We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Angkor Silk Farm
from US$87.00
More Info
Reviews (927)
Filter reviews
927 results
Traveller rating
543
302
63
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
302
63
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whole process free tour gift shop finished product the cocoon mulberry leaves life cycle no pressure to buy interesting tour manufacturing process beautiful products various stages artisans d'angkor tuk tuk for sale interesting place to visit blue pumpkin
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 927 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

you will get experience how silk is made . Types of silk materiel and the quality of the silk . We can also see how the breed the worm

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank sathyamurthir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

This silk farm presents the full process on how silk cloths are made. Thus, you can see real wriggling silk worms!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank joeonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Really nice and free tour around the silk farm in Siem Reap. Take the free shuttle bus running daily at 9.30am and 13.30pm at Artisans Angkor.
We book the day before but I think is not mandatory. Maybe advisable during high peak season. At the end of the tour there is a cafe and a shop, I don't think everything on display is actually made at the farm. I did see some scarfs for 150 USD, and previously I saw a girl weaving that exact same one. Prices are high but the product is 100% handmade and its a tourist spot. We were not pushed to buy anything, so don't worry about it. I recommend taking the morning tour, you will be back at around lunch time, so afterwards, you can have a look around the workshops at Artisans Angkor

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank Anabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

The locals were very happy to show us the process of looking after and breeding their silkworms and showing us some of the end products

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Rayem317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Beware - scam. The tour of the silk farm and spinning/weaving is interesting and well-done. A nice break from all the temples. It ends, of course, in a very elegant gift-ship. Everything is at least double the price of similar items in other (overpriced) shops around town. But we bought into the "we're a non-profit, supporting the local artisans" story and decided to buy several silk pillowcases anyway (almost $100!) But at the cash register they announced "sorry, these bar-coded computer-printed price tags aren't the real price. Each of these is $5 extra, cash please". OMG. It's like the street vendors who offer things for $1, then later say they meant $11.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank steve6192018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artisans A, Communication officer at Angkor Silk Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Artisans Angkor is glad to know that you enjoyed your visit of our Silk farm in Puok and shop in Siem Reap and wants to thank you for coming.
As you may have understood during the guided tour, we are involved in social missions for boosting the economic potential of the Siem Reap province. Indeed, Artisans Angkor offers free training to young under-privileged people living in rural areas. We ensure them to get a steady and valued job in the company, with fair compensation and good social welfare.
Thus, you also saw our craftsmen/women at work in the different workshops and noticed that all the products are handmade, take a lot of time and require great skills.
All these actions have some repercussions on our prices.
Finally, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during the purchase of several of our pillowcases in our store. Our entire team really considers the problem occurred. Having changed our prices recently we think that the information did not directly relate to our products in our shops. We try to solve the issue as soon as possible in order to make our customers shopping as comfortable as possible.
We hope that those explanations will help you understand better what kind of actions we do and what are our values. We also hope you will keep a great memory from your visit in Cambodia.
Best regards,
Artisans Angkor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews