We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tara Angkor Hotel
Ranked #101 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights after being upgraded from a 3-star hotel by our tour company (which was a pleasant surprise). The hotel was in a great location, not far to the main attractions of Angkor Wat and just a short tuk tuk ride ($2-$3) to the town area. It would even be a nice walk to town if it hadn't been so hot! We were very impressed with the hotel and staff who were always friendly and polite. We had no problems booking in, but we did have a Cambodian guide which no doubt made it easier. The room was decent in size, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and well equipped although slightly on the small size. The pool area was very well maintained and clean. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices. The first morning we found it very busy and difficult to get a seat, so next day we went earlier and had no problems. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but the restaurants always seemed to have people in them. However, we did have dessert on two occasions and the food and service was good. The only problem we encountered at the hotel was that on the second day, we returned to our room at 5pm (after being gone since 8.30am) and found that our room had not been cleaned or new bath towels left. A phone call to housekeeping and the bathroom was soon cleaned and refreshed. No explanation was given as to why it hadn't been done during the day as our children were in another room close by and their room had been cleaned. If they had not missed cleaning our room, the cleanliness rating would have been excellent. We enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay again if we were to return to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Valued Client,

Warmest Greeting from Tara Angkor Hotel.

We are happy to learn from your review and accept for both negative and positive comment.
From the very beginning our main goal has been to provide the best service possible to our guests and we have been striving to constantly improve the quality of our services. Therefore if you encountered any inconveniences during your stay please do not hesitate to comment on them. As we are constantly striving to improve our standards and exceed guest’s expectations, we take guests’ comments very seriously.

Best Regards

Tara Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,641 - 1,645 of 3,228 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

One of the original 4 star hotels in Siem Reap, the Tara still ranks amongst the best hotels despite the recent hotel boom. The hotel is conveniently situated half way between Siem Reap town and the entrance to the Archealogical Zone. The main lobby of the hotel is light and airy, and the two wings of the hotel make a natural atrium-like area where you can take breakfast outside. At the end of this atrium-like area is a small but comfortable pool area with loungers for sun bathing etc. The restaurants provide excellent food at reasonable prices, and prehaps the secret of the Tara's success is the friendliness and willingness of the hotel staff. The rooms are well equipped and the hotel provides four computers with free internet access for guests to use in the lobby.The concierge and door staff are most helpful in planning trips and arranging transportation. All in all a very comfortable hotel and a "home-from-home"

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Valued Client,

Greeting from Tara Angkor Hotel , Angkor Wat,Siem Reap Cambodia

Thank you for your time of this review and all staffs were very happy to learn that they're provided you a top notch of services during your stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back again in near future.

Best regards

Tara Angkor Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a nice hotel, clean and quiet. Breakfast was good, air conditioning and water pressure was nice and powerful. Wifi was available free everywhere (including the rooms). The only negative is how expensive the laundry was. For one full laundry bag, I was charged $49 U.S.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CVfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Valued Client,

Greeting from Tara Angkor Hotel Siem Reap

Thank you very much for your spending time to review us and happy to learn that you're enjoyed with our services and facilities except the rate of laundry, kindly note that Laundry price list was done a comparison research with other hotel whose same category before release.Hence we are quite confident that it is reasonable for all client.

Thank you once again for your kind understanding.

Sincerely yours

Tara Angkor Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed for three nights at this modern, 4 star hotel, 10 minutes by tuc tuc from Siem Reap town centre. When we arrived the front desk were overwhelmed with arrivals and only a couple of reception staff spoke good english, so our check-in was very slow. Our room was fine but with no frills, but the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped with reasonable products but badly lit. The breakfast was of a reasonable standard, but the dining room is set up for big parties with few tables for two. The small swimming pool was a welcome relief after a day viewing the sights, but the tiles round the pool are very, very slippery when wet, so take care. Overall the hotel was OK but I would look around for an alternative if I went to Siem Reap again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the central atrium, rather than the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Valued Client,

Greeting from Tara Angkor hotel Siem Reap

we are happy to learn from your review and accept for both negative and positive comment.
From the very beginning our main goal has been to provide the best service possible to our guests and we have been striving to constantly improve the quality of our services. Therefore if you encountered any inconveniences during your stay please do not hesitate to comment on them. As we are constantly striving to improve our standards and exceed guest’s expectations, we take guests’ comments very seriously.

Best regards

Tara Angkor Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Very nice hotel at a reasonable price. Not a 5-star property, but an excellent value worthy of an excellent rating and most highly recommended. I do not know why in the world anyone would spend $200 a night for a hotel in Siem Reap when there are excellent alternatives like this one available. Breakfast buffet was excellent, rooms clean and comfortable, staff pleasant and conscientious.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taraangkor, Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Valued Client,

Greeting from Tara Angkor Hotel , Angkor Wat,Siem Reap Cambodia

Thank you for your time of this review and all staffs were very happy to learn that they're provided you a top notch of services during your stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back again in near future.

Best regards

Tara Angkor Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.2 km away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.9 km away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#58 of 384 in Siem Reap
935 reviews
0.1 km away
The Cyclo d’Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#43 of 384 in Siem Reap
5,494 reviews
1.6 km away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#46 of 384 in Siem Reap
597 reviews
0.9 km away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#55 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#39 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#42 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#75 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#78 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: €30 - €620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand stylish 4 stars hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing