We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$56
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa(Siem Reap)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$40
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Temple Hotel(Siem Reap)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$109
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$148
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$38
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$210
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
166
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr joygreat hostshosts paulaussie guysgreat recommendations for restaurantstravelling south east asianight guardgreat pool bartuk tukthe bed was super comfortablehotel ownerspub streettemple passrefreshing swimwalk into townlocal tourbaguette
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

I've been all over Cambodia and Vietnam the last few weeks, staying at similarly priced hotels, and this place absolutely stands out among the very best. It's got lovely facilities (pool, bar, dining area, spacious rooms, etc.) and a convenient location, but what really sets it apart are the two unbelievably friendly, helpful Australians owning/running the place. They told us which temples to see, how much we should pay a driver, where to eat, where to drink, even where to do laundry - and to top it all off, they remembered each of our names from day one! Really a great experience all around.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JacobB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoldenGeckoVilla, Owner at The Golden Gecko Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Hi Guys,
This review has really made us smile. When we opened up we always aimed to try our very best to make everyone as comfortable and happy as possible. Regardless of how busy we are, we try to make a point of getting to know all of our guests and where possible sit, chat and advise on all the 'what's and where's' available in Siem Reap.
We are both so glad you all enjoyed your stay here with us at the Golden Gecko and appreciate your kind words.
Safe travels home
Keith & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Spent three nights - family of four (parents + 2 boys of 10 and 14). Fantastic little place, nice and tranquil - an oasis in the very touristic town of Siem Reap. Loads of value for your buck. The pool is of great value - nice and refreshing! Hosts are very helpful with info and bookings, and also a good laugh! Would definitely come back!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jan Henrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoldenGeckoVilla, Owner at The Golden Gecko Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Hello Jan (and family!),
Thank you so much for this amazing review. We loved having you all here and getting to know you and are both very pleased that you also enjoyed your stay at the GG.
We would love to see your faces here again some day!
Safe Travels....Keith & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We came to Siem Reap for two days in early January 2016 to see the Angkor Temples. We did not schedule any tours in advance, but the owners and a local tour manager ("Joy") helped us plan our visits and arranged the tuk tuk rides. They were very available, knowledgable, and we feel like we got to see (more than) everything we wanted. The rates are also comparable to other places. Our tuk tuk driver ("Joe") was amazing. He always seemed to pull up to pick us up before we even saw him and he was really helpful in finding restaurants, etc.

I should mention that the staff were all really friendly. They were always happy to chat and the whole guest house has a really chill feel that makes it a perfect place to relax after a long day of tours.

The rooms, pool, and guest house were all clean and nice. Breakfast was also probably the best we had on our two week trip. The guest house is a less than 10 minute walk (or a $2 tuk tuk ride) to the main restaurant streets.

Overall, even in the very competitive Siem Reap scene, I can't imagine a better place to stay than the Golden Gecko.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoldenGeckoVilla, Owner at The Golden Gecko Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hi Tony,
Thank you so much for putting aside the time to write this fantastic review with regard to both your experience at the amazing Angkor Temples and at our property. The information you have provided in your review will be very useful and helpful for future guests who stay at the GG, which is very much appreciated.
Regards
Keith & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Golden Gecko for 6 nights in January as part of our honeymoon trip and had the BEST time.

The location is about 20 minute walk from Siem Reap town centre and Pub Street. There are good options for food and drinks within a few minutes walk too.

Our room was huge, very comfortable and spotless. It was cleaned daily with all the amenities being replaced. The room had a tv, kettle, safe and good air con. The bathroom was a good size with hot water. Breakfast was delicious, especially our yummy omelettes.

The Golden Gecko has a very large swimming pool and a great pool bar. We had many late nights drinking with Keith and Paul :) We miss those GG cocktails!

Keith and Paul were wonderful hosts and treated us like old friends rather than guests. They had tips on everything from the temples to the best massage place in town and even info on a visit to the dentist!

Thank you guys and to all the wonderful staff at The Golden Gecko. We will be back!

Best wishes,

Dip and Priya

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PDalsania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoldenGeckoVilla, Owner at The Golden Gecko Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Hi Dip and Priya, Thank you so much for your great review. It is always rewarding to welcome guests that fit in well and enjoy themselves as you did. We are happy that we were a part of your honeymoon celebrations and wish you both all the best in married life. Hope to see you back in the future and thank you for pharmacist advice also for our other guests. Safe travels! Thank you from The Golden Gecko team, Merlot and JD!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We travelled around Asia with the plan of visiting Vietnam, until we stayed here!! Ended up leaving Vietnam for another year and stayed on for an extra couple of days! Paul and Keith (owners) have a wealth of knowledge about the area and things you must not miss while in Siem Reap. We were booked into see the circus - no animals - which is run by street kids that have fought their way to a better life - street kids saving street kids - they teach each other to paint, act, play music ect., and now travel all over the world. We would not have seen this without Keith and Paul. We wanted to spend a day and night in Battambang (hole of The killing Fields and the Bamboo Train - not to be missed!), which all arrangements were booked though Joy the wonderful male receptionist, who really knows his stuff. The transport to pick us up was very late, so Keith was on the phone and within 10 minutes a tut tut was waiting at the gates, any later we would have missed the bus! Evenings sat around the open bar playing trivia until we cried with laughter - swot up on your 80's music and film theme tunes! Rooms are very clean, and the housekeeping team are lovely! No hairdryer ladies, and my hair was delighted at not being scorched every night! Swimming pool: 10 minutes walk from the night life; great food in little restaurants in the street outside; away from the main road, so very quite; animals lovers... I could go on and on and on! Thank you for an amazing experience, and from one hotelier to another....you have nailed it!! I will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGoldenGeckoVilla, Owner at The Golden Gecko Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Hi Denise and Kerry, Thank you fro taking the time to write such an amazing review! We strive to ensure our guests have a great time and relax whilst they are here and we think the Sambucca challenge helps! lol. We are glad that you enjoyed the circus as it is one of the best things in town to experience. it's a shame that Australia holds the title in the music challenge! Maybe we let you win the cricket this year as compensation! We look forward to visiting you if/when we get the chance to get over your way. Thank you again for staying and look forward to seeing you back in the future.
Safe travels from Paul, Keith Merlot and little JD.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews