We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$203
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$76
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$148
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$51
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$21
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
170
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr joygreat hostshosts paulaussie guysgreat recommendations for restaurantstravelling south east asiathe bed was super comfortablehotel ownerstuk tukpub streetplace to staypool and bar areabrilliant stayrefreshing poolhome away from homebaguetteincluded breakfast is
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights
Bad: - airport pickup never showed. Waited 2 hours for them and had to get $10 taxi to hotel. Owner said the driver was there waiting in tuk tuk but has everyone at airport looking for a Golden Gecko driver. Might want to tell arrival guests where the driver will be and that they are hanging out at tuk tuk instead of in front of arrival door. Owner compensated $10 cab ride which was nice.
- Mr Joy the travel agent at the hotel ‘s office is right where breakfast served which makes you feel obligated to book with them
- asked the book tickets to the circus but it sold out before they bought and didn’t know so we came back from the temples early to go to show with bad news.
- Mr Joy recommended us to go on a $35 tuk tuk ride to a water fall that was completely dry. When confronted about it he contradicted me and said that’s why I told you to go to the floating village... needs better knowledge of tours and activities in area if going to hound you at the breakfast table to book with him.
- hotel says bar and snacks open til 9, but felt like I was torturing them when asked for something from the snack bar and one time at 5 pm was completely denied. Need to keep a worker on staff til 9 or say snack bar closed after whenever they leave on a sign.
- beds need fitted sheet. Felt gross waking up on the bare mattress every morning.

Good
- I enjoyed talking with the owners and seeing how much work they put into the hotel. They really do care about the customer and their business.
- They let us check in early and come back from the temples after we had to check out to shower and get ready before our late evening flight which was very cool of them.
- tuk tuk driver was a good kid that took care of us on our journeys.
- owner broke a $100 for me out of own wallet.


Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kyle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoldenGeckoVilla, Owner at The Golden Gecko Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi Kyle and Lindsey, Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
In relation to your complimentary pick up from the airport, we understand that your flight was delayed by 3 hours. We provide the pick up based on the arrival time you provide us and sometimes these things are outside everyone's control. Our tuk tuk drivers are sometimes waiting out at the airport for a lengthy time that is impractical from a cost perspective due to airport parking charges. We are happy to have resolved this for you by reimbursing you, as we would to any guest in the same situation.

In terms of obtaining tickets for the circus, as explained to you it is currently high season and tickets are difficult to obtain on the sam day. We made enquiries whilst you were out at the temples to book seats for the 8pm show, which was your preferred time and it was sold out. We were going to take the initiative and go ahead and book the 5pm show (the circus tickets once purchased are non-refundable) though didn't think this would be suitable given your long day at the temples or being unsure what time you would return. We are glad however that you did manage to experience the circus whilst you were here.

Mr Joy provides our guests with a variety of tour information to the best of his ability. Having him there during breakfast is an opportunity to help guests that are unsure what they want to do and we believe he is invaluable in this respect based on previous guests feedback. We understand that your tour of Kbal Spean (and associated locations) did not meet your expectations as one of the attractions was lacking in water, though still provided your with historical and religious value through it's carvings and rural location.

We strive to have the bar open to 9pm every night though when we have a lot of guests it is difficult to provide our snack menu with minimal resources at that time of night. There are numerous restaurants in close proximity to our hotel who deliver and provide many dining options and we would have been more than pleased to offer you recommendations.

We are a small hotel, and we are aware of the quality of some of our linens and we are addressing this as quickly as we can.
.
We really appreciate that you have brought the above to our attention and we will endeavour to improve the issues you have addressed. We hope that your stay otherwise was an enjoyable one and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed 5 days at golden gecko village and it was really pleasant.
The place is perfect, close to thé center, 15 min by walk.
The swimming pool is great, several good restaurants close.
The breakfast is good and the personnel really nice.
We recommend !

Stayed: February 2018
Thank maryline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoldenGeckoVilla, Owner at The Golden Gecko Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Hello and thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay with us. We very much enjoyed having you here with us and hope that you continue to enjoy the rest of your travels and also find accommodation along the way that you will recommend as highly.
Regards
Paul & Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

A friend of mine booked this place for us to check out during a short stay in Siem Reap, following a conference in Phnom Penh. The minute I arrived, I could tell he had chosen wisely.

The rooms are immaculate, the staff incredibly friendly and cheerful yet, the place has a laid-backed, relaxed feel to it. There's not much to say about the Golden Gecko Villa that hasn't been said before. A very generous (and delicious) breakfast will help you on your way in the mornings. Very reasonable rates will encourage you to do all you can in Siem Reap with the time you have. Mr. Joy at reception is really helpful at sorting out whatever you'd like to do and offers great advice about the surrounding area.

What really drives the place however, is the owners. Paul and Keith are genuine, down to earth people. They are funny, engaging and always ready to chat, offer advice or help out wherever they can. Meeting them is worth the stay alone.

I sincerely hope they are proud of what they have achieved there and wish them all the best in their endeavours.

Thanks again for everything guys!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JamesLSlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoldenGeckoVilla, Owner at The Golden Gecko Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

All I can initially say to this James is WOW!!!
We cannot be more pleased that you felt comfortable and relaxed while staying with us. You and your good friend Michael were a highlight of our week. You were both funny, approachable and did not flinch at any of our Australian humour!
We wish you safe on ward travels (wherever you land next) and who knows you may just find yourself back in this part of the world again.
Thank you again for your amazing words.
Keith & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Besides the great location, the fantastic breakfast, the excellent bar and the well maintained pool... what to say? Oh yes: The owners are supportive, helpful, funny, stylish and everything you wish for when you want to have a home away from home. In fact, it's one big family. Thank you very much for unforgettable days with your company, guys!

Stayed: December 2017
Thank skehry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoldenGeckoVilla, Owner at The Golden Gecko Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

OMG! Thank you so much for these amazing words. We love it when people feel part of our little 'GG Family'. It re-confirms to us that we made the correct decision to throw our corporate lives in and come and do what what we love...meeting people from all around the world and living in this ever changing and fascinating city!
Warm Regards and safe onward travels
Keith & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Great hotel, clean, good location, nice breakfast and amazing staff - including the lovely dogs JD & Melo.
An awesome place to chill too, with a bar and a swimming pool that you can enjoy if you feel tired after the temples.
Paul and Keith are the owners and very nice to chat with.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Erick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoldenGeckoVilla, Owner at The Golden Gecko Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hi Erick,
Thank you for taking the time to write your great review. We are glad that you and Fabby managed to get a bit of r and r from the rat race of Singapore! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews