We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”

Old House Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 880 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$9
Cuisines: Cambodian, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Khmer owned restaurant-Close during Khmer New Year day and Pchum Ben day
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Incredible value! Menu at 6 USD for 3 courses which was excellent! Excellent food, excellent service, nice and clean place! Dined there every night.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnZ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    230
    63
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Agra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Quality food, staff are amazing and a lovely serene atmosphere. We went A LOT!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeElliott11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Cambodian Food on Our Trip”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our final dinner on a six-day trip to Phnom Penh and Siem Reap, and it was by far the best. Service and presentation were excellent - it was the only Cambodian restaurant where we actually got cloth napkins! The sour soup with beef and morning glory was the single best Cambodian dish we ate on our tour. Three of us had two 3-course dinners, the soup and a very tasty eggplant with pork dish + 2 margaritas, a daiquiri, a diet coke and a large water all for $26--amazing! Just a half block from Pub Street and we were the only diners--oh what the herd is missing!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MW424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely cuisine and sevice”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

A very nice restaurant, comfortable and tastefully furnished well worth a try and just away from the busy Pub St area. The food was excellent and priced to suit all pockets.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We tried out Old House based upon the TripAdvisor reviews. I have to admit, I don't quite get their effort or the appeal. The ambience felt very upscale but the food and service is not. I could decide what kind of restaurant they were trying to be.

Our meals were OK, but far from great. My spicy curry was fairly bland. I asked for it extra spicy and received a dish of hard raw chilies which need to be cooked in order to transfer the heat properly to the food. Service was rather lacklustre, devoid of the usual warmth and energy found in other Cambodian restaurants we've visited.

If you have only eaten in restaurants in and around Pub Street or if you like Cambodian food-lite, then you may find Old House to your liking. For us, we enjoyed far better meals in the local restaurants on Wat Bo Road and the small restaurants around the Old Market. Any of those places offer a cheaper, better, friendlier, more authentic option.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank coconutfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old House Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Old House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing