We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable cafe in town”
Review of Sister Srey Cafe

Sister Srey Cafe
Ranked #6 of 41 Coffee & Tea in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Australian, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sister Srey Cafe is a Social Enterprise, in Siem Reap, Cambodia. Run and operated by Sisters Lauren And Cassie. The Girls, opened the business to have "Good Coffee" and also help and support Khmer students and to make a sustainable impact into the community. Our vision at Sister Srey Cafe is to support young Khmer students who struggle to keep a balance between study and supporting their family. Each staff member in trained in hospitality, English language skills, personal development, health and hygiene and banking. We are a stepping stone to a brighter future and a means for them to have skills and knowledge to approach the world empowered and confident. Sister Srey has various incentives and activities in which support the local and rural community. The cafe goes to sustainable measures to help the environment and to be as enviromentally friendly as possible. We are commited to being plastic free, having bio degradable food packaging, organic coffee and miniamising waste. Monthly, our staff participate in our community service program "Helping out a friend" Where each staff member chooses a NGO or project of choice and do something for people less fortunate than themselves. To date we have had, staff building wells and toilets for families, participating in a soup kitchen to feed street children and health workshops. Sister Srey also composts all waste and goes to directly to NGO Green Gecko Farm and has a sustainable recycling program and waste management system. Since opening, the Cafe works along side Hearts to Harmony Foundation. This means 20 percent of profits from the Cafe as well as donations go towards Hearts to Harmony to supports individuals through education, health and hygiene, and supports rural families. Sister Srey is a social enterprise. A cafe with a heart, a cafe with the desire to see change and with the ability to do so.
Reviewed 13 April 2018

I went to Sister Srey after a half day of visiting the temples. The cafe is cute and welcoming and the staff are very friendly. It's in a great central location. The food is healthy, delicious, and inexpensive for expat standards. I got an iced latte and avocado toast for less than $10. Would definitely recommend this for anyone in Siem Reap looking for a Western style meal at a great price point.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank imb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SisterSrey, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Dear imb89,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that we could welcome you after visiting the beautiful temples. Avo on Toast is a house favourite and great choice! We are happy you enjoyed it and found it inexpensive too. Where we can we buy fresh, organic and local produce as well as donate a percentage of our profits to a local NGO and support the staff through higher education, so every penny counts. Your breakfast was a contribution to all of the great things we aim to achieve here. Thank you so much, again, for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sister Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 1,994 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

This place is offering interesting, rather western style breakfast. I had avo on toast, with avocado spread, cherry tomatos and a poached egg on toast - that was really good and a lot. They have a cute style, serving coffee on a special wooden plate and having the menu in a children‘s book. The breakfast is between $ 3 and $ 6, the western coffee between $ 2 and $ 3.

1  Thank ViktoriaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SisterSrey, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Dear ViktoriaA,

Thanks so much for your review. Definitely a good choice picking the Avo Toast- it's a house favourite! We are so happy you enjoyed it!

Wishing you happy travels!

Sister Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

What an incredible place! I don’t even know where to start with how lovely Sister Srey is. Beautiful food, fantastic vibes and a real moral conscious.

I popped in here after an early start at Angkor Wat sunrise to grab a bite to eat before gift shopping. Although I love Khmer food, I was in need of a salad and the bodia bowl at Sister Srey really hit the spot, it was wonderfully presented full of healthy fruits and veg. I accompanied it with an iced latte which came in a mason jar complete with a lightbulb containing sugar syrup! Great way to reuse a household item!

The staff were absolutely lovely, one guy was full of beans jumping about with an infectious energy that made it impossible not to smile. Another was singing his way around the place. It was really nice to see staff so happy.

I also loved that they had lots of reminders of how to be respectful of the Cambodia people and it’s environment. From tips on reducing your footprint whilst travelling, to leaflets on how to support/volunteer and info on other social enterprises in Siem Reap, it was super informative. As a result I ended up finding some brilliant places to eat and shop whilst supporting the community.

Finally, although I hate using my phone on holiday, being able to connect to the WiFi was a real plus, giving you a chance to come out of the heat, grab a cool drink and catch-up with friends and family back home.

I honestly can’t say enough good things about this place. I think the owners have done a brilliant job.

Ps - the playlist was top notch, I could almost have been listening to my own music!

1  Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SisterSrey, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Hey Sophie R,

Wow! What an awesome review, thank you so much for all of your kind words. It means so much to all of us at Sister Srey how much care and attention you've put into these comments. The Bodia Bowl is definitely a house favourite, sometimes you just need something fresh and vibrant to fuel your day.

We care so much about our environmental footprint, as well has having a positive impact in the local community, so thank you for noticing and acknowledging that. It just shows what an amazing traveller you are that you even take the time to find out more about responsible travelling. There are a lot of business in Siem Reap with the same moral conscious and its so important to support one another, so we are more than happy that we were able to point you in the right direction of some other cool places.

If you can't dance around and sing at work, then what's the point in working, hey!!! Good vibes, having fun and keeping a bubbly atmosphere is what we're all about. I'm glad we could put a smile on your face, too, it's almost impossible to wipe ours off our faces! Also, thanks for the musical recognition... we love our playlist. If you ever have any recommendations please message us through any of our social media accounts (sistersreycafe) and we will add them on. You can never have enough banging tunes!

Thanks again for such an amazing, detailed review. We hope to see you again one day. In the meantime, happy travels, stay cool and keep being awesome!

Much Love,

Sister Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This place is an absolute delight and just what you need when you’re missing home. The place has a very Melbourne feel, with a beautiful menu that includes Organic, raw and veg/vegan options. It’s opposite the river and such a lovely place to chill out and do a bit of people watching whilst listening to great music and also a place to meet other travellers. The staff are fun and friendly and Daisy is absolutely gorgeous . So warm and bubbly. She made it feel like I was at home. One of my Siem Reap favs. Ps the raw snickers bar is delicious :)

Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SisterSrey, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Oh Lisa, this has made us here SO happy (especially me)!!!

Thank you so much for this beaming review, I personally loved our chats and your company and it is so nice to hear your kind words, the staff will be so happy. We are always trying to keep the atmosphere friendly and joyful and it's great to hear that you noticed that and our delicious Raw menu to top it all off!!!

We look forward to seeing you again one day, and wish you safe onward travels and reunions with the family!

Lots of love and smiles,

Sister Srey Team (and a very very happy Daisy) x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Just cannot get enough of this place. Amazing coffee, great food (potato hash off the scale good!), lovely staff.

I will be back in May!!! Love the Place

Thank wkcrook123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SisterSrey, Manager at Sister Srey Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for the awesome review wkcrook123, we can't wait to see you again in May- we will start getting the Potato Hash ready for your return!

Sending good vibes!

Sister Srey Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sister Srey Cafe also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Sister Srey Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing