We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing Guides and Even Better People

I don’t usually take the time to write reviews of products or services. However, in this case, I... read more

Reviewed 19 March 2018
JimVinch
,
Woodbridge, Virginia
via mobile
Great discovery!

I live in Chile and I am used to fish the Coyhaique and Yelcho zones. I decided to try Puerto... read more

Reviewed 14 February 2018
afernandez13
,
Santiago, Chile
Read all 5 reviews
  
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
4
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trout fernando outing fishing guiding patagonia
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

I don’t usually take the time to write reviews of products or services. However, in this case, I must make an exception. We used Mosquero to provide guide services for a fly fishing trip to Patagonia during early March 2018. I can not recommend them highly enough.

Mario, Fernando and Paty have been fishing this area for years. They know where to find, and have access to, the best trout water. They know where, when and how to fish these waters to get results. They helped even a middling fly fisherman like me catch fish I’ve never dreamed of catching. On one outing Fernando and I spent a half hour on our hands and knees crawling in high weeds stalking one huge trout holding in a pool. When the time was right, Fernando said you have one cast to catch this fish. I did my best under difficult circumstances and put the fly in the general area. Then BAM the trout hit the fly and after 15 minutes I brought in a “trout of a lifetime!” I caught many more trout that week due to their expert guidance and advice.

As fantastic as their guiding skills are, that wasn’t even the best part. Mario, Fernando and Paty treated us like friends and family. They went above and beyond what you’d expect from a guide service. They shuttled us to and from the airport, invited us out to dinner in Puerto Natales, and were generous and kind. They probably have similar relationships with all their clients but it felt as though this was more than a “business relationship.” From my perspective, I have made three new friends for life. Mario, Fernando and Paty I will definitely be back. Next time, I promise that I will have better casting skills. Muchas gracias!

Jim V.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank JimVinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

I live in Chile and I am used to fish the Coyhaique and Yelcho zones. I decided to try Puerto Natales area. What a find! Lots of browns and most of them of trophy sizes. However, weather is extreme, mostly because of the wind. That´s why you need a great guiding service. And Mosquero guiding delivers. Top of the line equipment and delicious food. Patricia take care of all details. But what is more important, great guides! Fernando was mine. He is an amazing guide. Has a deep knowledge of the area and fishing conditions. The kind of guy who is willing to go the extra mile. We made most of the fishing with dry flies and streamers. I had one of the best fishing experiences of my life. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank afernandez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Mario Monardes at Mosquero was a fantastic guide. He selected excellent waters in the Torres del Paine region, offered top-quality gear, and provided superb knowledge of the places where we could find big, fighting trout. He ties his own flies and wasn't afraid to switch up at the first sign that the fish were getting used to what I was showing them. Quick changes meant that I was doing a lot of fishing, stopping only for a quick mid-day lunch while the fish took their usual siestas.

Unlike some guides I've had elsewhere, Mario was not fishing. All his attention was on the water, scouting where I should land the next fly and suggesting to me how to work it once in place if my technique was sub-optimal. Making the experience even more enjoyable was his enthusiasm at seeing me catch, land, photograph, and release the fish. The day was great just being on the water, but his professionalism and excitement and good humor the entire time made the outing even more special.

All in all, it was one of my best days on the water EVER. Catching fish -- at least half a dozen good-sized trout -- was just the bonus.

Though I was solo, I think Mario's approach and the water he chose could easily have allowed him to effectively guide two and perhaps three non-novice anglers. The water access required fairly easy hiking, and secluded but safe places. The surroundings alone were worth the outing.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank sandiegoterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Mosquero, Guide at Mosquero Fly Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Thanks Cory, it was a pleasure to go out with you and Pato, what a day!
we are in touch!
mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews