We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
39
28
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
28
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable bed laundry service stayed here hot shower eggs private bathroom place to stay courtyard hostel bolivia sheets taxi internet
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed one night at La Escondida Hostel. It located in a busy street, but once you get into the hostel, it was surprisingly quiet. It has a beautiful courtyard and we stayed in a two-beds room upstairs. The room was bright, clean, simple but comfortable. In addition, the staff spoke good English and very helpful. We were very happy with our choice.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xl656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria A, Gerente at La Escondida Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario. Es grato saber que el hostal fue de su agrado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hostel is tucked in an entryway off the main market street of Sucre. The rooms are further down a nice wide hallway, and thus are VERY quiet, with no street noise at all. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My friend got very sick in Sucre with an obstructed bowel. The staff were very attentive in trying to get us to medical help. One of the young ladies at the desk even rode with us in the taxi across town to get us to a specialist. They also made phone calls for us (since I cannot speak Spanish well) to cancel upcoming reservations due to my friend's medical condition. Very reasonable price; clean rooms with great hot showers. Breakfast included eggs to order! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed for around 5 weeks here in Sucre. The Escondida Hostel is right in the middle of Sucre. For the money you get a great value. It is very clean and the whole stuff is very friendly and helpful. Also they got a nice kind of backyard were you can relax. For me after 8 months travel one of the best hostels.

Room tip: The Escondida has two buildings. I would recommend to take the which is more fare away from the street
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipp V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We looked at (including the actual rooms) six places in central Sucre, including the Grand Hotel and the top-listed hostel on Tripadvisor at the time, some were cheaper than La Escondida (second on TA at the time) and some more expensive, but this was easily the nicest place to stay. We stayed in two different rooms with private bathroom on the second floor for a total of four nights in April 2013. The rooms were clean, light and bright, well finished and comfortable. Staff were very helpful though English was limited, and they have a secure baggage storage room. There is a nice interior courtyard and the whole place is very quiet being set back down short passage from the busy Junin Street. WiFi and cable TV in the rooms though breakfast is the very Bolivian standard bread, jam, juice and coffee/tea. Excellent location near central market and not far from the main plaza.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonniesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for only one night. The accomodations were very nice, comfortable beds, nice towls, great shower. The location is right in the center and surprisingly very quite. They did offer a free breakfast, but it was really disappointing given the price (some bread and coffee/tea; eggs were extra). We would have stayed longer, but they were well above other hotels in price. We tried to negotiate, but the discount was minimal. It was strange that they did not give a bigger discount given that they were nearly empty.
If you don't mind spending the money, they cerainly offer nice accomodations.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GJaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews