We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip”
Review of Angkor Silk Farm

Angkor Silk Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Private Tour: Siem Reap City Tour Full Day
Ranked #17 of 138 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Angkor Silk Farm belongs to Artisans Angkor, a social-business enterprise aiming at reviving Khmer cultural heritage while giving job opportunities to young Cambodians living in rural areas.Free guided tours through the eight hectare farm give a unique insight into the different stages involved in silk production, from the mulberry tree orchards, silkworm breeding, the spinning mills and the dying and weaving processes in the very traditional way. A shop is there for visitors as well. Tours are in English, French, Spanish, Chinese, Korean,Japanese or Khmer.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 1 September 2018

The tuck tuck journey out to the farm (30mins) would have been worth the trip alone. The tour was very informative and we all came away having learned something we didn't know before. We also know now why natural silk is so expensive!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank cloudyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"whole process"
in 65 reviews
"free tour"
in 56 reviews
"gift shop"
in 53 reviews
"finished product"
in 19 reviews
"the cocoon"
in 17 reviews
"mulberry leaves"
in 17 reviews
"life cycle"
in 17 reviews
"no pressure to buy"
in 21 reviews
"interesting tour"
in 21 reviews
"manufacturing process"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful products"
in 15 reviews
"various stages"
in 9 reviews
"artisans d'angkor"
in 15 reviews
"tuk tuk"
in 61 reviews
"for sale"
in 21 reviews
"interesting place to visit"
in 9 reviews
"blue pumpkin"
in 11 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely tour by Sitha. We took the free tour via bus from Artisan D Angkor in the city and he guided us through the whole process from feeding the worm all the way til the final silk product.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank jrrsummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Amazing designs and skills of the locals shown in a brief tour. Very cool process which hasn't changed in many years and friendly guides to show you around.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank RJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

We just finished our silk tour and found the museum very interesting the hitch was our guide seemed unhappy and rushed us. We learned so much about the intricacies of ikat by watching. So we suggest getting a Tuk tuk and going but don’t count on a good tour! Maybe they need women to lead the tours as all the weavers are woman and guides are men!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Amplnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artisans A, Manager at Angkor Silk Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for your feedback on your visit our Silk Farm, we were glad to learn that you enjoyed the Silk Farm.

We apologize though that you felt this way about our guide. During your guided tour, you may have heard that Artisans Angkor is a social company that guarantees a fair income, social and medical welfaire to it's artisans. Please note that we strive to constantly improve our guides’ skills and that your comment will be truly taken into account to help improve our performance.

Best regards,

Artisans Angkor’s team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

It was very interesting to see how many women work daily in this silk farm (from A to Z). You will see the cocoons but also the finished products! Impressive when you know they need 3-4 days for only 1 scarf! Respect! The tour was great but The shop is a bit expensive

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank JVanhorenbeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angkor Silk Farm also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Silk Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing