We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blocking credit limit from credit card”
Review of Amwaj Rotana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amwaj Rotana
Ranked #57 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
espoo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Blocking credit limit from credit card”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I spent one week at the hotel with my family in February 2012. We had paid our hotel rooms (3 pcs) in advance before the journey. When we checked in, the front desk officer wanted to block 3000 dirhams from my credit card to cover the possible credit losses if we order services on room charge and leave the hotel without paying the charges.

After four days stay i got a message through the TV to contact the front desk as soon as possible, which i did. The problem was that we had purchased services for over the 3000 dirhams on room charge and the hotel wanted to block more credit limit from my credit card. I did not accept this because this is not an international practice at hotels. I promised not to consume any more at the hotel and if so, to pay cash from there on.
Such suspicious hotel is not a five star hotel as they advertise them self to be and I promise not to stay at this hotel any more.
Mikko from Finland.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel.

We apologize for the incovenience you have experienced during your stay. However,the blocking of credit card is mandatory and is a common practice of any hotels in the UAE. Since you have booked 3 rooms and exceeded the minimum amount blocked in your card for extra charges, we have no option but to block more amount in your credit card as a guarantee from our side.

Once again, we would like to thank you for sharing this matter with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    644
    166
    50
    58
See reviews for
741
1,021
123
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Having tried several hotels in Dubai, this hotel is risk free in terms of service, location, food.
I found they offer a very good compromise with different restaurants of good quality, late breakfast (until 11AM), the JBR location is great as you have about 200 shops & restaurants in walking distance. All rooms have sea view. The staff is friendly & there is always someone to help you. The cleaning service is very efficient. They have a nice gym, Pool is often in the shadow because of buildings around. There is a direct access to the beach thanks to a special lift. This is not a private beach but there is no hotel nearby with private beaches.
They also offer fruit platter...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scram2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights - what a fantastic experience. Stayed in a Club Rotana room on the 22nd - beautiful room with balcony and sea view. Check in and check out at the hotel were effortless. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Club lounge was great with free wifi and the added benefits of breafast, drinks and evening canapes. Hotel is located on the beach. Ate at the hotels Italian restaurant 2 evening - food was excellant.
Housekeeping and cleanliness are too a very high standard and good quality toileteries provided in the Bathrooms.
Would definately return to this hotel if in Dubai again. I could not fault my experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club Rotana Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDE411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

OK, simple question: what do you get if you take a 5 star hotel from one of the biggest investors in Dubai, put it smack on the beach, add a great restaurant run by an Italian Chef and next load the whole place with tons of the best of Indian, Pakistan, African and Philippine staff? Right: Amwaj Rotana Hotel on Dubai's Jumeira Beach. Great rooms, well equipped bathrooms, nice beds, 50 TV channels from all over the world, high speed internet (although at a price), great view, nice pool, beautiful terrace, silent airco, perfect gym and with all the services you'd expect from a hotel of this standing. And still reasonably prices. Couldn't get any better!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and reviewing our hotel.

I sincerely appreciate your comments and we are extemely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yoy comments will be shared with all concerned departments.

We hope to see you again soon and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My second stay at the Amwaj Rotana, and it was every bit as enjoyable as the first.
I had a Club Rotana room on the 10th floor. Once again the highlight of my stay was the club lounge and all the privileges that go with that. All staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful, but I must mention in particular all the club lounge personnel. They were so charming and efficient from the people at reception to the boys and girls who served at table. It was a pleasure meeting them.
My room was large and well equipped with all amenities. One observation was that housekeeping seemed to service my room at a strange time. I was out of my room from about 0800hr to 1600hr every day, but it was not made up until around 1700hr. I did question this with the housekeeping boys, but maybe something got lost in translation. It was not a big problem, but I think "Please Make Up Room " tags to hang on the outside door handle may be a good idea.
Breakfasts in the Club Lounge were superb, with eggs to order, and a good selection of everything. I ate once in Rosso and twice in Horizon and the food was fine, but of course there are loads of restaurants just around the corner from the hotel on the Walk. I liked the Kurkoman Restaurant just over the bridge. It specialised in Peshawar/Baluchistan/Afghan food, but basically it served great curries, with friendly service at not great prices!
Some reviewers complain about the waits for elevators. This was not a problem for me. But I was on vacation and never in that much of a rush!
Amwaj Rotana has a great location in Jumeirah. One of my reasons for choosing to stay there was its proximity to Emirates Golf Club, which was just two stops away on the superb Dubai Metro.
All in all - a great week and I would stay there again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Go for a Club Rotana room - well worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marinerCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmwajRotana, General Manager at Amwaj Rotana, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and reviewing our hotel.

I sincerely appreciate your comments and we are extemely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yoy comments will be shared with all concerned departments.

We hope to see you again soon and assuring you of our best services and prompt attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Timur Ilgaz
General Manager
Amwaj Rotana Jumeirah Beach-Duba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#58 of 546 in Dubai
4,558 reviews
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#103 of 546 in Dubai
2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Movenpick Hotel Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dubai - Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
InterContinental Dubai Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amwaj Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Rotana

Property: Amwaj Rotana
Address: 79 Al Sufouh Rd | The Walk, Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai 86834, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#75 Business Hotel in Dubai
#86 Family Hotel in Dubai
#87 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Amwaj Rotana 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located along Dubai's famous leisure and retail strip known as "The Walk", Jumeirah Beach Residence (JBR), you will experience the height of comfort at Amwaj Rotana Hotel. Presenting a portfolio of 301 tastefully furnished sea view rooms and suites including the prestigious Club Rotana offering lavish personalized hospitality, Amwaj Rotana Hotel boasts the largest rooms along JBR each with its own balcony. With three award-winning restaurants offering Italian, Japanese and international cuisine as well as live entertainment, happy hours, theme nights and more, guests of Amwaj Rotana can expect a fun-filled visit. Recreational diversions on the hotel grounds includes Bodylines Fitness & Wellness Club that comprises of temperature-controlled adults' and kids' swimming pools, a fully-equipped gymnasium, Jacuzzi, steam rooms, sauna and spa. Complimentary WiFi is available in all public areas of the hotel. The hotel benefits from the features around the vicinity such as the recently opened The Beach Mall featuring a children's water park, direct access to Jumeirah Beach, retail and entertainment options as well as the Dubai Tram at Jumeirah Beach Residences 2 station, just a three-minute walk from the hotel. Guests can also enjoy a scenic walk around the Dubai Marina Promenade. Complimentary shuttle service is also available from the hotel to prominent malls in Dubai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Amwaj Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Rotana Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing