We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad experience”
Review of Orient Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orient Guest House
Ranked #3 of 63 Dubai B&B and Inns
Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very bad experience”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

i am a resident in Dubai, I bought a coupon to stay one night at the hotel, I had my valid reasons to twice postpone the reservation date 24 hours prior to check in time and they gladly accepted without warning me that if I want to have future change it should be done at least 72 hours prior to check in time.
The third time I asked to change again 24 hours ahead of check in time (I explained to them that my old mother was ill and I couldn’t leave her alone) but they refused to accept my request although my coupon is still valid till the end of January 2012. No one warned me in the two first times that postponing the date should be done 72 hours earlier!! They acted unprofessional and really disappointed me. I would never ever think of that hotel as a choice of relaxing at weekends. Here in Dubai other hotels are so professional and they deal kindly to people.
i will ask for a refund from the company that i bought the coupone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YasminFiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    73
    36
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
111
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Spent 4 great nights at this very atmospheric hotel . Yes the mosque is audible but the call to prayer only lasts a short while and can provide a nice wake up call . Try to get the rooms at roof level .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakJim1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Good:
The place definitely has its charms. It is right inside the Bastakia Quarter and it just makes you feel like your in a different world as soon as you step through the old wooden doors. You are greeted by a nice little court yard as soon as you walk in. The check-in was not a problem and all the staff were very nice and friendly. The room was decorated with antique furniture that gave off an old-world feel.

The location was great, it was walking distance to Dubai Museum, Dubai Creek, and textile souq.

Bad:
The down side of being located in the Bastakia area is the parking. The guest house worked out a deal with the hotel down the block to park the car. So, we had to drive up to the hotel, get a parking personnel, then the parking personnel dropped us and our luggage off at the guest house, then took our car to park for us.

The rustic part of the stay was the ancient looking TV with 2 working channels in Arabic.
No fridge, tea amenities, or hot water kettle.

The bathroom was spacious and looked modern but the shower head was horrendous.

I would recommend staying at the guest house for 1 night just to experience it but I would not recommend staying on longer than that.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockeysville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The room & customer interaction was great but the price & shuttle service is misleading. Their website says they provide shuttle pick up at the airport. When I arrived at the airport, I called asking them to pick me up but the front desk said they don't do pick up. I had to take a taxi which was about 50 AED.

I booked on booking.com & the price was suppose to be about $164 but when I got to the hotel, the front desk charged me about $218. I even printed out the booking.com confirmation price but the front desk said the website is only to make reservations. When I asked about the shuttle service, the front desk said only on specific times like 12, 3, & 10. Not a lot of options.

There was no sense of security. When you leave your room, you drop off your key but when you pick it back up, how do they know that is your room? They don't ask for ID or anything when you pick it up. I went out 1 night & when I came back to pick up the key, no one was at the front desk & I just grabbed my key. Anyone could've grabbed a key & walked into a room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sexyi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuhammadZeeshan, Front Office Manager at Orient Guest House, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued comments on the tripadviser which are of high value to us and would certainly address your concerns as this is not the standard of our hospitality.

Meanwhile we would like to extend our sincere and heartiest apology for not making your stay very comfortable and enjoyable while making sure that this is not repeated on your future visits.

looking forward to welcome you again and to meet you personally in order to submit my apology in person too.


kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This place suited our taste as we are more interested in guest house type accommodation. Service was excellent, very friendly and helpful. The room on the upper floor was not at all as good looking as on their website, felt v.dusty and in need of an updating but comfortable. Bathroom adequate but nothing luxurious.Breakfast in the cute courtyard was excellent and very fresh, the hummous was the best I had in my life, so yummm.
Location was good near Dubai Creek (go in one of the local ferry across the creek, much more fun than the tourist trips and soooo cheap) and the Museum (Dubai explorer double decker bus stops there) but not much around for eating out. We tried the indian place in the large parent hotel 5mn away (arabian something...) and we didn't like it much, quite expensive and corny as...wait staff pretentious and although the musicians were good, all was a bit too much/fake
but hey what else to expect when in Dubai !!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babushka098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Creek
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Royal Ascot Hotel
#43 of 550 in Dubai
1,443 reviews
Sea View Hotel
#46 of 550 in Dubai
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
J5 Rimal
#20 of 550 in Dubai
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Guest House

Property: Orient Guest House
Address: Al Fahidi St | Bastakiya Heritage Area, Dubai 46500, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orient Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Guest House Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing