We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our time in Cambodia.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of OSMOSE

OSMOSE
Ranked #58 of 802 Tours in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Osmose Eco-tours and Community Based Eco-tours of the Prek Toal Bird Sanctuary, flooded forest and traditional floating villages of the Tonle Sap Lake, a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. Your experience contributes directly to support the livelihoods and well-being of the floating community members, and includes trips to the bird sanctuary, traditional paddle boat tours of the floating village and the flooded forest by day and night, Community Based Home Stays, Community Restaurant, Community Based Activities, a visit to the Saray Tonle Cooperative, the Water Hyacinth Handicraft Workshop and much, much more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A highlight of our time in Cambodia.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a wonderful time on our Osmose tour of Tonle Sap Lake. Seeing the many trees full of nesting birds was truly amazing, especially as we opted to take the paddle boat and get a bit closer. The view of the lake from the tower was also quite beautiful and the visit to the floating village was both educational and wonderful.

All the arrangements were easy as Osmose was quite responsive to our many emailed questions. The guide and driver were both delightful.The food was delicious and we were particularly pleased that the guide and driver joined us for a family style lunch. We would have felt very uncomfortable had it been any other way.Osmose helped to make our trip to Siem Reap truly unique.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JSBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    31
    5
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome hands on weaving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

If you want to understand and experience the process of using dried water-hyacinth plants to make handicraft products such as mats, bags, baskets, furniture etc.... look no further than Osmose Saray Weaving Class at Wat Bo street 27, Siem Reap, Cambodia.

I had an awesome 3 hours weaving my way out of a "simple" rectangular mat. Of course with the help of 2 meticulous ladies there! (photo01) They were patient in guiding me and correcting the way I make my mat, often having to demonstrate a few times to me. It was done to the very little details even though it is just a simple mat. Little details like ending the edges of the mate and extending the hyacinth stalks when the length is inadequate are all done decently and ensured by the ladies. Finally, the by-product is a combined effort from the ladies and me!

From this, I can be sure that the quality of their woven products are of the highest quality.
I am fortunate to have Mr Lindsay showing me a variety of the products they have. They are all kept in an enclosed room to eliminate moisture on the products.

Every steps from extracting stalks from the water-hyacinth plants to making of the woven products and to storing and displaying them are all done nicely by the team of people from Osmose Saray. Keep up the good work!

Wei Chung
Singapore

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank WeiChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

After visiting the Angkor temples and all the touristic attractions of Siem Reap we decided to go for an eco-touristic trip on the Tonle Sap lake with Anne from Osmose to meet the inhabitants of the floating village of Prek Toal. I have to say that I'll never forget what I saw that day. The people were so welcoming and canoeing along the crocodile farms and the floating houses was really amazing. Osmose has done a wonderful job promoting the craftmanship of the people living there and allowing us to share a part of their lives. We really felt that we were in harmony with nature and that was awesome!

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank nadege2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Three cheers for Osmose and the Prek Toal Bird Sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Angkor Wat and the surrounding temples in Siem Reap, Cambodia, are stunning, but don't miss an all day journey to the floating village and the Prek Taol Bird Sanctuary on Tonle Sap Lake conducted by Osmose. Trip cost is reasonable. The sightings of many rare and endangered bird species including the Spot Billed Pelican, Greater and Lesser Adjutants, Painted Stork, and Greater Coucal, were fantastic. Our guide, a young man named Sovan, was very knowledgeable. He and his assistants helped us in our sightings and identifications. The floating village provided great photo ops, a visit with a traditional healer and more. Osmose, an ecotourism company, is doing a fantastic job helping to preserve wildlife and cultural traditions.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank GThomas2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful and learning trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

Visit the birdsanctuary and the floating village, and learn a lot about the work that the NGOs do in this area. Savann was a super guide, and Anne a good friend. Thank you.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank evaheiberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed OSMOSE also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to OSMOSE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing