We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
3
3
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
3
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Villa looked like a fun place to stay. The wooden floors were really pretty and the rooms were big. The furnishings were worn and could use an update. The bed was hard as a rock and felt like sleeping on a box spring with a board on top. The linens were worn out as well. Only had breakfast and it was marginal at best. Nice setting but misses the mark.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Wonder in Siem Reap, the Villas tucked behind the large resort is a gem! All the rooms over look a pool in the center and have a wonder feel of old colonial charm. Wood floors large bed with artful arranged swan on bed. Old marble bathroom with large tub makes this place perfect for couples wanting extra in their romance.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 999laurenceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights. We have some both negative and positive notes. More of a 4 star hotel.

Negative: Breakfast ends at 10am. We went down at 9.30am, and the staff were already packing up. We were left with the reminisce as they didn't refill the drinks or food. It shouldn't matter if there are people there or not, there should be adequate food for the guests. Other days were fine. It was just on one day.

Negative: The outdoor pool is cold and not clean. Hence why we didn't swim in it.

Indoor pool is ok, but spa pools were also cold.

Negative: We made a complaint about the entire outside our room at 12am, this wasn't resolved until half an hour later. Not impressed.

Negative: Was kicked out of the gym because they said they need to clean it.

Negative: Internet played up, when I had to watch a live stream for funeral.

Helpful hint: use a tuk tuk, be wary of prices. But a lot cheaper than what the hotel offers.

Positive: Lovely welcome, when we first arrived. Staff were very lovely and inviting.

Positive: Lovely room with spa bath. This compensated for the dirty and cold pool.

Postive: Amazing amenities. Massive variety.

Recommend this place, if these things are updated. Hopefully can give it a five star next time.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Keaton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

A very disappointing stay with a multitude of problems:

- Room was dirty (many stains on the furniture and floor) and poorly maintained (many cracks in the wall, the telephone in the bathroom didn’t work and the hotel engineer had to disconnect a light in the bathroom which wouldn’t switch off). The bed was uncomfortable as the mattress was too hard.

- Wifi was very unreliable and slow.

- The bathrobes in the room smelt horrible (I doubt they had been washed).

- Food was bad. The breakfast buffets in the Green Restaurant and the Grand Sokhalay Restaurant were very unappetising – stale noodles and rice were kept at room temperature, and food was not replenished properly. The salad selection was unappealing as there were flies. The only appetising food at breakfast was fresh fruit and chicken curry (only available one morning). The Christmas Day Dinner Set Menu in the Grand Sokhalay Restaurant was very disappointing (the ‘chef’s salad’ starter consisted of cold fish fingers and the main course was dry chicken breast slices).

- Lifts were tiny.

- Stale cigarette smell in the corridors.

- Front desk service was appalling. When I arrived at the hotel at 3pm to check in, I was allocated a room that had not been serviced yet (I only found out when I opened the door and discovered that the bed had not been made and the bathroom had not been cleaned). The front desk then reluctantly allocated me another room. I asked the front desk for two key cards, but the Front Office Manager refused, claiming that the hotel did not have enough key cards, so each room could only be given one key card (even though there were two people in our room). When I spoke to Keo, the Duty Manager, about the issues we encountered during our stay, he was very unwilling to help. He offered no apology and no attempt was made to make up for these problems.

I cannot recommend that anyone stay at this poorly managed '5 star' hotel. If you want an enjoyable and smooth stay, pick somewhere else.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Voyage_harbours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

From the Airport Pick-up to leaving the Hotel I had every want and need taken care of by Friendly Staff. Mr Bone,especially went out of his way to cater to my desires. The Hotel it self,had an Amazing Buffet Breakfast with a fine selection of Asia and Western Cuisine. There were 5 Pools, including an Indoor Pool and Spa. With a First Class Gym with all you needed to stay on your Fitness regime during your stay. It was only a quick Tuk Tuk ride ( cheap) to the main heart of Siem Reap. Including Pub Street and the Amazing Night Markets. They had 3 First class Resort and Hotel style accommodation to choose from. Including a Traditional Village style Houses, all made in Teak. Suitable for the Solo traveller and Families. All in all was a pleasant stay. The main Lobby had absolutely Beautiful traditional Khmer carvings of wood and stone. Thankyou Mr Bone for your Hospitality and smiling, Friendly demeanour.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Gethro63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Grand Sokhalay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Gethro63,

Warmest greeting from Grand Sokhalay Hotel !

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on your stay. We are humbled by your inspiring comments regarding the hotel and our team.

We hope that your journey to Angkor wat had been an unforgettable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back home at Siem Reap Angkor, Cambodia.

Kind regards,

Sovan Broseth VA (Mr.)
e-Commerce Manager
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
Siem Reap Angkor, Cambodia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews