We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”
Review of Hotel Utama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Utama
Ranked #1 of 13 Copacabana B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Hotel Utama had a hotel vibe but a great social atmosphere. It was an incredible value for our money ($15 USD per person) with a private room and bathroom with a beautiful view of the lake. Everyday they have popcorn, candy, bananas and tea in the common area free for guests and the breakfast is superb - Eggs, pancakes, yogurt, fruit, bread and great coffee! The staff is very friendly and helped us book bus tickets and boat tickets in and around Cocacabana. The showers are hot and the beds are warm too - a rarity for Bolivia!

The only downside was that the storage room was just an office off the main reception area. No lockers were available so we felt a little weird leaving our extra bags there overnight when we stayed at Isa Del Sol - But nothing was taken thankfully and the staff was nice enough to let us store our extra luggage there even after we checked out!

I would highly recommend Hotel Utama to other backpackers - it was our best stay in South America!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandingStanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    174
    65
    15
    6
See reviews for
16
179
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My boyfriend and I chose this place based on the reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel is very nice, the room we stayed in was very cosy, with a nice and comfortable bed as well as and an amazing views over the lake, it really felt homely. The wifi worked fine on the first day but then something happened to the provider and it stopped working in the whole hotel. The breakfast was delicious, scrambled and friend egg with nice bread, fruit, yoghurt, corn flakes (you don't see them much around SA). It had the best room we stayed in while in South America.

Definitely recommend it..

P and K

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberwell, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is one of the better looking accommodations in Copacabana at a reasonable price. The breakfast was terrific and the gas heater from 7pm to 10pm was most appreciated. They picked us up and dropped us off at the bus 'terminal' and we had free wifi in our room. There were free sweets, popped maize, bananas and mate de coca 24/7.The only drawback was that the rooms were quite cold on the day we arrived.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingermegs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Great value rooms are nice breakfast was amazing!!! eggs pancakes fruit cereal smoothie! free tea fruit and sweets all day! brought us to the bus! Cable tv in the room and lake view room too! really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We were traveling from Puno to Copacabana on the recommendation of our son who had been there a few years before (and returned home with a lovely girl from Puno whom he married). On the bus (Pan Americano line was great! - efficient, safe, modern and friendly..at about $1 per hour per trip!), my son's Mother-in-law asked the bus attendant about accommodation in Copacabana. He recommended the Utama and by the time we had arrived, their minivan was waiting. The hotel was close to both the lake and to the main plaza. We found the room to be excellent and the continental breakfast (with egg) one of the best in South America. We also liked the 24/7 free bananas, biscuits and coco tea (a must at this altitude) in the courtyard-like foyer. The hotwater shower (typical of most places in S. America) was no problem provided that one runs the water slowly before switching on the power (and remembering to switch off the power then the water). Different but it works...at least the wiring seemed to be in better condition than most. The staff were great and it was useful to have the mini bus, especially on the return to the bus locality in the crowded square (full marks for the driver in fitting the bus into crowded tight spaces and then loading bags onto the bus....no marks for the untidy back-packers who are often late and take any seat when they are clearly marked on the ticket). Copa is a great lakeside place to stay for a while with good food (trout is GREAT!..full fish, fries, veges, drink etc about $5 ). Many good shops (people here are very nice and honest..don't haggle too much) and the trip to Isla del Sol is an experience worth having. The bus ride to La Paz is also great value (also Pan Americano) and exciting when crossing the straits at San Pedro.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copacabana hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
Hotel Rosario Lago Titicaca
#3 of 13 in Copacabana
560 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
Hotel Gloria Copacabana
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
136 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mirador
Hotel Mirador
#11 of 13 in Copacabana
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Wendy Mar
Hotel Wendy Mar
#4 of 13 in Copacabana
111 reviews
0.2 km away
Perla del Lago
Perla del Lago
#5 of 13 in Copacabana
66 reviews
0.3 km away
Olas del titicaca
Olas del titicaca
#4 of 22 in Copacabana
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utama

Property: Hotel Utama
Address: Calle Michell Perez esq. San Antonio s/n, Copacabana, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Copacabana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Utama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has rooms overlooking Lake Titicaca, (clean and safe)all rooms have private bathroom (hot water all day) and American breakfast.The hotel aims to make guests feel at home, with friendly servicewe have free transfer to and from the bus station with advance booking.we also offer a general tourist information,we have free parking, telephone booths available, and laundry service.we offered you free fruit, coca tea, and sweets all day in the loby,(free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Utama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing