We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Maison du Passant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Maison Polanka(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amansara(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angkoriana Hotel(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
13
7
0
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
7
0
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenjoyed my stayangkor wattuk tuksophealaundrysunrisetransportdriverairport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018

The guesthouse is located at a quiet part of the town but a bit of a taxi ride if you plan to go to night market. My stay was pleasant for the most part. The place is clean with a pool and a restaurant onsite. They also provide complimentary laundry service.

Be aware that this place is difficult to find - it stumbled every driver. On one occasion, my friend and I found it necessary to stand at the nearest intersection to spot the vehicle we were expecting. It did not help when their front entrance does not have a very obvious sign, which the owner said they will soon fix.

Another small surprise was if you are to use the AC, there is an extra charge for electricity, which seems unusual. It did indicate so in the fine prints of the booking confirmation but most people don't expect an electricity charge.

Their restaurant food is OK but there is a decent restaurant in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHUONG S, Gérant at La Maison du Passant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018
Google Translation

réponse au client
le google maps est très précis et vous dépose juste devant chez nous!!!
oui il y a des travaux dans la rue
il y a jamais été question de suplément pour le courant altéernatif totalement faux, l'utilisation de la lumière, de l'eau chaude, du ventilateur est compris dans le pris comme internet ( wifi) par contre et cela est bien écris sur tout nos sites d réservation il y a un suplément pour l'air conditionné il faut bien lire les sites pas regarder que le prix!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and really loved our stay! Straight away we were welcomed by Marc and Sophea who made us feel right at home. We were given our own dorm room which was completely new and very comfortable. Every night we ate in their restaurant and the food was delicious and well priced. Also they did our laundry for us for free each day, which was really kind of them. Marc was very helpful with helping us book our bus to Bangkok and arranged a Tuk Tuk to Ankor. Our driver also kept all the money, as Marc does not make any profit from them. Overall this was a 5 star service we received and the guest house is a great price. I recommend anyone to stay here. Thank you Marc and Sophea

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tomkinsn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHUONG S, Propriétaire at La Maison du Passant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation


Merci pour le com ... Sophea et Moi est heureux de vous avoir, si tous les clients que vous soyez, le respect de la maison des chambres, le sourire chaque matin, la discution, les désordres, un grand merci et bonne continuation dans vos vaoyages sur l'Asie
Il est triste de découvrir avec le temps que bien d'autre personne arrive chez vous et se comporte comme des voyoux, passe de 1 à 7 jours avec vous avec un total manqué droit civique: et fonctionne pas l'esprit du lieu et un sens du partage très limité en comparaison de vous cela a été une grande joie pour sophea votre rancontre un merci et la maison vous sera toujours ouverte
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I was welcomed by Marc and his wife Sophea, both very kind and helpful. My room was nice, the water pressure in the shower lacked some power, but was nice warm, the airconditioning worked ok.
I felt really at home here, we built up a friendship and had long talks together, Marc and me, in french. He organized the tuktuk driver and was a big help in giving tips.
I had a wonderful time and will definitely go back!
I had all my meals there, that was nice and good!

Room Tip: On the 1st floor, there is more light.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemiek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHUONG S, Directeur général at La Maison du Passant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Sophea and I were happy to have you, if all the guests were like you, the respect of the house of the rooms, the smile every morning, the chat. a big thank you and good luck in your travels in Asia.
It is sad to discover over time that many other people come to your home and behave like thugs, spend 1 to 7 days with you with a total lack of civic rights: and not work with the spirit of the place and unanque total sense of sharing, very limited compared to you it was a great joy to sophea your rancontre a thank you and thank you again. The house will always be open

Customers come to us for its price and say we have all the rights, a total absence of embarrassment and more passes from 1 to 7 days, it you vignore, the rooms resembles a dump, while he received a okay room on our part, the lady who does the housework (Khmer, is outraged to see the behavior
Westerners

But I am happy to see that there are still very good people like you and the other who passes by us so a big thank you for his few days together
Sophea L

*

Sophea et Moi nous avons été heureux de vous avoir, si tous les clients étaient comme vous, le respect de la maison des chambres, le sourire chaque matin, la discution. un grand merci et bonne continuation dans vos voyages sur l'Asie.
Il est triste de découvrir avec le temps que bien d'autre personne arrive chez vous et se comporte comme des voyoux, passe de 1 à 7 jours avec vous avec un total manqué droit civique: et fonctionne pas avec l'esprit du lieu et unmanque total du sens du partage, très limité en comparaison de vous cela a été une grande joie pour sophea votre rancontre un merciet encore merci . La maison vous sera toujours ouverte

Des clients viennent chez nous pour son prix et se disent nous avons tout les droits, un sans-gêne complet et de plus passe de 1 à 7 jours , il vous vignore, les chambres resemble a un dépotoir, alors qu'il ont reçu une chambre correcte de notre part , la dame qui fait le ménage ( khmer, est outré de voir le comportement
des occidentaux

Mais je suis heureux e voir qu'il existe encore des gens ctrès bien comme vous et dautre qui passe par chez nous donc un grand merci pour ses quelques jours ensemble
Sophea L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Had a wonderful stay at this hostel! From the moment I arrived, Marc and Sophea took gave me a wonderful warm welcome and took great care of me. Marc was the all attentive host and I loved this hostel. Filled with all styles of artwork throughout the home and in the room, with relaxing common areas.



The bedrooms each have their own distinctive style with nice sized rooms, sitting areas, cabinet space for your belongings, desk, big comfortable beds and clean bathroom.

Marc was wonderful in making sure that all of my needs were met and that I was happy. He is very knowlegeable and I enjoyed our morning conversations about France and Cambodia. He arranged what ever you needed and you felt as if you were at home instead of a hostel. Marc arranged a tuk-tuk named Tee to take me to Angkor Wat for a great price and Tee and I hung out for a delightful day at the temples. He was super nice and I used him again for my transport to the airport.

I ate at the restaurant and the food was very good with inexpensive prices. It was a relaxing way to spend one of my last nights in Siem Reap since it was pouring rain, and Marc was awesome in keeping me comfortable and entertained.

There is a pool on the premise as well. The house is located down a little street from the main road and easy walking distance to everything and places to eat/shop.

Overall, an excellent stay at La Maison du Passant. I truly felt like family here and I cannot thank Marc and Sophea enough for making my time in Siem Reap an enjoyable one!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kenyetta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHUONG S, Directeur général at La Maison du Passant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sophea and I were happy to have you, if all the guests were like you, the respect of the house of the rooms, the smile every morning, the chat. a big thank you and good luck in your travels in Asia.
It is sad to discover over time that many other people come to your home and behave like thugs, spend 1 to 7 days with you with a total lack of civic rights: and not work with the spirit of the place and unanque total sense of sharing, very limited compared to you it was a great joy to sophea your rancontre a thank you and thank you again. The house will always be open

Customers come to us for its price and say we have all the rights, a total absence of embarrassment and more passes from 1 to 7 days, it you vignore, the rooms resembles a dump, while he received a okay room on our part, the lady who does the housework (Khmer, is outraged to see the behavior
Westerners

But I am happy to see that there are still very good people like you and the other who passes by us so a big thank you for his few days together
Sophea L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We had a room with all the essentials at a very reasonable cost as well as a large shared area we could lounge in. The owner, Marc, looked after our needs well, ensuring that we had breakfast, even though we left before sunrise on some mornings. We just put our dirty clothes in a basket in the room and they were returned clean the next day. He organised our lift from the airport with a tuck tuk driver, Sarun, who was very helpful and provided for all our transport needs at a modest cost.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WanderingPeregrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophea P, Propriétaire at La Maison du Passant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017
Google Translation

merci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews