We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family-feel auberge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SiZen Retreat & Spa
Ranked #100 of 376 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is a small auberge with a cluster of two-story buildings around a garden, open-air restaurant and pool. They were super friendly, even catering to my phobia against mosquitoes by providing (without solicitation) coils in the room and in the restaurant. We spent 4 nights in Siem Reap. It wasn't the most central location, but a short tuk-tuk ride made everything very accessible. To me, the most striking thing was the obvious social conscience of the owner/management. I think he's Swiss or French and speaks fluent Kymer (there were predominately French-speaking tourists there). The manager of the Swiss hospital (that provides free pediatric services in the area) was a guest at the time, and the owner clearly is an advocate of child protection practices (from postings on the bulletin board, etc.) That compassion is also reflected in whom he hires. One example, my husband asked about a massage, and they suggested a free-lance blind woman who came to the room, was paid directly (no commission for the hotel) and was excellent. The staff was helpful, assisting us in arranging our transportation to other areas. A nice feature was the "Kymer bath" (in addition to a standard shower) in the bathroom. I'm glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jxschode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenitoBenoit, Owner at SiZen Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thanks for your nice comments. Yes, indeed, we have a conscious about this beautiful country at Borann. You are right, i am french originally, but Cambodian too, as the King and the Prime Minister have granted me with the nationality in 2000 due to my humanitarian work. You can discover it through www.krousar-thmey.org.
Looking forward to welcoming you again. Bénito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 126 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

Had a most enjoyable stay at Borann. The staff were very helpful and so cheerful, they made each day a delight. I found my room and terrace very comfortable and it had all that was necessary for a few days.
The garden and pool were very attractive and were very welcome after a morning of sightseeing around the temples and elsewhere. I found the dining area very pleasant, the breakfasts lovely and the evening meal I had was delicious.
It was also very convenient to have tuk tuk drivers at the hotel and "Mr Sun" was a happy and helpful addition to my vacation.
A return visit is hoped for.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferkobine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Borann is the ideal, restful base to come home to in between visiting the Angkor temples. The bungalows stand around a beautiful, very large garden with a lovely pool, and this courtyard effect makes it very peaceful. The beds are enormous and comfy, and the rooms are very clean. The stone floors in the bathrooms, and the stone paths through the gardens, are a little like staying in an Angkor temple of its own!

Friendly tuk tuk drivers are always on hand - ask for Mr Sun, he is an ace driver and always smiling, and the hotel can arrange guides for the temples too.

My husband was not well when we stayed (stomach flu contracted in Indonesia, nothing to do with Siem Reap), and the staff were really concerned and took good care of him while we went off to see temples. Kanchera (sp.?) is very sweet and speaks good English and French.

We will definitely return to Borann again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms are either ground floor or 1st floor. We were on the ground floor which was absolutely fine. U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonford24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Happy New Year everybody!!
We stayed in Borann Hotel in Siem Reap 5 days for this new year and it was great!! The hotel is nice, clean and the staff is very helpfull and nice!! It is located in a very quiet location and after visits to temples and quite busy Old Market and Pub Street staying in Borann is very pleasant and relaxed. The cuisine is like home made and very tasty, the breakfast is good.
We had a great stay and will come back for sure!!!
Dear Management and Stuff of Borann Hotel, thank you a lot for the great time we had at your hotel !!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ghab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Nice little hotel, close to the old part, walking distance or with a 2 minutes tuk tuk ride.
The hotel has a really beautiful garden and a nice swimming pool, very quite, well when Tokay Geckos are not singing...but that's more fun than a problem
The rooms are simple but nice and clean, with everything you need. All rooms have aircon and fan and a safety box. Every room has a little terrace facing the garden.
All the staff are friendly and nice
Breakfast is included and food is very good

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firefly_SiemReap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo.
Hotel 20th Street Wat Bo.
#124 of 376 in Siem Reap
271 reviews
1.1 km away
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
2.5 km away
The White Terrace Hotel
The White Terrace Hotel
#78 of 376 in Siem Reap
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#101 of 376 in Siem Reap
889 reviews
0.8 km away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#108 of 376 in Siem Reap
883 reviews
1.1 km away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#106 of 376 in Siem Reap
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SiZen Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SiZen Retreat & Spa

Address: Wat Bo Street | Just a 300 meters from the Royal Pavillon, Siem Reap 17251, Cambodia (Formerly Borann, l'Auberge des Temples)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: €21 - €47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SiZen Retreat & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your SiZen Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borann Auberge Des Temples Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing