet, big rooms but needs cleaning.”
Review of Swiss Grand Xiamen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swiss Grand Xiamen
Ranked #15 of 1,298 Hotels in Xiamen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The hotel is opposite Gulangyu island, but you still need a taxi or long walk to get to the ferry terminal to go to Gulangyu.

The room is large and spacious and so is the bed. The room is quiet and sheetsare clean.

However, the bathroom and toilet is mouldy. There was mould on the walls and floor. We complained and had it cleaned, but some mould remained even after the clean.

This is unexpected and very disappointing for this price point and the reputation of Swiss hotels international.

I strongly recommend to the hotel to use bleach to sanitise all of your bathrooms.

If it wasn't for the mould and if they had done a better job of cleaning up the mould I would have given 5 stars, but it's a 4 for poor cleanliness.

See the photos

Room Tip: Get a view of GuLangYu
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cktsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

This hotel is in a superb location. Near all the shopping and amenities, including the supermarket Carrefour. Perfect for bus transportation to any major sights. Definitely get the Sea view room as it views Gulangyu Island. My husband and I stayed in one of the apartments and it was like a home away from home, which was perfect after a day of sightseeing. The hotel room was beautiful, the pool was just okay and it seemed like it was mostly for exercising. Also, there was work being done on the Terrace bar so we didn't get to enjoy that. Overall it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Sea View Room is definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kareena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Dear Guest,
We're so glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay together with us. We're looking forward to your next stay, which you may have a nice afternoon tea at our Niche Lounge or Executive Lounge. Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

On arrival at hotel, there was a temporary reception desk due to flooding, whilst the time was getting on to about 1am in morning I just wanted to get to my room. This took approx 20 mins to get seen as local guests enquiring about wifi seemed more important. Room very basic, kettle didn't work first day, then day 2-3 I had to experience a mouldy smell as water was seeping through from room above into bathroom. Spoke to reception, did they do anything about. Nothing wiped it clean then arrived back from a days work to find bathroom in same state. Not good and ruined the stay if I'm honest. Will request alternative hotel in future to the local supplier, possibly just cleaner if I'm honest. Both nights broken sleep due to the smell and dripping. A shame really because from the front hotel looks nice, well the pictures tell a different story

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank PaulCals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Dear Guest ,
We're so sorry that we didn't focus on your requests on time, the concerns we've brought to the related department and kept on issuing the training to our staffs. You may give us another chance to improve our service in future. Thank you very much for your honest comments, which reminds us on our proper work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Booking and Correspondence with Hotel Manager and Miss Monica Yang very fast and easy. Service was superb! Rooms are big. Ideal location and is near ferry and shopping area and food street.
Booked day tour with the hotel but need to cancel last minute and rebook again on the night before the trip. Miss Monica Yang was very accommodating and when she is not around, she even hand over the conversation to the Chef to whom I can raise concerns etc. if any. Food at the Thai restaurant was delicious and is good value for money. The stay with Swiss International Hotel Xiamen (now seems like it's named Swiss Grand Xiamen, but I know its the same hotel due to the address), actually urged me to write a review in Tripadvisor ( I don't normally write reviews). Delighted with my stay and particularly impressed with the kind of services provided. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We'd like to see you are satisfied with the stay at our hotel. We've brought your comments to Ms. Monica Yang, which made her be very confident on her work in future. And we're so proud that we have such kind guests like you that will encourage our staffs directly. Thanks again for your kind comments. We will keep providing the qualified product and service. Welcome to our hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Ideal location in Xiamen. Very easy to get to by taxi. Staff are courteous and welcoming. Rooms are clean. Our family suite are in 2 parts, large bedroom with a large lounge area. Large bathroom area, you will love the shower! Good selection for breakfast. Plenty of restaurants near by. Within 5 minutes walk from the main shopping area. Directly opposite to Gulanygu Island. Note there is construction works going on in the area due to the BRICS 2017 Summit to be held in September, but disruption is minimal. Overall a very pleasant stay in Xiamen. Ideal for boh business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Family suites only on 10th floor I think, but good size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Dear Guest,
We're so glad to see that you were enjoying the stay with us. We will keep on providing the qualified product and service. Welcome to Swiss Grand Xiamen again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xiamen hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
Hotel Indigo Xiamen Harbour
#17 of 1,298 in Xiamen
229 reviews
3.2 km away
Pan Pacific Xiamen
Pan Pacific Xiamen
#3 of 1,298 in Xiamen
653 reviews
5.7 km away
The Westin Xiamen
The Westin Xiamen
#1 of 1,298 in Xiamen
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
Xiamen Tegoo Hotel
#22 of 1,298 in Xiamen
83 reviews
0.4 km away
Millennium Harbourview Hotel Xiamen
5.8 km away
Le Meridien Xiamen
Le Meridien Xiamen
#6 of 1,298 in Xiamen
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Grand Xiamen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Grand Xiamen

Address: No.12 Lujiang Avenue, Siming District, Xiamen 361001, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Fujian > Xiamen > Siming District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xiamen
#6 Business Hotel in Xiamen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Xiamen
#25 Best Value Hotel in Xiamen
Price Range: €102 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swiss Grand Xiamen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, overlooking the historical Gulangyu Island and its surrounding waters, the Swiss Grand Xiamen is within easy access of business, sightseeing, shopping and entertainments hubs. It is 15 minutes from Xiamen Gaoqi International Airport, 20 minutes from the Xiamen International Conference and Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from the railway station and just 5 minutes by foot from the ferry terminal. The Swiss Grand Xiamen is a contemporary yet classic upscale hotel that offers the savvy business or leisure traveler ultimate comfort and style with breathtaking views.The Swiss Grand Xiamen stand 28 stories tall and features 588 guest room. Stay connected in comfort and style. Indulge in the comfort of our rooms with Suisse signature bedding, complimentary WIFI and internet access, and rainforest showers. Club Chine Executive Floors are from Levels 24-28 with a spacious Club Lounge on Levels 26 and 27, pampering discerning business travelers with privileges and benefits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss Grand Xiamen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Xiamen Hotel Xiamen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing